April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

L'Hypnose

by Z.B.G.E. - Jam Entry

* 19/09/2014: Unfortunately, the original game made during the Jam does not work anymore in modern browsers. This version is mostly the same, except for some bugfixes and polish.


Tested on Chrome and Firefox.
Reported not to work on Opera.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#20Mood(Jam)4.02
#68Theme(Jam)3.91
#75Graphics(Jam)4.02
#95Innovation(Jam)3.53
#152Overall(Jam)3.45
#328Fun(Jam)2.75
#407Humor(Jam)1.47
#432Audio(Jam)1.80

Comments

Mousseto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:58am

Interesting game, i did not understand why you precise that there is no sound, is there a meaning for it? Graphics sue to your game anyway, good job.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:03am

Such a beautiful game.

It touches me deeply because I have a friend that suffers from anxiety and sleep issues. Very moving..

~

sick says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07am

Simple mechanics but great art style and very good and original design, I liked it.

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14am

About the audio: Ok, so I put headphones on, then the instructions says there's no audio. Yet I still feel strangely affected by the silence. Quite hypnotic.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:03am

Love the style! The tiiiiniest bit of audio would have made this, i reckon

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:46am

The graphics worked really well and I liked the fact you had no audio but asked for headphones - very atmospheric. Good job!

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:50am

Interesting entry.
I found a bug tought, if you play the game with Opera web browser the keyboard input doesn't work

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:57am

Beautiful game. Small interactive book.

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05pm

One of the more artistic games I've played so far, I loved the general atmosphere and the dream elements. Short but sweet.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Wow, what a great ...eh ...thing! I love the subtle details everywhere - the slight character movements, the "headphones recommended" notice... Great work!

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Doesnt load anything after I click play game.
:(

Linux + chrome browser.. something wrong?

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Interesting game. I enjoyed playing through it. I like the simple but powerful art style.

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Captivating! Thanks for the artistic approach. Some sound wouldn't hurt, I guess, but the silent headphones trick is very cool too )

miharbi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Beautiful game with beautiful art with a beautiful and simple message, which to me was about conquering your fears and moving on.

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Brilliant work!

Mikel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Very artistic

ovenchips says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I really loved this. To me, this is what browser gaming is all about - a platform to allow people to really get creative and do something different. It's like interactive art. Congratulations.

Qaterknan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Great game, the mood is just awesome! And it is really interesting to play without sounds to!

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:53pm

The art style was really awesome. The reset button was a good call. Had to retry a couple of times. Good work.

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:57pm

It's very great to take the risk of a story telling game in a such small amount of time. Really enjoyed the mood, the story, the graphics and the puzzle (very simple but poetic and oniric). Definitely a wonderful experience! (I would love to hear some sounds on it).

May 1, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I LOVE THE Graphics! good job

kyyninen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Brilliant! Nice puzzles, good art direction, what's not to like?

Rafael Sales says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Good game. More Art than game, actually :)

Rafael Sales says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:49pm

I said that because of your sound approach. The silence express more than any music. Very interesting ;)

mortl8324 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:33pm

I have to admit, that went over my head. Too artsy for my tiny scientific brain to understand.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:43am

That was deep.

Love the art.

Yakka says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:32am

There is a very strong mood in this game. Disturbing, but I loved it!

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Beautiful game.

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Nice drawings. A point and click adventure with a difference.

May 6, 2013 @ 3:33pm

As much surrealism as minimalism, but quite an interesting experience.

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Very interesting game, and one is for sure, if you would have decided to add some ambient sound or such, the atmosphere could have been even better. I loved the visuals...

Ninja Doggy says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:12am

Nice concept.Though I didn't quite understand the point or
ending. 7/10

Adrian says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Interesting indeed. I could not play on Firefox Nightly, the controls would not work.

The gameplay is quite weird, it is not always obvious what the player should do. And most of all, I regret that there are no basic movement animations for the player and other two-legs characters.

The graphics are good, the theme is well respected, and the game is deep. And it's HTML5! (Crafty \o/)

meszka says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Very nice atmosphere.

Xanjos says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Loved the hand-drawn graphics and despite the lack of sound, the story was actually quite interesting.

May 17, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Nice mood, playing in silence was somehow gruesome, but fitting... Still wonder why you recomment headphones, though... :)

Sylvain says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Good atmosphere. What tools have you use to make this game?

Wan & Almudys says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 11:01am

Thanks everyone for your feedback!

@Sylvain

- Graphics: Hand-drawn art & Photoshop
- Code: CraftyJS (HTML5 framework) & Notepad++

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]