April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Colorobellum

by TheMightyComp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalism, contrary to popular belief, is not the absence of detail - rather, it is the pruning away of non-essential items, leaving the most important at the core experience. For this game, (given the moniker "Colorobellum" after a combination of the Latin words for "Color" and "War") I chose to focus on music as a core aspect rather than a simple backing detail. Colorobellum is an audiovisual experience - the player simply avoids colored projectiles thrown at him/her from both sides of the screen. The pace of the game pulses in harmony with the soundtrack, which was composed and recorded by myself without the use of MIDI, samples, etc. on a real (albeit digital) piano.

Move (by using the arrow keys) to avoid the projectiles flying at you. Your score ticks up by 10 points every 1/2 second, with an added multiplier for the longer you go without getting hit. Have fun!


Notes:
1) This game requires the XNA Framework 4.0 to run. If you already have it installed, feel free to download the non-installer version, which is 10 megabytes smaller.
2) Unfortunately, the way I implemented the timings of the projectiles requires the game to run at a fairly high framerate (50 FPS absolute minimum) for all the timings to work out. Almost all modern computers should be able to handle it, but be forewarned if you're testing on a toaster.
3) At the time of writing this, the LD website does not link the second thumbnail to its larger version -_-. I re-linked it as a fourth image for now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Audio3.76
#584Overall3.14
#700Fun2.82
#789Graphics2.73
#855Innovation2.73
#1022Theme3.00
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Last minute note - in case it wasn't obvious, you use the arrow keys to move the heroic triangle around. Have fun!

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Last minute last minute note - disregard the above post, I edited the description.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22am

nice colors! pretty re-playable too! nice job

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Nice artist statement.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51pm

I don't have windows :(

DevWouter says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Nice music, but it wasn't clear what the goal of the game was until I decided to get myself killed only to notice you were suppose to evade them

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:54pm

@rainblade - I'm working on a silverlight port with silversprite as of now. I've never used it before, but with luck, I can have a web version soon.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

good job man.. prob the most fun ive had so far.. i play piano aswell :) is that run off freq or midi file ?

Baknik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Very mesmerizing and fun. This could easily be expanded into a larger project.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

I did really like this! It's a cool idea, and I love music/rhythm games in general.

There didn't really seem to be any "downside" to getting hit, other than resetting your bonus. The game itself seems to keep going forever, so I'm not really sure what incentive I have to avoid the dots.

The notes also got way out of sync at the end for me. I have a pretty good computer, and it didn't suffer any framerate issues, but towards the end things were coming out a full second later than the song. It would be better if you could periodically check how far you are into the song and base your timings off of that.

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:27pm

@howieV - it's not a MIDI file - i plugged the output jack directly into my computers microphone jack and recorded myself in Garageband (you can tell because of the periodic mistakes :P)

@TheSambassador - the game does end after ~5 minutes, after which your score is displayed (and written to the high score file if it beats the previous one)

Beanalby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33pm

excellent game, excellent music.

Spiridios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40pm

It sounds and looks great. It was killer hard to avoid getting hit, since there wasn't much indication of where a projectile would come out and they were pretty fast. Seemed like there wasn't much downside to getting hit either.

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42pm

I really liked this game. =]

The song is great, too. =D

Ariake81 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Enjoyable riff on a minimalistic synesthesia/bullet hell game. I was a little confused as to whether to collect or avoid the 'bullets', there doesn't initially appear to be much difference. I'm not sure whether the bullet pattern was random or rythmic with the music but personally think it would benefit from more designed patterns. It does become hypnotic as you play and has good replayability, well done!!

yokcos700 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Probably the most fun I've had with a game this far in LD26. Great kudos to you.
Issues do include the lack of instruction in-game on whether to avoid or collect the projectiles, and the length I think needs to be shorter.
In a rare event, though, I will go back and play it again, so you've done a great job.

yokcos700 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Also, there should be some warning before the projectiles appear.

HelkeGames says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:41am

Nice game, great job :D

@SamPotasz says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:58pm

This was quite lovely :) I think the synching between the music and game worked out perfectly. My only "want" would be for something "bigger" to happen when you get hit.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]