April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Day At Joe's

by Nehmulos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Even more minimalistic than one button games: a 0 button game.

Use the mouse to move around, follow the story, avoid hazards, sneak around guards.

I was very short on time at the end.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#372Humor2.53
#386Theme3.71
#560Innovation3.12
#674Overall3.06
#700Fun2.82
#767Mood2.67
#913Audio2.06
#1060Graphics2.35
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

BNeutral says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30am

Better than Frogger and Metal Gear combined.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21am

Kool raycasting. Dose labels.

Sestren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

I love just simply labeling everything what it is. That was a nice touch. Good use of the theme. I wish it could have been a little longer, though.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:41am

Nice idea, would be cool if you spruced it up with some sprites.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Good job on the narrative! Creeping around the corners was kind of frustrating sometimes because of getting pulled into the door at the end.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Great work! I loved this :)

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:26pm

I absolutely love this game. The style is perfect and the story funny. It's really too bad you weren't able to create more content.

Nehmulos says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Regarding the lack of content:
I really wanted to do more. I had a lot more levels planned on my paper notes, but went very short on time at the end.
The complete hotel level was basically completely shoehorned into the game in the last hour of the competition.

Thanks for playing everyone.

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Haha, great game! This really reminds me of the Commandos-series. Sneaking around is fun.

hypp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Nice one, a bit short perhaps?

Dotanukii says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:43pm

the raycasting is cool, but i didn't really know what was going on in terms of story. cool concept though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]