Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Break All The Pots!

by mostley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Minimalism describes [blahblahblah] is set out to [blahblahblah] eliminating all non-essential forms, features or concepts"

aaaah, so take Zelda and remove everything I don't remember anyways...done.

- - -

Controls:
Move - WASD or Arrow Keys
Move Faster - SHIFT
Attack - STRG or CLICK (if you got the sword)
Jump - SPACE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#127Humor3.22
#391Graphics3.27
#588Audio2.66
#637Fun2.90
#788Mood2.65
#914Overall2.83
#1006Innovation2.46
#1181Theme2.73

Comments

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14am

frustrating getting the sword at the beginning, but fun once you grab it :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15am

I like it, very original. Controls are awkward to start but quickly become easy :)

Cory Martin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06am

The controls are weird, but breaking those pots is so satisfying. Respect for the potatoes.

relexx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15am

Funny idea, good soundtrack, and I like the story. :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18am

Nice aesthetic. I would have put the instructions somewhere in the game or on the deploy page. Helpful definition.

mostley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10am

@Dark Acre Jack: done.

iambored2006 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Controls are really frustrating to get used to, and trying to get that sword almost got me to quit trying, until I saw the comments. Otherwise, it's a great game!

Rubi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:04pm

I love the way as show your game graphics (minecraft sword was great). I do not very well understood the control and limits world, try to create your own characters in your next ludum dare!

berjah says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

once you have the sword it's fun to use. good game! I'd keep playing if there were more levels.

3.14 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:06pm

I got it only after reading the instructions. Quite fun then, though short.

mostley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

@Rubi: I have created the characters myself. Even though I used existing game characters as an reference but that was intentional since it is part of the "story".

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Controls were a bit difficult to get used to at first but once i got a hang of them it was a good game. Got the sword and smashed all the pots.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45pm

This concept is awesome, and the graphics are great. The controls really took me by surprise and I needed a while to get my head around them. I could see something awesome come out of this idea. Great aesthetic.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:29pm

I remember playing the beta ! Good job !

headchant says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Weird controls, but it is funny

Kvisle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:48pm

I like that you included a Linux-version, but it doesn't seem to contain any executeables.

mostley says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:43pm

@kvisle: it contains an executable but you probably need to chmod +x it

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Nice game, i like the concept and the art! Well done :)

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Controls feel weird at first but it's easy to get used to. Getting the sword at first was a bit of a pain :) great concept and graphics!

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Awesome! Inspired by true events.

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:57pm

I remember the time where I roved around as Link and killed goombas... wait... :D

As the others mentioned, the controls are very strange and the invisible map border doesn't help here. But if you "got" it, it's a little, funny experience!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]