April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

F*** This Job

by Casino Jack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Is this all there is? Day after day staring at a glowing rectangle?

No...You know what? F*** this job!


Instructions
------------
Press SPACE to jump
M to mute
ESCAPE to return to the menu
(Click on the SWF to focus)


Notes
-----
When I saw the theme I was tempted to skip it, but I'm bloody glad I decided to go for it in the end. I've learned a huge amount this weekend and I'm very proud with the end result.
-24 levels
-8 enemy types
-1,718 lines of code
-25 hours of development
-May have broken my brain


Update
------
Based on initial feedback I've added a tweak to the post-compo version which will only show a replay if you've died at least once on a level. It's very minor, but still, be sure to rate based on the original 'Web' link!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#15Fun4.02
#49Overall3.92
#160Humor3.06
#188Theme3.96
#219Graphics3.62
#300Mood3.20
#616Audio2.61
#713Innovation2.93

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03am

Very fun game. You can tell this is a very good technical achievement on your part, to design all the levels and their timing. Where you found the time to make all those levels, I do not know. But great job!

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10am

loved it

spot on on the theme, the gameplay is pure minimalism. graphics and presentation are good as well
well done :D

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37pm

love it!

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Nice little game, very fun. Not a fan of the action replays, bu everything else is great. Good job!

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Saw another submission with the same concept, this one is better!

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Great, well done! Although this kind of timed puzzles break my nerves (I feel I can't control them), being able to design those puzzles is quite amazing.

kreddor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Very fun game! The way it gets gradually more difficult is very well paced. I feel special for actually making it to the end without giving up :)

enzo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22pm

a minor thing, but: I feel like the action replay would look cooler if there was a delay between the runners! like a giant train of death

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Very nice, I love Super Meatboy-like replays :D

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Love it, most of the levels felt fair. I died a lot on the first jump of the final one, but thankfully it restarts instantly. Nice job, a lot of polish for such a short time.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24pm

I have to say this is one of the most impressive ones I've played so far. Replay system, really well designed levels, a lot of levels, and fits the theme super well. Congratulations!

Also, there was (probably) a secret door on the 2nd to last level? I pressed SPACE and skipped to the next by mistake so I couldn't see where it led...

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Action replay just killed me AHAHAH ! I really loved you game <3

LeafThief says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

I had lots of fun playing your game. It has so many levels! Amazing work! And very well balanced!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Very entertaining with nicely designed levels. Very impressive showing!

Destroyer40k says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

All nice and simple all according to theme. I don't see any point in the action replays though. Otherwise it's a great game with great amount of content for a 48h solo project.

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Really nice!

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

This was great. You have a solid one-button platformer here with simple but sufficient graphics and a whole lot of well-made levels. My favorite part is the discreteness of the different jump heights. It means that I can really get the timing on the jumps down a lot more effectively, and better replicate my previous attempt. This almost makes the game act like more of a puzzle than an action platformer, deciding when and how long to jump. And at the end, when you see all the previous attempts, you feel very rewarded. There was obviously a whole lot of work put into making good levels that are organized in a way that flows well for the player. This is one of my favorite games in the competition so far.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Was very amusing!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Very nice game.. reminds me a bit of my own... but yours is better ^^

goyal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

very nice. Great level design.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32am

Good job. Too much trial and error but otherwise well made.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Very fun game, loved the minimal control scheme, wish there was some music but the presentation makes up for that :)

Zccc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Very good!

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:20pm

So simple yet I HAD to finish it, nice work ! (Replays, as interesting as they can be, were more annoying than fun)

syawqy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23pm

really really really great!!!!
simple,nice and fun!!!

Galvesmash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Love it! Great game man!
action replay is soo cool!

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Really well done. :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Really great game! Not sure why people didn't like the action replays, think that's a great technical achievement as well as a really fun feature (especially in the later levels where you die more). Anyway, one of my favorites so far.

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:19pm

- Be careful with multiple plays of the same sound because it saturates.
- Great level design
- Very fun
- Not very original
- I liked the level of difficulty
- I can't see the minimalism on it.

I finished all the levels :D
5/5 on fun

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Really solid game. Good job! The replays were a bit annoying on early levels but later on they were quite satisfying.

AnTiCamPr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Awesome game! This game was very fun and actually quite complex for only having one button! I loved the Super Meat Boy style replays as well :D

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:46am

Fun game =)
Can't beat yet but keep trying!

