April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blitz's Minimalistic Runner

by matthewj234 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Complete Ludum dare game. Wow... That was tough!

Blitz is being bullied by Thresh, aparantly he is over weight! But blitz is lazy, so he is going to do the minimum amount of exercise on an infinite treadmill as possible, so he will only jump!

Controls:
Space - Jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#714Humor2.00
#769Theme3.32
#898Fun2.61
#1194Overall2.46
#1210Mood1.95
#1284Graphics1.93
#1316Coolness47%
#1324Innovation1.70

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Fun little game! It was fun playing it for a while but this was not an innovation. Very good for a first Ludum Dare game. Next time you should spend more time on art and audio(which of there was none)!

matthewj234 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Thanks Patrick! The lack of audio was due to lack of time, and I have plans for the graphics :P As for the innovation, I'll just have to try again!

Beanalby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:03am

My only complaint is you can't see very far in advanced given how fast you're going. It's easy to commit to a trajectory with jumps and end up screwed by a platform configuration you couldn't see at the time.

Fully agree on trying again - this was my 4th and it gets easier every time.

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06am

Good first entry! They get easier as you practice.

I think you might increase the "gravity force" to bring the guy down faster. I found I was constantly over jumping the platforms. Also, I'm not sure if you intended to have a "double jump" but it worked out that it did.

This definitely fit the theme. The mechanic has potential.

matthewj234 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27am

@Beanalby 4th LD, 1st completion ;)

@Jim Haslett Ill have a look at the gravity, and yes the double jump was intended to protect users from the hidden platforms :P I will play around a bit more with the mechanic :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Building good one-buttons games is harder than it sounds. Good work.

phi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:14am

Turned out quite nice! You can say what you want, I still like your drawings. ;)

Trench says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:39pm

I found the double jump annoying, make it so when you press space twice it double jumps not after holding the space bar down for long enough. The timer at the start is annoying, fixing those and making some interesting graphics could of made this game a whole lot better! Well done though!

matthewj234 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:14pm

@Trench The double jump requires you to have released the space bar :) As for the timer, as I didnt make a menu, it was my best option, and the graphics I am working on :) I should have a post comp version out shortly, as I have continued development :)

SuperDisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:35pm

The starting timer was kind of long. The jump physics were a bit weird as well, but still enjoyable.

davidpeter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:18am

Congrats on finishing :) It will get easier, but this is a great start. Definitely better than my first. (I didn't even finish!)

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Fun game, very minimalist! Well done :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]