April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pieces

by wolfadex - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Keyboard Controls:
AD or Arrow Keys to roll.
Space to jump.
K or Left Ctrl to roll faster/jump higher.

Xbox Controller Controls:
Left stick to roll.
A to jump.
X to roll faster/jump higher.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#311Graphics3.40
#667Fun2.85
#782Mood2.66
#848Overall2.90
#889Audio2.11
#904Innovation2.65
#933Theme3.13
#984Humor1.63

Comments

lody says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

I really like the style of this.

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20pm

I like the construction yard-y feel of this game. With a few more sounds and other special effects it could have a nice atmosphere.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Nicely original movement scheme. Like the art style quite a bit too. Only thing that saddened me was that level design degraded to mostly "dodge this thing" pretty quick.

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41pm

nice

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

One of the funnest games i've played so far! I loved that the platformer is more physically accurate as that you can't accelerate mid-air and that speeding up takes some time. Also, there's just so much to explore.

The levels were a little piston-heavy and it would have helped to distinguish the different map sections a little more, maybe by color coding?

All in all, a great game, will play again!

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

pretty slick controls, good level design (and i'm happy you integrated checkpoints ^^), and original minimalist graphics. Well done !

quill18 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

I like your visual style -- I might steal this "girder" idea in the future!

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:15am

Well, well well! It's nice to play some accurate physics once in a while, huh?
Great concept, really well aligned with the theme, nice level design, very intuitive. I just missed a nice background music and more sound effects, but very nice overall!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19am

good stuff man.. love the gfx :) btw mine was just a java applet..should run on anything with java installed i would of thought :(

wolfadex says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49am

@Frib and @quill18, the art style is based off of Sol LeWitt's minimalism art, but thank you for the complements.

ecool377 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09am

Cool concept!

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

Very awesome style, controls got slippery at some points (mostly tight spaces), making it hard to progress. Overall great experience.

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:41pm

i really enjoyed the lack of air control => i had to think before i jumped and rolled through the levels, good job!

DST says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Very cool style and mechanics!

ChuiGum says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Awesome, very cool.

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:34am

pretty well balanced. Even someone like me who's really bad at jump'n'runs was able to finish the game. :)

Jiyko says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:02pm

You game is like a funner version of mine, great stuff!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]