August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Puzzle Dash!

by Fireblend - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Race against time, clearing as many blocks as possible and surviving for as long as you can in this crazy, fast-paced puzzle game!


INSTRUCTIONS:

-Use 2 fingers to navigate the game area, and 1 to clear paths with same-colored blocks!
On PCs, press Z, L-SHIFT or SPACE while dragging your mouse to simulate 2-finger navigation.

-After a certain number of cleared blocks is reached, return to the big red button to get another 10 seconds!

-Explore the game area to find special blocks and use them to your advantage!

-Try to beat my 4000 pts score ;)

I plan to release an HTML5 build as well, so check back soon if you're unable to play the game on Android/your PC! Still, it's a much better experience on Android due to the 2-finger navigation.

Enjoy, and greetings from Costa Rica!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#166Fun3.47
#206Theme3.55
#217Overall3.44
#255Graphics3.43
#318Audio2.96
#465Innovation3.09
#559Mood2.72
#683Humor2.03

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26am

10 seconds is pretty short navigating this with PC controls but I can see this would play pretty nicely on a tablet. Nice polished visuals.

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33am

Very nice! PC seemed pretty easy but I guess phones and such would be more suited to this game.

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Only issue was that swiping diagonally on PC was difficult.

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Nice! I loved this a bunch, even on PC. 1794 my highest score ;)

I liked the mechanic of having to return to the red button. I can see this being quite interesting to play for high scores.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Thanks for your comments! I find it fun how some people think it's easier on PC and some others think the exact opposite. For me, the Android version is definitely the superior experience; I agree that the mouse controls for navigating are kinda awkward. I actually wonder if there could have been a better replacement for the 2-finger scrolling mechanics on PC, but I guess the way it is now is good enough :) I'm just glad to have more people playing it!

Holofire says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Neat little game. Fits the theme perfectly and the graphics are great. Great Job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Works great, also I couldn't score that high.. :)

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Brilliant game!! I've tested it on my phone and it's been a bit hard to let it go, it's really addictive, and it looks quite polished.

My only complain is with the menu items. You have to try it two or three times before the respond. Also, at first I thought that having just one return button led to difficulty scaling out of proportion quickly, as you needed to scroll further to find more blocks, but on second thoughts it encourages strategic thinking and it makes for a more interesting challenge :D

Congratulations!!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Thanks Ithildin for the thorough comment! Yeah, I had some trouble getting the menu items to behave nicely on all screen sizes, so there might still be some of that in the finished version.

And I have given plenty of thought to the difficulty curve too. I already have some ideas for post-compo updates looking to remove some of the frustration from the game while still making it difficult. This is a game that benefits from short play sessions after all, I think :)

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Difficult to navigate oin the PC but thoroughly enjoyable and fast paced. Great graphics. The red button could have been more clear!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15pm

I'll release an updated PC version with a wider game area soon :)

gre says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Good polished puzzle game. I found the difficulty a bit hard, maybe it could be easier with less required block at the start.

deniska says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

On PC it doesn't look that good, but I enjoyed playing it on the phone.

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37pm

It didn't run for me on PC:
"Couldn't load shared library 'gdx64.dll' for target: Windows 7, 64 bit"

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Frenetic and kinda addicting! Works better on touchscreen.

The only thing I didn't like too much about it was that after some time you get stuck, since you have no more moves to do.

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Nevermind, it worked now, had to redownload it. It seems very polished and I like the graphics style, clean and simple. I have to agree that 10 seconds is clearly too short though, I would have liked something like bonus time on big paths. Nice idea and implementation though :)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:03am

Neat little game. :)

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06am

Nice game, and pretty addictive! my hi score was 1505 (:

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10am

Nice Game! Good use of theme.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11am

Very frantic and tons of fun! My high score is 2590. A bit of polish here and there would make it better, but it's great as is. Nice job!

anmorales says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:02am

Nice work, I like the graphics, audio could be improved, really fun to play!!

daOyster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:31am

Very fun, especially on a tablet. Will probably play for a while after ludum dare on it.

