April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hyportee

by sirdorius - Jam Entry

Bring back order! Those pesky shapes are loose again. Use you character to bring them back to the Hyportee, where they will be assimilated in the name of order.

Objective:
The number of shapes of each type that you have to bring back to the Hyportee is indicated in the top part of the screen. When you have connected enough shapes you can go to the exit indicated by the arrow and go to a new room. Avoid the triangles. Triangles are bad for your health. Find out how the other shapes work.

Controls:
Use mouse to move
Scroll Wheel to zoom
R to go back to the main menu
TAB to switch between mouse and keyboard controls
When using keyboard controls you can move with WASD or arrows
P takes a screenshot (only works in native versions, not in the web version)

Made by: Dorian Bucur and Gianluca Bardaro. Music by Gabriele Civitarese

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#85Innovation(Jam)3.57
#111Theme(Jam)3.72
#142Fun(Jam)3.26
#156Overall(Jam)3.44
#157Audio(Jam)3.31
#259Humor(Jam)2.21
#268Mood(Jam)2.96
#269Graphics(Jam)3.20

Comments

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

I REALLY enjoyed this game! very nice mechanics, a little bit hard in the first time but by playing more you get the hang of it, great game!

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50am

So I got completely surrounded by shapes. I felt very loved, but I don't think I could get out. Nice job guys!

Zathalos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50am

Took me a while to figure out what to do and what the shapes did. After I got the hang of it, it was pretty interesting. Although sometimes I got stuck inside the shape I was forming. Good job.

CheesyRamen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55am

On later levels that have lots of shapes in it, it's really easy to get surrounded by them, and hence unable to reach the exit, but other than that I really enjoyed your game! :)

sirdorius says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

Neigh, the pentagons are actually there to make you feel loved. They're called Huggers inside the code.

We would have liked to calibrate the difficulty and learning curve better but we ran out of time.

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Very nice, good music, but pushing the things can get a bit tedious as the movement is a bit slow. Also I got stuck inside a blob and there was no way to free myself from it.
There's a problem with the mouse wheel (under Linux), rolling it makes the level *very* small really quick and there's no way to get it back.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25am

Pretty cool, I liked how I could use the attached shapes as a shield against the evil triangles.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47am

Katamari + Mondrian = Awesome!

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Enjoyable! Good job.

gre says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Awesome!

geepit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Really nice, very enjoyable!

Sebastian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

I had a pretty sweet time playing this, nice work :)

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Damned triangles :)
Nice game - simple and fun!

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Nice physic game. The game have a good style, the intro and level zoom transition is nice. The problem is the informations on screens, they're big, make the game read difficult and ruins the mood. Not knowing which block type is left is fine, and even the energy could be represented by something more simple like ship color or red flash when under 20%. This graphics style work best with minimalist interface. Another problem is the fact that you can be stuck into the square. I died most of the time of this rather than 0 life, and I was pretty surprised the first time I saw the gameover screen on my 4th play :) I dont have a good solution for this maybe allowing random teleport on one key, but it could b use to avoid red triangle. Not if it cost life. Yeah some kind of self blast costing energy would avoid the player to be stuck without ruining the gamebalance.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:55pm

First time I collected all the objects on level 1...was having fun steering. Web (Chrome) version working well. Would be nice to have mouse captured in window. Maybe need some simpler levels at start to get hooked.

Exergy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Wow! Great game :D

TaleLore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Amazing game.

May 1, 2013 @ 9:41am

Funny game and nice music :)

sirdorius says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:44am

Thanks for the feedback everyone! Benjamin, I agree that the interface is very bad, it's because we didn't have time left to work on it. We are working on a postludum version where we'll solve this, and the other common problems like getting stuck and the steep learning curve.

Diventurer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:22am

Ahh, the music is so awesome!!
The game was fun to play, but eventually I got cornered by tons of red triangles...and that was the end of it. xD

Capro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Absolutely fun and clever game.

saggiosoft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Once you understand, it's a really good game, well designed, with great graphics.

patrickward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I wasn't sure what to do at first, but after I re-read the instructions I got it! Fun game! Lovely graphics and the music fit the mood perfectly. Good job.

atraxgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:39am

This is really fun and addictive!

dsoft20 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:40am

Nice entry, I like how different shapes have different behaviors :D

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Awesome. I really liked this game. Good work, my friend!

michail says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:16am

Awesome music and overall good game.

joe40001 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:22am

Cool idea, nice music/look, sometimes though the player or the goal can get stuck in the center of the blob not sure if that's intentional but during either of those I was unable to progress.

bobiniki says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I realy like how this game came out. Nice idea, althought I don't like how everyone uses this minimalistic thing with the rectangles and colors. However I somewhat liked it in your game. Some advices are to add anti-aliasing(in the unity quality settings if I remember correctly). Another small thing is you probably have to tweak the yellow circles a bit and not to runs so fast. Overall good game I really enjoyed it!

May 19, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Neat little game with some really polished aesthetics. Playing it gives you a warm feeling from inside! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]