April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ordinal

by tompudding - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ordinal is a logic based puzzle game set in the harsh and dangerous world of numbers!

Windows:
--------
Download the zip file and run the batch file

Linux
-----
For Debian based Linux distributions, just do a "sudo apt-get install python-pygame python-opengl", then you can run the source code from github directly with "python ordinal.py"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#14Innovation4.19
#141Audio3.45
#267Overall3.47
#595Fun2.94
#606Mood2.82
#839Humor1.86
#984Theme3.06
#1108Graphics2.29

Comments

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:32am

Holy crap you made a game out of Max/MSP. Combined with SpaceChem. I'm in awe of this as a 48 hour project, fantastic. At first I forgot it was a game and was just making music with it. :)

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50am

Fun idea, but for someone not familiar with modular audio software, this may get a bit weird at first. Neat game, nevertheless, nice to see a music game. :)

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11am

Good game, reminds me of myself: sounds like an angel, looks like devil, entirely monochrome.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:18pm

quite liked it ..struggled to get going a little bit at first tho heh..good job tho :)

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Very cool, I think that's the first time I broke out a calculator to play a game. I failed at level 4, figure I could divide and throw in 80 inc's, but that can't be the answer :)

bushmango says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Sometimes the graphics tweak out and I can't connect outputs to inputs :( Took me a while to figure out what the goal was, but then it was fun :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

For arch linux: `pacman -S python2-opengl python2-numpy` and run with `python2 ordinal.py`

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

That is a very unique game - a programming challenge, I like it! The game also has a very consistent "feel", which is a plus.

One thing to note, is that it would be good to have an automatic "zoom" at the start of each level. On the start of the "tricky" level I did not realize that there were 4 sources, until I zoomed out a bit.

Also, it is not very clear whether you have to connect ALL sources to the sinks, or if just satisfying the sink counts as clearing the puzzle.

Anyway, thanks for the cool game!

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Nice game, well done! :)

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

A game for the heart of every programmer :) Very fun to tinker with, and I like that you can do so much with bitwise operators. Bookmarking!

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Wow! Really liked the idea. Though it got hard, fast. At least for me. Will definitely come back to this one.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Pretty fun - I like the concept. The interface was very clunky, which kept me from playing farther, but I enjoyed it.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Math games! Fun, but a bit bland, more hints for noobs would be nice. ;) Game was a bit funky/buggy after I had placed a few blocks.

f7f5 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21pm

It took me a while to understand what I was supposed to do, and the boxes with the numbers sometimes cover the output/input connectors and it's hard to make a line.

But I'm glad I stuck with it, because in the end it's a very original and cool idea for a math-music-puzzle game!

I have to comeback to this later to clear level 4

kreischweide says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Oh something unexpected :) Great idea and execution, like the approach!

MRvanderPants says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:04am

The game is pretty hard to understand for people who don't use these kinds of audio software. But it is amazing you created this in just 2 days.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:47am

My first impression : WTF??!! And then enlightenment came to me and then I just remembered how lucky I am to particate to Ludum Dare and test real innovative games. Thanks for this game. It's good (once you figure what you're supposed to do that is ;) )

Hume says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:00pm

I finished it. The jump in difficulty was pretty severe in that level, but it was satisfying to finally figure out how to get the bit pattern I knew I needed.

Mild spoilers follow:
I think I found a timing bug in an earlier level. I hope my notation makes sense:

out = sub(inc(inc(source(k=0, k+=2))), pass(pass(source(k=0, k+=2))))

This gave [65534, 4, 4...]. Obviously a stupid solution given that a one-module solution exists, but I think it should have given [2, 2, 2...]

Prudiiarca says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Thats interesting... Really

Cosmologicon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Fun. I think the puzzles could have benefited from some more restrictions, eg you only have X incs and Y muls or whatever. I feel like I cheated on the last level, since you can turn 0 into anything with a few incs and lsls.

namuol says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:19pm

The sort of game I love to play.

I would've liked to see it be more rhythm-oriented/musical in the sense of producing actual melodies, but it's fun enough thinking about the puzzles. I think if there were specific bounds/limitations set the puzzles would feel more like puzzles and less like programming -- but that's more of an observation than a criticism; I kinda like the openness of it.

goerp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:47pm

OOOH! another programming game, nice!
Although after a while it became a bit buggy (some graphical corruption and some elements where impossible to connect anymore) it was nice and addictive.

The music is a nice touch and the speeding up possibility is very good, because when you know you have the sollution, you don't want to wait.

An extra plus for the simplicity of the user interface and the ease of which you can understand this game (I also made a programming game, but the UI was terrible and it was NOT easy to understand).

I will tell my friends about this game.

SuperDisk says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:30am

I liked the Cancel Christmas game, so I decided to try out this. I was not disappoint.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]