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34am

Really addicting game! I can see this making money on a site such as facebook or on mobile app stores!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:41am

Thanks for all the feedback, people! Really appreciate it :)

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:07am

This is one fast-paced game, and this is the thing I like about it. It's not only about clearing the most square thingies on a clock. It takes some strategy, to maximize score. So this game is not as "dumb" as it looks. It has some strategy built into it.

You have to pay attention to every little sound, and to that "blrerererhhhghg" noise. If you distract for a second, game over. This game really keeps you on your toes.

I had no problems no do I have complaints about the graphics. The "gems" were easy to see and distinguish from each other.

The music is nice.

The PC controls could be improved. They're good as they are now, but you could let the player pan the view with the right mouse button.

8/10, good for playing while commuting.

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:34am

Good job! Pretty challenging. PC controls are kind of awkward, but can see how it'd be easier on touch device.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Simple and addictive! The idea to go back to the button and get more time is nice! This is now my game of choise while poo.. commuting. ;)

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Somehow I feel this is one of the entries that could be quite fun if it weren't for the much too harsh time limit. So, please add an "easy" mode. :-P

Norgg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Fun and frantic, took me a few tries to get further than the first couple clicks of the button.

On some runs on the PC the mouse pointer detection seemed to be off by half a block, so clicking on the lower half of a block would select the one below it. Will give it a go on Android.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

I first thought it was not a very smart idea to have to return to the red button each time, but then I realised that was part of what makes the game difficult so I actually started appreciating that. I think there could be more juicy effects on everything and when that is done, I think it will be a great game.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:08pm

good stuff, i struggled a little without a mouse but i'm pretty slow anyway. good job.

Dooleus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:00am

Had a lot of issues with the game not recognizing my diagonal movements on my tablet. Really wanted to enjoy this as it's a great concept but that really killed it for me :(

The art is great, but the audio and music could definitely be more polished.

Elrobo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:25am

I like the idea/gameplay but two finger panning in a game that only needs one to play is cumbersome. It would have been better if you could 1 touch pan on cleared spots.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:26am

Really cool idea, but much too hard with the 10 second limit. The buttons appear also ver big on my Nexus10 tablet. I would like to see more of the game area. Tis would make it playable with the 10 second limit

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Good fun game this. Found it awkward to control at first but got the hang of it.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:13am

Well that's a fast paced game! I enjoyed it nonetheless. Nice graphics, I bet this could get quite popular in the mobile world...

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:27am

Was a pretty cool puzzle game, a nice twist on those games where you just click to remove groups of the same color. Well done!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:02am

4000 score? Haha, wow - I've got 858 and I am DAMN PROUD :D
The gameplay was fun and the controls are pretty smooth. The graphics are nice, clean and colorful - fits well.

I am partial to always having to scroll back to the big red block. It certainly had an exploration-y feeling, but it always felt so dissatisfying to find a combination in the last second - but not being able to use it to get more time. I think it would've been a smoother experience with automatic time upgrades.

May I suggest http://abundant-music.com as the music generator next time should you need one? The quality is much, much higher.

All in all, pretty well done - my Android tablet is looking forward to your post-compo version!

proc says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:03am

Kept me on my toes and sadly I don't have good balance (aka I was rubbish.) I think they styling and graphics are well suited to this kind of casual seeming game, good job.

GagaPete says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:09am

Great game. Fells like a finished game, not just a prototype like many else (incl. mine). Played on my phone and didn't beat your highscore. I'll keep it on my phone for whenever I have a few seconds spare. :-)

cardboard says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:42am

I played this on my phone and it's fun. I'll probably play it some more in the future when a time comes where I have to wait for something. My highest score was a little over 900. The autotracker music is nice. The graphics are very nice and look good whilst not distracting from the gameplay. The powerups make it possible to stray far from the original "spawn", which is very thoughtful.

emveyh says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Simple but very enjoyable :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]