April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Down The Line

by Simon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Info
----------------------------------------------------------------
Down The Line empowers you to bring light to the sun !

Use the left mouse click to put down waypoints and create paths for the entities to take. Then, lead them to the sun.

Ranting
--------------------------------------------------------------
I hope you'll enjoy the game, I wanted to make more levels and iterate on the gameplay a bit more but I ran out of time and energy I guess. The game has been tested on Firefox and Chrome.

At first I wasn't so enthusiast about the theme but it led me to dig the question of minimalism, thus I mainly focused on the notion of optimization as I feel that it's at the heart of minimalism. So, even though the graphic design appears minimalist I actually wanted to make a game where the player is the one minimizing, optimizing the way to the sun.

Anyway, have fun and thank you in advance.

Post-compo version
--------------------------------------------------------------
Added a label to show how many waypoints (clicks) are left.
Showing/adding cursor when needed.

Tools
--------------------------------------------------------------
Programming with {FM.js(engine);}: https://github.com/simonchauvin/FMJSEngine
Graphics with Inkscape
Sounds with bfxr
And music with Circuli: http://www.earslap.com/projectslab/circuli

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#87Innovation3.86
#95Overall3.79
#224Fun3.39
#235Theme3.89
#247Mood3.28
#282Audio3.16
#547Graphics3.04
#1051Humor1.39

Comments

TheThirdOne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

I loved this game. It is one one of the best games i have played in a long time. It was very self-explanatory. Thank You for sharing this.

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:11am

As you said, need more iterations on gameplay with new LD (obstacles, gravity zone ...) Liked music !

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Very strong game, really sets your mind into puzzle mode. Very fun to play and keeps you wanting to beat every level. Good work gone on here.

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Oh, my! This on a mobile device is gold! Gotta try it on my tablet tonight. Fantastic overall look & feel!

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:59pm

I really like the concept.

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:59pm

The best game I have played this LD and the first 5 overall I have ever given. If you expanded on the gameplay and added gravity from other planets I would buy this!

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Pretty interesting, and certainly not too easy! The first 1-2 levels were a bit hard for me to figure what are the game limits (number of clicks vs. how many things you get to sun), but after that it was pretty interesting puzzling around.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Really impressed! I would have had no problem playing more levels. The only thing that irked me is that there was no number telling you how many points you could place, so I always had to start every level by testing that.

rwos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Great gameplay, though the blue dots could have been introduced a little earlier on. Also, an indicator of how many waypoints one has left would have been nice. But other than that it's really fun and tricky and interesting. (and then I accidentally hit reload and everything was lost, so I didn't finish it, sorry). It also has a nice mood to it - audio fits very good. Overall: Excellent!

Simon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Thanks a lot guys. I'm not sure whether it can be played on mobile or not. Theoretically yes, but no promises :)
Indeed, the remaining clicks (waypoints) should have been displayed somewhere on the screen. Lack of playtests and perspectives I guess.

Simon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Oh no it's me, sorry about that reload bug. I can't seem to reproduce it though... weird!

NicoJaujou says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Interesting and well executed, good job!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Ah thank fuck, finally a genuine original game! Really love it, great work. Agreed with zebebruin - this could be a mobile hit!

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

P.S. works perfectly on my tablet!

tomvert says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

Very nice game, easy to understand and good audio.

Simon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Thank you all for giving me your feedbacks and playing my game. It's really great to have that many enthusiastic comments!
Also, I have uploaded a new version with the clicks counter displayed in lieu of the mouse cursor :)

Skoggy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Very nice game. Puzzely and nice.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Just to clarify - I hit the browser's reload button (because I'm stupid like that), not the one in the game. The one in the game works fine.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Great, How many levels have you built ? (Currently, I'm stuck into the 2 colors and 3 lines level)

Simon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:58pm

This is the last one. There are 14 levels. I had more but a major bug prevented me from using them :(

Simon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:59pm

@rwos, ok thanks for clarifying!

McBeef says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Great game. Loved the mood & the level design.

Goodlookinguy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:40am

This game was great. The learning curve was right, the mood was right, and overall it was pretty fun to figure out ways to beat the stages. I could definitely see this game being turned into a larger game that'd I'd play. 'Cause the only drawback I could find is that there wasn't more.

Webravenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:56pm

great puzzle game with nice mood

Chronodrax says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Great game ! I love how such simple interaction is needed yet requires a lot of thinking. It took me quite a time to understand how to use the attraction. Once it's done the game becomes a bit easier, and yet each new level surprised me, requiring more attention to finish it. The end left me wanting for more levels; it seems that this gameplay can afford so much more of them.
Again, great job :)

JAH2488 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:37am

Great stuff.

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:25am

Woo! It's really a puzzling puzzle!
Pretty cool, simple yet brilliant.
Good job!

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Pretty cool!

Pixelulsar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I found it hard to figure out what to do at first, but it was a neat concept.

wine says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:51am

nice puzzle, well done!

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:30pm

One of the best of t his LD for sure!

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:33pm

One of the most innovative games I've played till now. This was amazing, and deserves 5 stars from my side. Would love to see you work on more levels for this game. The audio was magic as well! Very well done!

Mesene says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Nice entry, very solid. Well done :)

May 6, 2013 @ 3:20pm

I really enjoyed this. I'm thinking touchscreen for this at some point. I hope you are, too. :)

fakeyou says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:45am

awesome game! really nice mechanics and puzzles.

Would have liked to see how many boxes I could place though and I thought that the introduction of the blue squares was a little late into the game.

kill0u says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Nice concept :)

henrykun says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:15am

I really like art and sounds, well done. The idea is clever too, nice job! :)

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Bravo !! As the other said, a truly original game! Release this on mobiles and make some money now :)

Simon says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Again thank you for your feedbacks, it makes me so happy! I was not considering the idea of publishing this game at first but you are starting to convince me. It seems like Kongregate could be a good way of doing it, it accepts HTML5 and have a mobile portal. Anyway thank you for playing, liking, rating and commenting!

marnaouf says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Interesting concept and very fun game

DST says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:24am

Mechanics in this is plain awesome, and the graphics lend themselves well to the theme

someone says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:51pm

That was really cool. Good job.

shawn42 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:33am

Great puzzler. I agree w/ nintendoeats: I really wanted to know how many waypoints I get per level. Very addictive, nice work.

Puccini says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:47pm

I like it :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]