GertJohnny says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:20am

I too saw the instant replays as more of an annoying extra step than anything else - maybe if they only showed up after > 5 failed attempts?

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:22am

Hey I saw your post on tig and had to play it when i read the concept :D and you really pulled it off! great level design

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Good idea that the character walks without being controled, so the player just has to jump. I really like the simultaneous replays of all the attempts. Good job !

Dir3kt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:34pm

You took a simple mechanic and you explored deeply. That's exactly what a minimalist game is for me. Congrats for this canabalt on steroid!! Had lot of fun playing through your game :)

nseward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I love one button games. This was no exception. Great mechanics. The replays pushed it over the top.

hnjslater says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:03am

*REALLY* good game, amazing what you can do with just one finger!

ming_tea says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:21am

Love it! This is very impressive for 48 hours.

evilseanbot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:00am

It was definitely a nice touch watching replays when lots of little dudes would explode in blood.

I thought the pacing was somewhat off: It took a long time not being challenging enough to becoming extremely challenging in the spikey backwards S shaped room

Tom 7 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:24am

This was good for a one-button game. The controls felt pretty tight and I liked the replay, though it was often hard to distinguish it from a level beginning, which sometimes meant I either jumped and skipped it, or died right away. :) I got pretty far but did grow tired of it -- a progress indicator of some sort would have been motivating! Good job!

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:44am

Great level design! The game really fits the theme and it's a lot of fun :D Nice touch on the instant replays too! Awesome job!

May 2, 2013 @ 3:45am

So many things done right here! I felt the levels ramped up quite nicely in difficulty. I always felt like I had complete control over my character and every time I died I knew exactly how long I had to jump to make succeed. There was so little delay between the point of death and the point of restarting that it felt very smooth and natural to just keep going until I beat all 24 levels and saw the sunset :). I was impressed with the sheer amount of content! A level select, action replays, and 24 well-designed and distinct levels. Awesome job!

-Rosypenguin
(This is a team account)

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:05am

That guy's workplace sure isn't OSHA compliant. No wonder he wants to quit. Also, it's a fun and beautifully drawn game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:09am

great game -- love the simplicity and the instant replay was a nice touch!

Nsmurf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:33am

Great game!
I could you were the same guy that made that butcher game last time, the sepia theme really works.
Now if only I could get to the other door in the second to last level...

May 2, 2013 @ 6:40am

Very fun game. I got stuck, probably near end, on the 1st level with 4 springs you had to jump on. Died too many times and gave up. Nice art, presentation and game elements. Auto-running platformer. I like it.

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:39am

Replays are fun when you die a lot and so more you die more you want to get the exit.

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Very good and polished, from level progression to simple, yet effective graphics. Great job! :)

AlbertoSM says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:49pm

While the theme is not really spot-on, the game is really well designed and fun! I kinda wonder how did you make things like the action replay stuff (very meat boy of you) :O
Awesome work!

Jeremias says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:51pm

This was fun! Very addictive gameplay and a lot of features and content. Good job! The watching of the replay outweighs some difficult levels :D

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Awesome job! Made it to the end somehow :D

May 2, 2013 @ 1:33pm

This game is very nice, nicely done, nice mood and change of rithm, and i love the playback action with all the trys you did (A lot of blood going there in one single run!!) Nicely done!

brookman32k says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:46pm

One button super meat boy... The first thing I thought while playing ;) I like the graphics style and the sfx suit the game well... A nice oldschol (chiptuny) soundtrack would have been cool. I like, how the blood is the only colored thing in the game... And the replay system is well made.

Angerus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Even if it is not the most original, I just love it! One button, One action, all about timing! Add to that a good level design and minimalist story... Really good job here sir!

_Rilem says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:24pm

This game is cool, it has some really hard levels. I managed to finish all of them though :)
I like the idea and the graphics fit this theme well.
I would have liked to enjoy the sunset at the end some more :D

HeXoT says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:10pm

I don¡t know what to say, this is brilliant!

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:39pm

One of the best games I played so far and trust me I played quite a lot. Superb!!! Loved it.

Misfit says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:40pm

F*** This game. :D Awesome and addictive. I loved it.

Zemmi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Got in to work, saw a game called "F*** this job" and had to play it. Glad I did, awesome level design and well-executed all around. Played through all the levels. It would be cool if the replay started each iteration one after the other so it was more of a stream of exploding flesh than a wall.

