August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Maze Rush

by OneL3gend - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Game did not quite reach the wanted final form due to unforseen restrictions from javascript. The basic idea is there though, including a rather unreliable experimental build.

Other maps were made, but due to problems mentioned above, I could only implement one at a time.

The Game was made for Google Chrome 29.0. Browsers such as Firefox and Safari showed some problems

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#512Graphics2.95
#828Theme2.85
#1136Fun1.90
#1146Overall2.15
#1172Innovation1.80
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Good effort - it's a shame there aren't more maps :)

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15pm

nice i like the art good job

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Good effort for your time, movement was a little choppy but basic idea is nice.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18pm

More maps would be where it's at.

The random map is intriguing, but as you said, very experimental ;)
It feels quite sluggish, make it faster!

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Doesn't seem to work in Firefox 20.0 on Linux :(

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:02am

it looks like your stacking several canvas elements on top of each other for layers. I think you can use css and zIndex to handle most of that and use a single canvas.

this will probably improve a lot of performance and maybe some other browser issues you were experiencing.

If you like JavaScript you may want to look into another framework to help build games. I use impactJS but there are a lot of other ones too!

I like the art a lot and hope you continue your development!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Could not run on Opera 12.16 (Windows 7 64 bit) but fortunately there are other browsers ;) Good game. Good luck with ratings!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Nice visuals and animations. Needs a bit more variety and spritelier controls though. Could be a really fun little game with a few tweaks and additions.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:38am

Seems promising, maybe a bit more preparation with javascript beforehand could have allowed you to get further. The art is nice, movement feels a bit slow paced even if it is timed.

loxo says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Nice start and I like the graphics! But I think the character movement is a bit too slow. More levels and some audio would be nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]