April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Potato Gnomes Online

by EpaceGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as one of three gnomes, specialized either in running, jumping, or throwing french fries. Together with two others online, you must collect the potatoes and destroy snails with french fries. Can you cooperate to succeed?

Don't step on the poop!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Innovation4.19
#163Graphics3.75
#423Fun3.13
#532Overall3.19
#801Audio2.27
#1281Theme2.47
#1720Coolness30%

Comments

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

I really enjoy the screenshots but sadly I can't find any players :( Looks like a great job for LD anyway!

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

Only if there was other people playing :(

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02am

High bet making a multiplayer game for a ludumdare!

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:07am

Same as above, I wait and wait and wait and can't find any other players. :(

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47am

no players! Damn, I really like collab games.

Logan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:55am

I actually managed to find two other players! Even if one of them disconnected partway through the second level, leaving us unable to jump.
It's a neat idea when it works. It would benefit from each role being a bit more fleshed-out, except that would kinda go against the theme.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:02am

I waited at the title screen... but there were no other players. Sorry!

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27pm

launch page looks cool, but I don't have anyone else online to play.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:39am

someone enter now! :-P pls! T_T

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:41am

This was made in 48h, you all alone? wow! My multiplayer game is so less attractive xD

Gratz!

CrazyGage says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:11am

it was a lot of fun, though very frustrating when you have no idea what the other players will do. I love it.

domrein says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:11am

Pretty fun game when you can find others online. The game is a bit too unforgiving though. It's really easy to make mistakes and resetting the whole level can be frustrating. Over all I think this is a great entry. Good job!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:13am

I like the three person play controls. I think this would be great for couch co-op, but it really doesn't work on the web since you can't communicate with your partners.

Mach60KAS says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:52pm

I liked the concept of three people playing, however trying to coordinate three complete strangers is a very tricky proposition. The art was quite nice, and I feel with some more work (possible local co-op?) this could make a very nice post-compo. Good job!

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Can't play without other players online :-(

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Awesome idea. Too bad there are not enough people playing it. I played it in two seperate windows with the third gnome being played by someone else online, and I wasn't able to keep up. A chat window would have made it much easier to communicate.

Hayawi says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:47am

SATANIC!

Jellycakes says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:48am

That was so hectic with 3 people controlling the same character. We couldn't make it past the 2nd level though, oh well. Pretty good concept, nice job.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:10am

i opened 3 browser windows to play this game -- it was great. there is so much potential here for a game. nice job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]