April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hipster Pad

by nimblegorilla - Jam Entry

You are a hipster trying to optimally arrange your furniture.

This means you want all of your furniture sitting on top of the rug.

Your furniture is not allowed to overlap.

---
You can change levels by selecting a new level from the list in the left-side menu.

More shapes and patterns coming soon to a post-jam version.

--
Thanks to Ryan, Paul, and Martin for game design and playtesting help!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#120Innovation(Jam)3.44
#163Theme(Jam)3.58
#166Humor(Jam)2.62
#287Fun(Jam)2.84
#320Overall(Jam)2.98
#404Graphics(Jam)2.73
#415Audio(Jam)2.04
#473Mood(Jam)2.26

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47am

Interesting new idea, I think there could have been more complex patterns and more shapes.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52am

Is there more than one level? Not really sure how to advance.

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:26am

I just updated the description to highlight that you can select levels from the left-side menu. There are 12 levels in the jam version.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03am

Very cute ^_^ .

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:12am

I liked this - nice interpretation of the theme. Higher difficulty (smaller rug + more pieces) would've been appreciated, but pretty good for what it's god.

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:28pm

At first I didn't realise the score was meant to be low, like golf. It'd be nice if that was clearer, but anyway.

The GUI is really slick, and the game is clever. The comments were amusing too. Nice work man, really enjoyed it.

delfino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:45am

Good stuff, nice clean UI. The scoring confused me for a minute though. Look great, good job! One thing I would've liked is being able to snap to a grid or something, but I guess packing it tight is part of the challenge

skwirl3014 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:15am

This is inventive and great. Reminds me of scrabble. There should be more games that multiply based on location. on more aspect that one even.

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:34am

I like this game, it really gets you thinking on how to manage space, just missing some sounds! Overall nice game!

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:45am

Nice concept, I really liked the mix between tetris and a puzzle.

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:59am

Really gets to the inner OCD. My final scores were 63, 60, 81, 68, 71 68. In most cases I had to leave on block on the outer area (worth ten) and had all the 1 point spaces covered. I'd love to know what the actual minimum scores are. Did like the game quite a bit.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:37pm

OCD's heaven.

MrShoestore says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:30am

Hrrmmm,,, wouldnt the minimalist thing to do be to just get rid of all the furniture and sit on the rug? I think I should get zero points because I pressed the score button without any furniture. :p wait... zero would be good right?

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:02pm

It seemed really easy to me for some reason.

mramaizng says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Interesting idea. The best part was the name and "story" you built around the game. Nice job!

euwaku says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:06am

Maybe a ranking system would make the game a bit more challenging, to me it was pretty easy to score something above ~100 and more, maybe this is actually a shitty score.

TenTonToon says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:58am

Excellent idea, with a nice, stylized presentation, and some mind-bending level (or rug, in this case) design. The potential is huge for a post-LD version!
Also, quite fitting of the theme.

This one would be a winner in a touch screen. Just saying ;)

Congratulations!

zkenshin says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Neat idea (:

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:33pm

it's very pleasant-looking, but the core gameplay was ancient even before videogames got invented.

May 10, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Cool, those hipsters have furniture looking like tetris pieces... well, maybe they have!!! :) Cool game, would be nice to display the best possible score somewhere so we know that we do something wrong... XD!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:32pm

This is one of the more enjoyable puzzlers that I've played for LD26. Easy to get into, and the puzzles make you think, but it's not so difficult that it's aggravating. I do wish that I had the ability to rotate the furniture pieces, which would add another level of depth to the game. Also, it would be nice to have the furniture pieces snap to the grid, because I would spend a lot of time trying to align the pieces on the rug. Good job!

nimblegorilla says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:24pm

@GaTechGrad - you should be able to rotate pieces by pressing Q or E - or by double clicking the shape.

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:41pm

The concept is quite interesting although I think there should some way of telling players know how much a particular area of the rug is worth when they place a piece there instead of finding it out when they score their rug.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:46pm

I love this type of game, and the thing is I did not know I loved this type of game before I played it. Thank you Hipster Pad.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Rotating the shapes to overlap as little green carpet as possible interested me. If you continue to develop this, the arrangement of the shapes felt arbitrary.

StMatn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Cool idea. At first I thought it was one of those games, where you arrange all the shapes in a rectangle. The scoring-mechanic is very interesting and gives the game a nice touch. The UI was a bit confusing for me, since I needed a moment, until I understood, that you have to click the "score" button. All in all great job!

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Fun idea. That guy has some really cool looking furniture ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]