April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bonk

by tove - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bonk was created in approximately 12 hours (plus a half hour of bugfixing the next morning) using Box2D, Flixel, and SFXR. Be sure to use stereo speakers/headphones. Up/down arrows move the paddle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#313Theme3.79
#510Innovation3.18
#512Audio2.77
#1036Mood2.36
#1165Graphics2.19
#1230Overall2.39
#1295Fun1.82
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:15am

I get it, but at the same time, it stops being a game after 10 hits. Everything is black, so ... it's impossible to see paddle or ball. I don't think stereo headphones help me at all at this point.

fishbrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

lol bonk lol nice

chrisamaphone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

visibleatom, try to use the stages where the ball and paddle are visible to train your ear so that you can navigate in darkness - the stereo headphones really do help.

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Whoah that was pretty trippy!

Andy West says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:03am

Very interesting concept.

invaderJim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:10am

Argghhh... 16 is my best. Love the concept on this one. Good job :D

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:01am

What a cool idea!
I'm terrible at it though!

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:06pm

This was awesome! Amazing idea - the only thing I would suggest is mouse movement for the paddle. I feel like I could have matched the audio a lot better if I could move the paddle a little bit more quickly and with more analog control.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:24pm

So crazy idea, i like the sounds.

infernet89 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Really nice idea, love the final effect of procedural sounds! Need more gameplay varity, but in 12 hours it's awesome!

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:29am

The concept for this is really cool, but without reading the other comments, I would have assumed that the game was glitchy. I think this game could be really compelling with a few changes:
1. A more natural control scheme. I think rotating the field by 90 degrees to resemble breakout would have made the stereo sound effects work better. The digital, arrow-based control scheme was very frustrating because the location of one's avatar was thus hard to control.
2. An initial background shade. I didn't realize that the paddle was fading until my second game.
3. Cleaner audio. The buzzing sound became grating after a while.

garygreen says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:41am

I liked the twist in this pong game - the fading as you progressed. It's mean, but fun. :-)

tove says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:43am

Julian, thanks for the detailed feedback!

I'm not totally sure what you mean by buzzing -- do you just mean that it sounds obviously synthy, or is there an additional noise layer (that I guess I'm not hearing, probably because my headphones aren't great)?

Jim Haslett says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:53am

I get what you were going for, but the audio didn't seem to track with the ball movement at all for me. I tried several times, but the audio seemed completely random. After 10 volleys, it was just a matter of waiting for the end.

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:41pm

=D I liked the idea of the transparency (in my team we also tried to incorporate it), unfortunately it renders the game almost unplayable, the paddle velocity is too slow and the majority of people need more time to calibrate their audio-location =P.

noddy2006 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:40am

Great game! Soooo hard though, haha. I agree with other comments about using the mouse for analog control. Maybe slowing the ball down would've helped a lot too. Also, it would have been cool if the volume of the left channel indicated the distance of the ball from the paddle.

May 20, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Points for audio being tied to the paddle. After 10 shots I couldn't see the paddle anymore. Not sure if there was a point or game after this?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]