April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lunarium

by Alprog - Jam Entry

The Heart of Maximalism prevents spreading of minimalism in the World. Protect it.

WSAD + Mouse (Don't forget use Mouse Wheel!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#19Fun(Jam)3.88
#96Mood(Jam)3.55
#116Humor(Jam)2.89
#132Overall(Jam)3.50
#145Innovation(Jam)3.36
#150Audio(Jam)3.33
#154Graphics(Jam)3.67
#300Theme(Jam)3.19

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:49am

Really nice work so far, look forward to seeing the end result!

imagnity says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:49am

I liked your game so much that I clicked until the gray somewhat circle was gone. Wanna see the final outcome.

imagnity says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:51am

One more thing, when you go in the center and hit the blue box, the screen starts shaking heavily and nothing happens.

Eternal_Rest says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Wow.. that really makes me dizzy I cant play for more than a min or 2.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

I like the idea and the main character is great :)

Destroyer40k says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

I'm liking how you used the theme, but I think you could've leveraged that a bit more. Things like making the enemy ships seem more "minimal" and having the planet a bit more decorated. Also, I think the player should be able to move faster to get to shooting the ships more quickly. Getting on the other side of the planet becomes even more cumbersome when it's been ravaged and its surface is uneven.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Cool game. I always thought that destructible pixel levels were underused in modern games.

Alprog says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44am

Thanks for good comments, guys.
Final version was submitted. Enjoy :)

TravisChen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27am

That is sweet firing anim.

Trench says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:59am

Really fun and challenging! Great work :D

brookman32k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Cool concept. Very fun game to play. I like it

thephantom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:40am

this one of the greatest game i played so far . and i loved the graphics so much :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Love this game! The controls make you feel powerful, but the action gets intense and challenging! Nice work!

May 9, 2013 @ 10:05am

Fun shooter! I like how you can't jump and shoot at the same time.

YSelf Tool says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:13pm

38470.
It went from "oh, cool!" to "you are insane" very fast.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:16pm

wow -- that was a greate game -- lots of potential -- great job!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Simple and fun...But I don't know where is the moinimalism

May 13, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Fun game but got very hard near the end when trying to traverse the planet after it had been shot at a lot

shatterhand says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:51pm

It's a cool game, but it's too much like this:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?uid=528

Except that game is a lot more fun to play.

HeyZeus says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Smart idea, love the graphic style.

Sestren says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Overall, I thought the graphics and sounds were good, although I'm pretty sure the music is pulled straight from Battletoads.

Alprog says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:57pm

shatterhand, wow, "Astro Break" is great game!

Sestren, yes, music from Battletoads. We pointed this out in the start screen.

JohnnySix says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:05am

Very cool - really liked the destructible terrain mechanic - it felt a little clumsy on the controls though, especially with lots of little floating pieces later in the round when more terrain is destroyed. Bigger jumps, better control of the character in the air [ and shooting in the air ] would be cool. Loved the death sequence crash zoom. :D

OU GDA says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:47am

Haha, really fun and the sound works out great. Would be interested in more power ups and weapons, or maybe even a vs mode could be cool?

ahm99 says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:55am

Forgot my score :| But it was a really cool game. I think it became harder too quickly. But anyway, Good Job :)

Sestren says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:20am

Alprog: My apologies, I missed that. Good of you to point it out, though. Like JohnnySix, I thought the terrain destruction was pretty cool, although I noticed after awhile it gets very hard to move around once "pillars" start to form.

cardboard says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:09am

128980. That was a lot of fun. It was difficult/impossible to keep all enemies at bay, but this makes sure the game doesn't last forever, so it works.

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:28am

Nice game. Animation is great, good job!

alts says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:23am

105470. Fun game. The theme seems to be arbitrarily inserted into the narrative of the game, and not manifested anywhere else. Regardless, it plays really well. There were only a couple things I encountered that hurt it, in my opinion. The powerup that regenerates terrain necessarily has to be shot for the player to get out, which seems to turn it into a hindrance more than it helps. Was that the point? I also got stuck in a really unpleasant loop where I kept getting frozen by an enemy mid fall.

Alprog says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:47am

alts, regeneration of terrain is "bad" powerup (10% probability) We thought it is fun :)

belickim says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:27am

Wow, it was quite fun. Jumping somehow doesn't feel right, it's kinda clumsy; the fact that you cannot shoot while jumping is a bit annoying.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:36pm

You should explain that you can keep MB1 pressed. The game is great but the controls feel wonky and fudgy when the level geometry gets all messy.

Other than that, it is an enjoyable little game with a fantastic ending.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 1:33am

Amazing! 168690 was my score. I loved it all, except that you couldn't shoot while moving. Amazing work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]