SonnyBone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:12pm

SO MUCH FUN!!!!! Your hard work paid off. Great job on cranking out so many wonderful levels in the time alloted. Killer game!

patrickward says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Well done! The animations were very well done. The character controls were responsive and intuitive. Audio was appropriate. Love the addition of the red blood against the otherwise monochrome screen. The only complaint I had was in regard to the replays, but it looks like you've already taken care of that post-comp. Great job!

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Great simple game. Would love to see something like this expanded and on my mobilephone :)

runonthespot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Great job. A lot of fun. I found the action replays every level a little annoying though :)

muton says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Splendid!

ilo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:23pm

It can't be easy to balance a game like this for Ludum Dare, but only the last level caused me any problems. That aside, the amount of content produced was impressive and the controls were satisfying. I especially liked how the size of the jump brought an additional layer of subtlety to an already elegant mechanic and enjoyed it from start to finish.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Very fun game, congrats :)

TravisChen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Love the one button controls. Would be a great mobile game.

May 2, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Great style and tech! Good level design but still frustrating by it's nature, I had to give up before the end. Also I think you should change the blood so it's black to stay within the same pallet.

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:27pm

I found the replay pretty funny, especially on the early levels where it was one jump. :D
Love the game, the style, the sound, the replays of the failures and the jumping action. Solid stuff and a sure contenter. :)

KunoNoOni says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:47pm

I like one button platformers. Really good use of theme. Very fun!

Pixelulsar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:29am

It was fun and went with the theme well. It also had good minimalistic graphics. I liked it.

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:38am

I loved it. Lots of fun.

Uhfgood says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:07am

Nice job, minimal interaction, and minimal graphics. And fun

Nanolotl says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:47am

Very nice level design. The Super Meat Boy style replays were a neat touch.

rogueNoodle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Very cool - the difficulty ramps up really well, and everything looks good. The replays became more fun in the later levels for sure, but I appreciate that you included the ability to skip them if desired. Great job!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Very enjoyable and stylish game.

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Yay! Great fun, and very frustrating :P

May 3, 2013 @ 9:51pm

This totally surprised me with how gripping it is. I'm now late for dinner. Gotta go! Great job!

May 3, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Awesome entry! Well in theme, entertaining for quite a longer while, sublime level design, all the glory! Some parts might have been more minimalistic (like, replacing the entire backstory with two words, simplifying the looks of the enemies etc). The replay feature also is hardly minimalistic, but damn worth it! Die a dozen times -> watch the replay -> hilarity occurs :D

Also, I admire the bonus mini-game. By "bonus mini-game" I mean, reading your source code, just to know how to get to the secret door in the second to last level, and what is behind it. This is how intrigued you got me! I won't spoil it to anyone here of course ;) (The code, by the way, is really really neat and clean. Mine is full of course words and redundancies because of last minute panic o,O )

sudorossy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Really good. Tons of levels and quite well done gameplay. Action replay feature is a nice touch and reminds me of Super Meat Boy

KevinZuhn says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:01pm

I ran into a bug in 'Underachiever' where the jumping enemy was suddenly jumping just a tad too late, and I would die repeatedly no matter how many times I restarted. I quit out to the menu and that somehow got it back in step.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:11am

Nice one-button platformer. And there are a lot of well-designed levels, too!
Action replay is a good feature. =)

QXD-me says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Nice job - simple but effective, what minimalism is all about.

I wasn't too crazy about the replays though. This isn't Super Meat Boy, with its really difficult levels where you die a lot and it's kinda cool to see all those deaths at once. Here it seemed a little unnecessary.

Cyboot says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Good game. It was really fun playing it.

At first I was a little confused why you added the replays because it was so easy in the first level, but it was fun to see all the figures die in the later levels :D

elektron says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Excellent game! The action replay was a nice touch.

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:27am

Super fun game! Spent more time on this game than almost all the others I've played. I liked the difficulty progression. Well done!

protensity says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:31am

Platforming distilled to one button - a design feat to say the last.

brxtr says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:42am

Nice execution of the idea, although the collision detection and jumping is not great. Also, it feels like the game tries to fuck me over as often as possible. The graphics are kind of cute, but the sound effects are annoying.

theGiallo says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Very nice game!

