August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Speed Interrogating

by Jezzamon - Jam Entry

There's a murderer on the lose, but <insert your favourite TV show> in on is 50 seconds! That leaves you 10 seconds to interrogate each suspect, and 10 seconds to decide who's guilty!

Question your suspects about each other, and they'll give you a fact about them (what clothes they are wearing, or what their background colour is). Murderers are inherently dishonest, so they can't help lying! Try to figure out whose story doesn't add up before the ads are up!

Controls:
1-9: Question / accuse
Space: Move to next person / restart game (at end)
M: Mute sounds
Right Click: Adjust difficulty

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Innovation(Jam)4.14
#71Mood(Jam)3.60
#92Theme(Jam)3.55
#169Audio(Jam)3.20
#188Humor(Jam)2.82
#213Fun(Jam)3.10
#216Graphics(Jam)3.57
#282Overall(Jam)3.14
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

drmanitoba says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58pm

I failed horribly. I love the idea though.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Great concept, and a beautifully clean graphical style.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:46am

I was pretty terrible at the game but I liked the idea, vibe, art and music. Perhaps 1-9 is too much and if you limited the options to 1-4 or something it would play easier?

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Too much information to keep in the head all time.

Great idea, though, wish interface was more convenient.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:20am

Nice idea! The change-up feels good. Also the music is great!

emveyh says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Nice concept and great art. The controls are not that intuitive, though

Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Great game and nice graphics, I failed miserably every time though.

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:02am

I had to play it a few times to tell whether I was winning or not (if you haven't lost, the win screen is a bit confusing). This was crazy fun, and I loved everything about it

Darien says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:02am

I absolutely love the concept. Please develop this more! In practice, I found it really really confusing, but with a bit of work I think it would be a really great game.

hissssssssss says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:46am

You did a fantastic job of making a murder mystery without words! I wish some of the colours would have been more different from each other, especially the background colours and the shirts. Juggling dark green and light green, or pale pink and pale purple was a bit of work.
But you did a great job with this!

Laguna says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:59am

Nice Entry! Graphics are simple but efficient. Getting the right suspect is not always easy. I first did not quite get the commands and needed some runs to get an idea of what to do.

Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:38am

Great entry! nice concept

Linusson says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Interesting idea and nice music. I was pretty bad at playing it though. :D

Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:57am

good concept and design, of course I died a lot. 5 stars

Connors says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:49pm

HOW DID THIS GET 24% COOLNESS seriously I love it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]