April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zmore

by mrspeaker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

To make sense of the world of minimalist art, you're going to need a mighty big laser...

[HINT FOR THE NON-PATIENT: go left!]

Once you've had a play, be sure to check out this hilarious "live mashup" of Zmore that Ludum Darer JellyCakes did on his live stream! Genius! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aa-ggkJshUE

A lil' JavaScript on canvas. Tested in Firefox and Chrome - hopefully should work in IE10 too. maaayybe 9?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#127Innovation3.76
#149Audio3.43
#184Overall3.59
#196Mood3.38
#234Fun3.38
#283Graphics3.46
#339Theme3.76
#348Humor2.56

Comments

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14am

Good job! Very satisfying firing the laser everywhere :)

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46am

I liked the idea but found the game a bit too easy. Once you get the laser there's no challenge so It'd be interesting if the laser was harder to get. Well done!

KEFIR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47am

Very nice game! I finished it. Thought I missed some dangerous in invisible parts.
BTW have you played this game? :)http://www.kongregate.com/games/mofunzone/black-thing

gre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48am

This is really good mister :)
I want more hard core maps now!

TheSnide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38am

A little WTF moment at the beginning, but quite fine after you understood.

Levels do get somewhat evil later on :)

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

This is good. As others have said, it's a bit easy mode once you have the laser. You could solve this by either limiting the ammo of the laser, or shortening those sections so they serve more as a reward and don't get tedious.

Very nice mood and sound :) I'll be stealing this idea :P

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Great game. Love the audio and the design. This idea has potential... would love to see more levels and other "puzzles" involving the laser.

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:57pm

The audio was nice, and firing the laser to find a path was satisfying. Maybe for difficulty's sake the decals should remain for only a second or two? But it looks nice!

ttakamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

I think it was really good. I mean, I played until the end and really think your strong point is innovation. Congratz.

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Nice mood.
I'd like to play more :) (maybe the level design could be more challenging).

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

The piano vs synth is really effective! Nice work.

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Nice though a bit too easy I guess (and white). The white walls looked like a bug but I see it’s the same in your screenshot :).

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Really liked the graphics of the laser and shooting it was fun, but once you got it the levels seemed to lose a lot of their difficulty. Cool game though, nice job :)

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51pm

awesome weapon sound! got me hooked for quite a while!

AlanZucconi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

A very interesting concept! :-)
I really like the way you are highlighting the wall with your laser thing! :-)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Cool concept, it looks neat and it's pretty cool to scorch the landscape with my giant throbbing laser of death.
My biggest criticism would be that there is no real challenge to it. The game just switches from "frustrating" to "piss-easy" once you get the laser.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Whoa. The gameplay itself is not that special, but I love the effect the level uncovering is based on, down to the brutal sound it makes!

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Love the concept but also found it frustrating... conflicted? I know.

When I teleported I couldn't tell if I had completed a level or lost somehow. The sense of progressing (or regression...i'm still not sure) wasn't there to pull me along and keep me playing.

The music that played in response to what I did was brilliant. I look forward to reading your postmortem.

geckojsc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Really nice concept! I especially liked it when I noticed the unseen force, erasing away all my efforts to uncover the level. A shame it couldn't have been a bit longer or the concept explored more, but it's neat!

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Fun little game :) Would love to see the laser mechanic as part of a larger platformer.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51pm

That was a fun little experience! Quite refreshing for some reason.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

Good entry. Was a bit lost before getting the first gun;) The way you put the background/effect sounds is working nicely!

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:30am

Love the laser sound. This reminds me of the 3D game where you run around with a paintball gun and have to paint the world to see it. Definitely minimalist. I feel like some sort of antagonist might add a sense of urgency or challenge to the game, but perhaps that's not in the minimalist spirit?

Gravel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29am

Fire this laser with my headset at 100% has been the coolest thing I have done today.
I totally love the beginning of the game and your minimalist approach.
Really good!

Hegemege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:42am

That was a lot of fun! Nice sound effects, but the game is way too short :< Neat concept that should be extended! I think the maps were spot on - not too difficult or too easy. Nice one

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45am

Pros: The laser-eye-gun-thing, excellent!
Cons: Nothing really, perhaps something so do?

In the beginning i got the gun and then walked around thinking "oh, very minimalistic, but no graphics... annoying".. Then when i was aiming to close the windows i shot a red beam by accident. =)

Wan & Almudys says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41am

Really original game! Shooting the laser is so much fun, especially with these cool electronic sounds. Very inspiring.

The only thing I missed is some excuse to add some heavy beats on top of the laser bass :D Maybe an enemy shooting at you at a fixed interval?

Split82 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Really interesting!

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Very nice, reminds me of the Unfinished Swan

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Pretty cool game, interesting concept never seen before. Easy to play and rewarding when you get the laser! Good job!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

This game was really great! amazing mechanics.

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:37am

Liked the way the music advanced only when you jump, giving it a more minimalistic feeling. Nice game!

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Quite interesting take on the minimalism. and it's funny when the level started disappearing even after you shot it. Sound got annoying after a while.

Lidfrid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:37am

wow! At the beginning was a little hard but when take the laser for the first time it become easier.
Cool effects and sound with the weapon i really like it very much, and that synth sound is Awesome! Good job!

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Great ... hard to get the gun ... than fun to shoot everywhere

Spiridios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Got slow in Firefox once the things that eat the level came into play. Eventually couldn't play because it got too unresponsive (yes, I know, use a less sucky browser)

May 5, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Very nice!

BlackDogg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Very nice game ! No real challenge but it doesn't matter to me. Playing inside of that big canvas and revealing the world is really satisfying and enjoyable, well done.

3.14 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Moment of discovery of the laser - brilliant. It seems like a delicate, poetic game and then you get the eye laser. DUMMMMMMM! Great.

martijn says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Fun, but a bit short

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:08pm

I want more.
It reminds me of "Unfinished Swan" but in 2D, well done

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:51pm

This is baller. The laser eyes sound effect is amazing. Plays well too.

cwilloughby says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:51am

Super awesome. I love the concept of uncovering the level like this. Also the art + audio tied together felt great. Nice work!

alcazar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:57am

Il est juste génial votre jeu :)

Beldarak says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Nice ambiance !

May 9, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Etra-points for allowing Azerty-layouts :D

DkCub23 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:12am

Took me a second to realize what was going on, but after I found out, I really liked it! Great idea, and it's fun.

Jonapulse says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Awesome. The first moment when you get the laser is especially fantastic--you didn't expect it to happen, it's really cool, the sound is good and surprising. I'm less interested with the game when it wants me to find the gun again.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]