April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chick

by alwaysinbeta - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Chick is a minimal platformer, inspired by the new born chicks we are looking after over LD weekend.

Source is here: https://github.com/ianmcgregor/games/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#247Humor2.76
#468Audio2.84
#669Graphics2.89
#759Fun2.76
#862Mood2.58
#929Overall2.82
#1022Theme3.00
#1188Innovation2.14

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Yayy, I love the sound effects!
I'm hoping those poor eggs endlessly falling into the abyss will be okay though :(

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Thanks. The sound effects are real recordings of the baby chicks we were looking after over the weekend :)

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

The first time I met the egg, I gave it some momentum as I jumped over it. It prompyly pushed me into the cliff as I came down. I could imagine the chick going "Not coooool brooooo!"

Little did I know this was just a premonition of things to come. I have laughed and cursed very hard at the cascading eggs down the stairway.

Cool game, made laugh!

terrivellmann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Cool, it ends when you get to the giant chick, right?

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Yup terrivellmann you should have got a win screen. Might be a bug...

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Controls were kinda tough but I thought it was adorable.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Like the chick, nice sound effects and physics.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Loved the sound effects and the frustrating inertia on landing haha. I was rolling the egg along like a circus act hoping for it to hatch. :(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33pm

For some reason I kept thinking I needed to jump down into the holes. Also the controls were slightly laggy, could be my net connection tho.

Squeka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25pm

I like how simple and how fit with the theme ^^.
Nice sound effects too :D.

miharbi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Really liked how the eggs were reused as obstacles.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:12pm

this was a very fun and adorable game. I liked the physics and how the obstacles were eggs. over all it was a very fun game.

Colapsydo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:47pm

the pew pew sound are quite nice.
I had some trouble with the bouncy reception but I finally help the chick to come back home.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:07pm

I killed so much chickens while playing haha... this must be a good game ;)

hgouveia says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Slow begining , but fun, i didn't like to much the jumping,maybe if you add some wings animation, has more senses those light gravity jumps :D

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:08pm

The falling eggs are damn hard! Nice chirp and graphics. Good job!

May 4, 2013 @ 7:42am

That is one adorable baby bird.

sudorossy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Too laggy to play properly, not sure if it was part of the style but made timing jumps basically impossible. I don't exactly have a bad computer either.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:45pm

@sudorossy That is strange to hear. I haven't seen any lag on old or new machines. It is so minimal after all..

galman says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Nice platformer :) Had fun running on those eggs :P The controls were a bit too laggy

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:08pm

It will be better with potatoes.

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Good fun! Loved the level with the big set of steps and all the eggs were coming down. Bit of an :arghh!: moment, but in a good way :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:10pm

very nice -- cool that you used real chick recordings -- nice job.

csanyk says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

The jumping mechanic was too frustrating. Bouncing + inertia made for a lot of unfair deaths. Audio is a +. Levels could have used a little more variety (I got through the 3rd level). What were the eggs for?

May 20, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Echo everything csanyk says above. Solid effort for 48 hours though. Keep adding to it. primary thing...work on the jump physics and air control. Too slow :) Apart from that, go go go

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]