August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Panda Starvation

by Mozzo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Panda Starvasion was made with Flash Actionscript 3 for the LD48 compo. The game will take a few seconds to load!

Controls- Use WASD/Arrow Keys to walk.

Instructions-
Classic- Eat as many fruits as needed before time runs out and get as far as possible(unlimited?!?!?!).
Quick- Eat as many fruits you can before time runs out.
Arcade- Same as Quick but with power ups.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#552Audio2.56
#584Theme3.15
#610Humor2.15
#757Graphics2.57
#848Mood2.33
#890Fun2.50
#962Overall2.60
#1099Innovation2.06

Comments

Conflei says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38am

Nice one! Fun.

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Funny little game =)

The win/lose condition seems to be a bit bugged though. You might want to fix your variables when starting a new game.

I'm a bit sad that the panda has such a short lifespan. And it's all my fault :(

Seriously, it was a fun time playing =)

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Very simple idea very well executed. The quick mode is a little to short though :)

Supernours says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12pm

I love pandas ! Great game !

lightsoda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13pm

I found arcade to be the most playable, though the powerups were nowhere to be found most of the time, perhaps should've been more common at first, and reduce with time/levels. Nice effort.

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18pm

The design of your panda is really great :)
The game is cool.

PS : I believe i spawned on a deadly zone several time (at least in the quick and arcade mode)

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Nice little game. Pandas are just awesome as are exit buttons in web games. ^^

Mozzo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:34am

@Conflei Thank you! :)

@X-0r Thank you and as everything is random it's hard to predict some stuff.

@sgehlich The quick mode is short because it's quick mode!!! :D

@Supernours Thank you, Pandas are AWESOME!!!

@lightsoda As there is only two diffrent powerups it can be hard to find them.

@Khopa Thank you, Everything is random so the panda can spawn on a hole when starting a game :(

@Erkberg Thank you, web version was a quick port of the downloadable version soo that's why there is an exit button :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Sometimes get bug, i click anywhere when i finish a game and the next game, show the lose screen. Anyway not bad

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Game is cute - it's a good effort - but the gameplay seems a little hard to be fun as such for now. Maybe if the panda moved faster or there were more fruits around (or if some fruits / powerups gave you time bonuses or something - if they do already I never found any :( ). It's definitely the bare bones of something that could be worked up into something great though.

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:39pm

A very simple idea nicely executed. After repeated tries I gave up on Classic mode - the random fruit distribution makes this more like a game of chance. However, I liked the Quick and Arcade modes best. Good job!

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Lots of promise here, but the field is so big and the fruit distribution so random that far too often there's just no chance of reaching enough fruit in time.

proc says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Niceto have the different modes. I felt like some levels presented were impossible in the time limit so perhaps some kind of distance between fruits summed up check to get a beatable level every time? Then again that may have just been me being rubbish

dkilford says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Nice and simple game. Having a slight delay when you beat the level and playing the eat sound effect when you pick up the final fruit would help make the transition less confusing.

Dissing says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Very nice game, but for some reason I would sometimes die on spawn.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]