April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Morning

by noddy2006 - Jam Entry

(Warning: potentially NSFW)

Controls:
---------
Action: Left Mouse
Switch action: Right Mouse
Rotate: Mouse to Left/Right Edge of Screen
Advance text: Left Mouse -or- Enter
Quit: Escape

=========

Tools Used:
-----------
Unity
MonoDevelop
Blender
Audacity
sfxr
Chronolapse
GitHub

=========

Morning is a story-driven, 3D point-and-click adventure. Guide the character through his morning routine so he can go to the job he hates.

I used shaders only (i.e. no textures) to create a minimal art style, which fits the theme nicely.

=========

This was my first attempt at developing a 3D game on my own. It is also my first proper game in Unity. What's more, it was my first attempt at proper 3D modelling with Blender. (I've used both Unity and Blender before, but in a very limited capacity). For this reason, I am super proud of what I managed to achieve in a short amount of time.

Unfortunately, the scope of this project was far too great for a 72-hour jam, and I ran out of time to develop much content. As it stands, the entire game can be completed in a couple of minutes - there's lots of text in the game for various events, so I'd recommend taking 10 minutes to explore all the objects in the room, especially in the various different game states.

I had a lot of great ideas for what I wanted this game to be, and I'm still keen on following through on them - I'll continue working on this game in the near future and turn it into a proper post-LD game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#91Graphics(Jam)3.90
#100Mood(Jam)3.54
#245Humor(Jam)2.26
#326Overall(Jam)2.97
#344Innovation(Jam)2.74
#353Audio(Jam)2.57
#355Theme(Jam)3.06
#376Fun(Jam)2.63

Comments

MartianWatts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:15am

I like your game, the graphics shaders adds the "feeling"

Aceria says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37am

A good start!

Top tip: when text is appearing, make the first mouse click show all of the line, not skip to the next line. I can read faster than it was appearing, so clicked to make it go faster, only to skip the end of the sentence!

Good to have some environmental audio in there.

Overall a good job. Nice one :)

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:38am

This was so immersive despite the small flaws and "linearity" in animations. I was completely devastated when the game ended so fast. I need more of this! :)

Please, keep it as quiet and calm as it is. You can make a really dramatic game from this.

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39am

Nice, love the concept. A little bit too short in my opinion.

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

I want more, add some sounds! and a mirror to let the player identify with the char :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:48am

Very good job on the graphics !

metaldemon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53am

awesome, This really set a mood. I think you should go ahead and make a bigger game out of this :D

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:59am

Really liked the immersion here. It's a shame it ends so soon, though I understand given the limitations. Are you considering turning this into a fully fledged game?

noddy2006 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:42am

Thanks for the comments everyone! :D

@Aceria: that's a very good point about the text boxes. I'll keep that in mind when I get back to working on it!

@manabreak: I'm sorry I hurt you so bad, but I'm stoked that you were immersed in it! I was planning on adding in very minimalistic background music, but I'll have to keep in mind that the quiet adds to the drama.

@juaxix: I didn't trust my skills modelling humans... in fact, this may or may not be the reason the game is in first-person ;).

I am definitely hoping to work on this game further - the last 72+ hours have left me a little burnt out, so I'll be taking a few days off first, but after that I'm planning on getting back into it! I had an idea for the core concept of the game right when I started development, but unfortunately I didn't get time to even begin to implement it. I don't want to give too much away (I want it to be a bit of a surprise), but I'm hoping it'll make the game a bit special :)

kratorspore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Nice beginning. Really enjoyed playing this. Wanted more.

noddy2006 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:19am

PSA: there was a bug with the Mac version which prevented it from launching. It should be fixed now :)

manabreak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:37am

noddy2006: http://www.makehuman.org there's a nice program for creating human models, if you need any. :) In my opinion, background music would not be that good, considering how much feeling the ceiling fan noise alone added. Are you going to keep a dev journal somewhere (tigsource forums etc.)? :)

noddy2006 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:27am

@manabreak: Cool! Thanks for the link, that looks pretty sweet. I'll see if I can work it in somehow :).

I wasn't planning on keeping a journal or anything, but I could post updates to my blog (samuelhindmarsh.wordpress.com) from time to time if enough people were interested! Regardless of whether I end up keeping a journal, I'll upload the latest build of the game each day I work on it to GitHub so you can always play the latest version if you are so inclined :P.

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:57am

Great atmosphere. I was impressed at the potential scope of this game as far as the development and story. Would have liked to see a bit more of the narrative.

Text speed is a bit slow in my opinion and it would have been nice to skip the "intro" to be able to explore the room like you recommend. I clicked on a few things but most of them weren't too interactive so I left to work but... the game ends :(

Boiúna says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:11am

WOW, the mood is incredible. And the graphics are very good too. I just think the game is a little shorty. Waiting patiently for the continuation.

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Sweet!

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Interesting, but There's not much gameplay. I want more!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Could you add a web-player based version?

SamoojaMies says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:56am

cool but short

shiprib says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:21am

I like the style and the mood! Great start, really leaves you hanging on for more.

agmcleod says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Game was decent, but i wish it had more!

Jellycakes says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:03am

Was really nice. I like this style of 3d point and click games. It was a shame it was so short, I was actually anticipating what happened next. Oh well, good job anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]