April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Panzers

by Canard Sauvage - Jam Entry

Panzers, a game about, well, tanks. The game has 4 levels. For the first 3 levels you just need to reach the upper right corner. The 4th level is a boss fight :) And: Potatoes!

For the theme: We tried a minimal tank-game with a minimum of colors (8 colors and the levels contain only 5) and no UI. I'm not sure if we really hit the theme, but the music is real 8-bit ;)

- Java, LibGDX (currently not working under Mac OS X with newest Java, it will most likely only work with Java 1.6 under Mac)
- The small version has some text-bugs, the scaling is not working correct.
- HTML5 may come tomorrow, I have some issues with the GWT project setup

Controls: WASD (and SPACE in Level 2,3 and 4)

Update: Added a native mac-port in the lower resolution with scrolling text.
- Win/Linux (Java-Jar-File, untouched) in 1536x768
- Low Resolution (1024x512)
- Mac-App (1024x512)

Update2: Added the HTML5-Port, had to change the way the text ist rendered.
- HTML5 (1536x768)
- HTML5_low (1024x512)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#40Humor(Jam)3.52
#129Fun(Jam)3.30
#174Overall(Jam)3.37
#239Audio(Jam)3.00
#256Mood(Jam)3.00
#287Graphics(Jam)3.13
#328Innovation(Jam)2.79
#405Theme(Jam)2.86
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

hgouveia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06am

like the retro style :D, very cool game

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12am

hahahahah awesome game... i also loved the fail screen xD.. FACE PALM! XD... also is kind of hard but very fun :D, nice work!

spliter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

I loved the humour in this game. And the music was really catchy (albeit got a bit repetitive after I died for the 8th time in the first level :p)

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:44am

Nice to play. Minimal graphics. Fun!

HelkeGames says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:39am

I love this game, especially the art and the retro style, well done :D

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:54am

awesome game and very addicting! but a little to hard. I always kept getting stuck on edges and walls. :(

Ithildin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:56am

Brilliant! Loads of style, funny and very fun to play!

oatsbarley says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:35pm

That font in the intro cutscene is super retro haha. Nice job overall!

Per says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Nice!
Intro screen with story and facepalms! :D
A little to difficult though, but otherwise a very good entry.

lasergans says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Had fun playing :) Well done!

CAukamp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:43pm

A bit hard, but i hav fun. I would prefer to play it with cursor keys but the fail screen ist great.

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Loved the fail screen. Great job!

syawqy says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:35pm

this is too hard for me...

dertom says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Super cool game! I loved the visuals, nice simple gameplay which turned out to be challenging. Btw, is that Jean Luc Picard who looks away ashamed whey you failed? :D
Great game, that fits perfectly the theme! Good job!

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Was a bit for my screen at first, good thing that I could zoom out and it worked alright =)

bvanschooten says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:04pm

A lot of content here, I like it. The player hitbox is way too large, which is bad for a bullet hell style game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]