GranaDa says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Hard levels but extremelly compelling and fun. Played it a lot. Good job!

bvanschooten says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Not original, but very well executed and a lot of content. My only gripe is that some of the sounds are a little grating. I got stuck at level 20 or so, where the first jump has to be pixel perfect.

TenTonToon says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Awesome entry! The one-button mechanic is probably the best suited one for this compo's theme, and this is a game that takes it to the next level. And then it kicks the level's ass, and goes up two more levels, just in case. And that's thanks to an incredible level design.
And not just the level design, but even more difficult (and impressive): the level's flow. The fact that the levels are not only ingenious, but have a specific, water-proof tight timing, and that everything's been put together in just 48 hours is mind blowing, to say the least. Still trying to put the pieces of my brain back together.

It makes me feel ashamed I made a one-button game, too.

I hope this game wins the 48 hours compo. And even the Jam, what the heck! :) And gets to be President of the United States of America. God Bless Its Soul.

Congratulations! :)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Autoreplays are quite annoying, but the whole game is nice. Thank you!

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Mmmm...
I... Have... to... close... this... game...
addictive.. :D

fermcg says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Well done! pitfall for mobile!

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Timing the jumps thrilled me! Each level gradually tutored me on estimating jumps and novel enemies. Each level built on the techniques I had practiced before and required a little more precision. An interstitial tutoring level introduced a new concept. I played several levels (until Springfield)!

If you continue to develop this: a few times it felt like the controls responded a little unexpectedly, like I would hold down space and upon landing, jump again. I skipped all the action replays. I didn't understand the goal of the protagonist as it related to the level design.

Madball says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I liked the palette, though I didn`t find the game very interesting. There were just a couple of levels where I died many times, so replays felt unneeded.
(What`s the second door in 'Monty hall'? It`s not reachable, right??)

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Absolutely loved the graphical style and the overall concept was really fun and addictive.

KEFIR says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:19am

Oh! Really nice micro-super-meat-boy ;) Loved this! Really good job, perfect level design!

mildmojo says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:59am

This worked out really well! I like that there's a fair amount of jump height variability and some of the puzzles boil down to adjusting your timing by using different jump heights. Good variety of enemies, nicely-designed levels, and an awesome replay feature a la Super Meat Boy.

I'd like to see the replay screen use a delay or a different color scheme to identify itself. I found myself reacting to the replay as if it were the actual game, which meant I skipped replays I wanted to see. The sound lagged behind the action just a bit, too, but that was a minor distraction.

Nice work!

MathiO says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:42pm

What stuck out for me the most were the controls, they are extremely well implemented, as well as the level design, which is also very well done! Also I like the variety in enemy design.

SuperDisk says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:54am

Good one. Ending sucked, though.

Leoche says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Nice!! I loved it.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:12am

Game very polished and great realistation

mrspeaker says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:23am

My favourite game so far!

Puccini says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Very nice game!

Sebastian says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Very addictive, though it didn't take me long to ragequit!
Great level design.

igrowbeards says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:14am

Very fun with excellent level design. Nice work.

mcc says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:06am

This was definitely one of the best interpretations of the "one button game" concept I've ever seen!-- I loved how it felt like a reinterpretation of speedrun games, with the annoying parts (key-mashing) abstracted away and the parts that excite me (timing and strategizing) left in. Some of the levels did work better than others, I felt like the ones where there was a timing question around how many times to run back and forth in a trapped place (thankfully this only happened once I remember) felt tedious rather than fun, and it seemed like the level design lost its clockwork-beauty element on levels where it was possible to jump onto a ladder, thus messing up the timing of all elements after that. What felt beautiful about this when it worked best was that due to the restriction of choice, every single thing the player did was precisely what the game designer intended-- down to every keypress, every bit of timing. The ladders, by creating a critical half-second or so of fuzz in either direction, made it feel like I was no longer on that perfect clockwork path.

One more complaint of sorts, rot13 for spoilers: V nyfb zhfg nqzvg V jnf irel sehfgengrq jnfgvat znal yvirf gelvat gb uvg gung qbbe crbcyr xrrc zragvbavat, naq orvat sehfgengrq ol jung sryg yvxr n pbyyvfvba oht— v.r. vg YBBXRQ yvxr V fubhyq or noyr gb whfg whzc bire gur svefg qbbe, vs V whfg gvzrq vg evtug, ohg guvf jnf abg cbffvoyr va snpg. Gung sryg zvfyrnqvat engure guna "chmmyr-l".

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]