April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zero Zen

by halogenica - 48 Hour Compo Entry

****************************************
2-4 Players only!
Recommend at least 2 controllers!
Xbox 360 controllers for windows, Xbox 360 or PS3 controllers for mac
****************************************

Now with 100% more mac support!


Objective:
----------
Push your opponent into the wall to win!

Description:
------------
Luftrausers vs SuperSpace____

Zero Zen is a fast paced action game about patience and timing. Fly a zero fighter and shoot at your enemies to push them into the red zone. Bullets don't do damage, they just push. Be careful of the kickback!

360 Controls:
-------------
- A to fly
- X to fire
- Analog stick to steer

PS3 Controls:
-------------
- X to fly
- Square to fire
- Analog stick to steer

Keyboard Controls:
------------------
Player 1:
- Up to fly
- Left and right to steer
- Enter to fire

Player 2:
- W to fly
- A and D to steer
- 1 to shoot

Extra Controls:
---------------
- G for GUI options
- F to fullscreen
- ESC to quit



Game by: Michael Romero

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#319Fun3.25
#610Audio2.62
#619Overall3.11
#648Humor2.10
#827Theme3.26
#890Innovation2.67
#980Graphics2.49
#1030Mood2.37

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Not rating because I can't play 2 player, but it looks like it would be pretty entertaining!

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:08am

Played with 2 players. kbam and controller. I like the idea. fits the theme well. runs well, Nice game

hitchh1k3r says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:04am

Played it two player, was very fun. Great job.

We found you could "game" the system by ramming and then shooting, doing all particles of knock back.

Music was crazy... crazy good. (Even though it was a short loop, because of the chaos in it we didn't think it got old, and if was a fun song)

We wish there was less time between matches so we could maximize fun and minimize waiting.

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:22am

Thanks for playing! My friends and I have a lot of fun trying to get as close as you can to another player to make them absorb all the bullets; it's hilarious to seem them rocket away. Glad you liked the music. It's actually 8 different segments and each segment is randomly selected to avoid being overly repetitive.

I definitely agree with the time between matches being too long. I should have added a slider to the GUI to reduce the time between matches, or a maybe checkbox to display the score.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:46am

Played with 2 players - one with xbox pad and other keyboard.. Was fun >:D

Topaz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57am

Really nice game!

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:49am

Fun gameplay and spot on with the theme!

May 2, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Excellent camera control.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:26am

I LOVE the concept! This would be serious fun with friends on a console. I wish it had some kind of AI so I wouldn't have to play against myself, though.

Pinkerator says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:26am

Simple and nice multiplayer :) Strange that there is just 1% multiplayer games take part in Ludum Dare.

May 3, 2013 @ 9:46am

Oh man, I suck at those controls :D Fun game!

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:52am

really a nice concept! I like this entry. (Nice music too)

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Nice multiplayer game, had some fun with it. Maybe needs a little bit more variety but other than that it's cool. Good job!

FREEZX says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:13am

Awesome! Airplanes with shotguns! 5/5

tzamora says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:30am

too simple.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:02am

interesting idea and fits well with the theme -- good effort

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:11am

Ive seen the video and th game looks really interesting,I am rating high in theme. Nice work and good idea.

TurboDindon says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:54am

I can't played the game, it crashes when I open it!
I used the video gameplay to rate your game. It respects the theme and seems very fun. This might have been better with a few additionnal graphics or simple FX. :)

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

GranaDa says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Amazing game! Really clever and entertaining. Good job!

omaha says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:27am

Excellent work. Can't wait to see more games in this genre.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]