August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hail Of Bombs

by Rick Hoppmann - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Destroy the bombs before they explode by clicking on them.
(Click on the green flag to start)
--
The game was created in 4,8 (4:48) hours (the heading above is lying).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#426Audio2.76
#857Humor1.73
#947Graphics2.21
#978Fun2.36
#1018Mood1.94
#1042Overall2.48
#1085Theme2.36
#1187Innovation1.68

Comments

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15am

Pretty cool for such a short amount of time. The concept is about as simple as it could get, but the bouncing and the music made it pleasing to play. Good work!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23am

Well done. I scored 681 with some frantic clicking.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57am

Pretty addicting. I got to 1337 then got tired of it. Definitely great for having so little development time, though the difficulty could ramp up just a bit over time. Although, as an endurance game, it works well...

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28am

Well, It's too easy. But a good idea.

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:41am

O god, so many bombs. Nice simple game that works well.

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:01pm

That was a lot of clicking. Could have used some variety.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:13pm

That sure is a hail of bombs alright. Nicely executed for such a quickly developed game, works really well.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:24pm

It gets pretty tedious after a while, other than that nice work! I used to use scratch a few years ago. ;)

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16pm

@RHY3756547 Scratch isn't what I'm normally using. I used it, because it's pretty good for creating rapidly prototypes. Otherwise in terms of customization, distribution and performance, I can't recommend it.

flod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23pm

well done. simple concept. But it's a "mouse killer" ;-)

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12pm

I guess I got the high score.

DigiTec says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:49am

The link is asking for login credentials, unsure if I'm the only one seeing that or not.

moonmagic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24am

The music is fun arpy stuff. I clicked some bombs. I would click more bombs if the bombs had some kind of "you clicked me" visual effect.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59am

@DigiTec The service requires that for saving highscores and commenting. Everything else works without logging in, though.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:13am

I couldn't see where you use the 10 seconds. Anyways the sounds are a bit repetitive, graphics simple but overall not bad for a Compo.

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:18am

Good music! ;-)
The bombs look more like cherries than bombs tho. Would be nice if the landing spot weren't always on the floor, for more diversity.

ratqueen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Now I want to work with Scratch, too! It's really fun when it is getting faster.
Some more colours would be great and more diversity in the behavior of the bombs. Bouncing or big bombs, that explode faster.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Nice clicker! suprisingly addicting. The feel is good, as is the music :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:03pm

It's a nicely skinned wack-a-mole, but I would have liked to have seen a few more ideas in there. Audio was nice.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:26pm

I really liked the background music, froze on me a little at the end though

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:05am

Oh man, haven't play a whack a mole style game in ages. Though the 10 second timer on the bombs fit with the theme : ).

mboaj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Very very fast game. Nice! :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:25am

Great simple game. Good graphics and great sound. Awesome work for such a short time!

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Got to 1347 then got bored of it, the audio is a bit repetitive and the bombs look like cherries, but it's pretty addicting !

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:51pm

It's short, simple and works great. A solid entry, ESPECIALLY for 4,8 hours!! We all know how impossible it is to finish a game in such a short amount of time.

Oh and I don't know if anyone else noticed or if it even was on purpose, but: 48hours / 10(sec) = 4,8hours
Brain exploded

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:56pm

@TijmenTio I'll probably write a post-mortem how it was possible in such a short amount of time.
Great find with the calculation! It wasn't intended, actually :D

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Nice job for such a short development time. Things get awfully crazy very quickly. Not much to it, but whats there is quite enjoyable.

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Very polished for a quick development. Good job, i hope you'll try a real 48 hours game next Ludum. :)

klianc09 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Well, pretty simple and monotone, but I suppose your time constraints are an excuse for that. Thought the music fit very well with the frantic pace.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Cute and simple. I think a good next step would be having the bombs indicate that they're about to explode.

Aslai says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Well that was somewhat enjoyable. I started out really bored, wondering what the point was... but then I'm sure you know what happened. I got up to about 850 before accidentally clicking the copyleft symbol :(

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:27am

Well done for less than 5 hours! Went up to 330-something before I lost. The music was very nice, and kept your interest up!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]