April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escapalism

by Riccardo Stucchi - Jam Entry

Minimalist graphic, minimalist gameplay, what will you do to reach the minimalist "escape"?

***** READ ME ******
We tried not to focus on a minimal graphics but we've tried to find out a way to create a minimal approach to the gameplay.
Your goal is to escape from this minimal, black and white world. On the way you might find something that doesn't belongs to this minimal world: the weapons (in fact these are full of different colors). The enemies appear when you pick up a weapon and they try to kill you because you're trying to modify this minimal world (however some bugs allow the bots to show up in some cases).
For this reason you get the better score when you find the exit of the labyrinth in a minimal way, trying to preserve the minimal world.
*********************

Reach the exit of this labyrinth...... and beware of the guards! they are everywhere!!!!

.... it's so minimalist that it misses the 70% of what we wanted to make!

Procedural content generation for the maps.
Developed in Unity.

*Version 1.2*
-Solved enemy AI bug.
-Solved score issue
-Hole => Death

**web version now available!**

Developed by:
*Programmers
-Me
-Andrea Villa
-Valerio Ceraudo
-Marco Fumagalli
*Graphic artist
-Andrea Brivio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#182Humor(Jam)2.53
#269Theme(Jam)3.27
#298Graphics(Jam)3.09
#349Audio(Jam)2.59
#355Mood(Jam)2.68
#423Fun(Jam)2.44
#429Innovation(Jam)2.42
#452Overall(Jam)2.66

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37am

Fell in a hole and got stuck. Very nice use of contrasts and 3d. Minimalistic but still visually interesting.

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03am

Did I see another player in there? Is it a 'deathmatch' arena game?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45am

We're working on solve the major bugs, thanks for the feedback!

Ale27v says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Great Game! Try to beat my score https://www.dropbox.com/s/pn8avm4s5qahjtf/Schermata%202013-05-02%20alle%2014.04.58.png

May 2, 2013 @ 12:31pm

I like the game, i enjoy it

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Finally found the exit, but it took me some time. I scored 284, sound nice. Oh, and you've implement lots of different weapons, that's impressive. Love the head-mounted minigun!

dick_claus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:13pm

So many models for weapons. Great. Didn't understand how to kill AI, but it's fun to explore.

Almax27 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:23pm

I found the controls to be very twitchy, and movement was character relative rather than camera relative making navigation confusing if quick turns are made. Might just be me though lol. Otherwise nice idea and well executed, would love to see multiplayer! :P

May 2, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Ah yes, i like how it came out! We are still missing some effects and anims, tho it came along nicely!

@dick_claus, to kill enemies just hit left mouse botton :) Smaller weapons have smaller power, so its harder to kill them!

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:01pm

It looks cool.. but I have no clue what I am doing

dsoft20 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:21am

Nice entry, with a good amount of weapons :D

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Didn't work for me before, but kinda works now. (I see enemies and can fire) Still kinda clunky though. Wish I could see the other 70%

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Nice game, well done!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I wasn't really sure what my goal was, but I got 9 kills! :D Cool use of a minimalistic environment.

May 5, 2013 @ 7:14pm

A few things: 1. There wasn't really any goal or reason as to why things were happening 2. Enemies could move through walls for some reason 3. The fact that you couldn't look up or down made it really easy to forget that turning was accomplished with the mouse. Maybe rethink your control scheme, but otherwise interesting game!

May 6, 2013 @ 6:46am

thanks to all for the feedback!

I'm sorry that the goal was not well specified. I'm going to explain here our game:
We tryed not to focus on a minimal graphics but we've tryed to find out a way to create a minimal approch to the gameplay.
Your goal is to escape from this minamal, black and white world. On the way you might find something that don't belongs to this minimal world: the weapons (in fact these are all full of different colors). The enemies appear when you pick up a weapon and they try to kill you because you're trying to modify this minimal world (however some bugs allow the bots to show up in some cases).
For this reason you get the better score when you find the exit of the maze in a minimal way, trying to preserve the minimal world.

@RobProductions thanks for the 3rd point, it's a very good observation! I'll keep it in mind

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Love the cell shading! the characters are funny and the atmosphere is great!

atraxgames says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:40am

Original take on the theme, great work!

Norritt42 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:26pm

The game is not playable in current state on my computer. I can run around but I don't see any correlation with the shooting sounds and enemies dying. Some hit animation would have helped that i guess. Over all i like what i did see. The models where nice and the pickups was good looking.

Catman says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:12am

Loving the weapons!! I found the camera view point a bit too tight, you should maybe rise it a bit!

Bravi ragazzi :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]