August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Download Simulator 2013

by mobyvb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(pretend to) Download five ~amazing~ files with Download Simulator 2013! Have you ever wondered why sometimes downloads stop partway through? It doesn't matter, because you will after playing this game. It's based 100% on fact, and I should know, being a professional download-person-guy.

<seriously>
This is a simple platformer kind of like Super Meat Boy where the goal is to get across the level before the loading bar catches up to you.

***I've been told by several different people that the download names are a bit suspicious. To clarify: this game does NOT actually download anything to your computer. The filenames are jokes.

It uses the HTML5 Canvas, so no download is necessary. Just go to the link and play. If for some reason the website isn't working or you want a local copy, download the source from the git repository linked. Here's the direct link to the zip file for the lazy: https://github.com/mobyvb/ludum-dare-27/archive/master.zip
</seriously>

BUGFIXES/PORTS AFTER DATE:
Prevent spacebar from scrolling page (if page is scrollable):
https://github.com/mobyvb/ludum-dare-27/commit/ae50f8800539377720848486dbeda6a8c07eac2e
Port game to other browsers, including earlier versions of Firefox, Internet Explorer, and Safari:
https://github.com/mobyvb/ludum-dare-27/commit/4c86d40723ac2b9f5bc80cbc6c58b3ab4f0a1f48

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#132Humor3.27
#213Theme3.54
#389Fun3.12
#612Innovation2.88
#784Overall2.83
#885Mood2.28
#1049Graphics2.02

Comments

h_double says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:20pm

I don't have a clue how to beat the harder levels, but this is a great theme and window dressing for a simple game idea.

mobyvb says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Thanks! The last couple require some tricky wall jumps, and I can only beat them like 10% of the time. I didn't want to make it too easy.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43am

Simple game yet very hard (The one with a very long file name is nearly impossible for me xD). Good execution with the theme though.

xhunterko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:00am

Much too jumpy on the controls for me to find enjoyable. Plus, hitting space caused the page view to jump to the bottome of the page. And then you die. Also, maybe name the files different? They had me worried.

mobyvb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:21am

Haha, sorry about that. There's a minor bug where pressing the spacebar will cause the screen to scroll. For now, W can be used instead. Today I'll be fixing it so spacebar scrolling on the page is disabled.

mobyvb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34am

Spacebar doesn't scroll any more. Sorry about that :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Oh god the insane movement made this fun

It's not just "oh go over there" it's "Control this out-of-control piece!"

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Found the premise really funny. Controls are a bit slippery though.

davidwparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Holy crap the wall jumps are hard. Well done.

UntitledQ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Felt a lot like playing Super Meat Boy -- great!
At least the long wall jumps seem a little flatter than in SMB and it took me a few tries to consciously override my habits to hit that goal in the last level, hehe...

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:25am

Love the theme, but extremely floaty controls! Maybe that's standard for this kind of platformer and I'm just bad at it, though :)

funkbob says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Nice SMBish platformer, fun, last level was fantastic, nice 10 second theme.

vvolis says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Very neat idea! :) Controls are crazy though and even after finishing SMB this seems really hard.

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Never thought of file downloading that way :)

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Also works fine in IE.

Really tough controls.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Pretty nice work. I really like the concept, it could have been executed better. Would have liked some sounds. Collision detection seems a bit off. And I could never get to the goal! (I made it to the goal, fell through the floor. -,-) Keep on working.

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:00am

That was fun. Very difficult, but my super meat boy experience prepared me. It would be very nice with a bit more polish and graphics.

Delca says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I liked it! But I will have to retry those harder levels with a better keyboard.

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:49pm

HAHA! Great humorous and fast-paced platformer!

RHY3756547 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Nice work! A few times the game lagged out (garbage collection?) and I went through a wall, but other than that it was pretty well constructed! My only gripe is that the first jump on the last level seems to be chance (or i'm just not very good at this :P) then the second part... I haven't got there but it doesn't look possible.

Could use some audio as well! The Web Audio API is the best candidate, but it's only working in chrome right now. Using <audio> elements would also work, though I only use it as a fallback because you can only play one of a sound at a time with it...

mobyvb says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:37pm

@RHY3756547 Thanks for the advice! The going-through-walls thing has more to do with background applications you're running reducing the framerate. I need to incorporate better collision detection to get around this. At the moment, it's checking for collisions every frame, which is bad for the reasons you already know of. I agree about the first jump on the last level (and the second part requires a bit of trial and error as well), but the end is the easiest part.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Cool idea. Pretty hard, but I had fun with it.

bitowl says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Pretty hard game, but I really love the "backstory".
I finally got an idea of how to get through the last one, but it's impossible to me :D

Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Blitzplatformer! Well done :D

Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Oh my, it's so hard !! I have completed the 4 first level but that last one, impossible ;) Very hard, really fun game ! Good job!

loxo says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Nice story and game concept. It's rather hard, but fun to play. Some audio and fixed collision detection would be nice.

Morusque says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Fun idea, challenging levels, smooth controls (people seem to complain about it but they seem ok to me). spotted the xkcd reference.

wbobeirne says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:40am

Cute little platformer, the difficulty curve was kind of frustrating though.

motty says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:08am

Hilarious take on the theme. Manages to mix being great fun with being impossibly hard, which is not an easy trick. Impressive stuff.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:24pm

It's good, it's just really hard. Maybe that's the point :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]