April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniSim

by jolle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a minimalistic city sim game, where you can only build roads or demolish stuff.

There's no specific goal (it is a sim game, after all). Just play around until you're happy. Maybe try get a large population, or many skyscrapers.

Left click to build road.
Right click to demolish.
Hold middle to pan.
Keys 1-8 changes view.

City growth might not always behave as you would expect. Changing view might help.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#68Overall3.86
#82Theme4.13
#109Fun3.61
#151Graphics3.77
#211Innovation3.59
#282Mood3.22
#802Humor1.90

Comments

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55am

the map is a little bit small :D, just kidding, looks great

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

Wow super ambitious. I like it, I filled in the whole map, I just wish there were more fluctuations, I liked watching the buildings grow and migrate, but now my game has stabalized. Either way, awesome entry. Looks magnificent.

Kimau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Hypnotic just playing with the simulation and finding ways to change things up. Really loved it.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Awesome for 48 hours!

SeruK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

What really sold it for me was how all of a sudden, after just drawing some roads, I had a city with an industrial zone. Just incredibly cool for such a tiny little game.

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Neat sim program. I'd like to see you do a post-LD version of it.

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

How did you... and the... and even... in the... and only in 48... but... and... I'm speechless! And you're awesome!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Isn't it strange how such a "simple" idea can grow legs and just take over your brain? There's really nothing going on when you first look at this game, but it quickly sneaks up and kicks you in the ass. I really love what's going on under the hood, so to speak. Great use of theme. Nice job!

DalsGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Fooled around with it, liked it a lot. Could need some more depth thought but it fitted the theme well.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Really liked it. It felt less like a game and more like a city-painting toy, which was awesome. Kind of like SimCity on zen mode.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Opened up some simcity music in youtube and forgot the time. Very fun game. I played a lot of games today, but I think this is the one I spent the most time on, just because it is so damn fun.

I think I am going to play this game a little longer

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I don't know how gamey this is but I had a lot of fun playing with this. This was a really impressive thing to make in this amount of time. I'm having fun seeing what develops in the silly designs I'm making. It would be neat to see more with this kind of thing.

dick_claus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15pm

I'd love to see cars going around the city.
Also the disasters would be fun.

Markavian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Couldn't stop playing this, so simple, but very rewarding.

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Cool

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Wow, amazing !

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Really compelling entry on the minimalism theme. Felt bad wrecking so many houses expanding my roads though. Great work!

Spanfile says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29pm

This is better than SimCity 5!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Wow 5000+ residents, it was nice playing this little toybox, thank you :)

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:35pm

That was really cool! I ended up drawing silly pictures with the roads... Trying to trace a Bulbasaur sprite got me up to about 5,000 people, which was nifty.

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Wow. Simply amazing! Smooth graphics and - strangely enough - addictive gameplay. This one should have some music and - minimalistic - sounds. Otherwise great contribution. Good job!

Jonny D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Very good. The sim got frustrated when I scattered single road spots. When I deleted them, the city started growing again in unrelated places.

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:07pm

The screenshots look awesome. Unfortunately I'm on a Mac :(

psychomonster says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Better then the real new SimCity :D Really enjoyed it to play this game

thedaian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:57am

Overall, a better city building game than the recent Sim City 2013. Though it only becomes apparent once you look at the other views and realise there's more to everything than you first think.

naughtyloose says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:55am

cool little game. The only thing thats bothering me is the middle mouse button (didn't work on my mouse) and that there isn't much to do after a while.

Nonameghost says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Tons of fun. Very ambitious for a 48 hour game. I had a lot of fun experimenting, I think I'll be late for work now because I was so embedded in this game. Great job!

kyyninen says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:40pm

This was surprisingly fun! It was quite impressive seeing small neighborhoods turning into high-rises when you build a bypass through them to help congested main roads. Seeing some spots becoming industrial zones and some shopping centers almost organically was amusing and perplexing! I think I'll be playing with this for a long time.

Lerc says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:26pm

It is the small hours of the morning. I'm not sure how that happened. I have a population of 11127.

BenW says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:27am

Neat little toy, I liked watching the different layers as the city changed. It seemed odd to me that all the industrial would cluster in the middle with the commercial to the outside of it.

May 11, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Downloaded this game a week ago though tried it out first now as of time scheduling issues. A extremely great game which I loved to play, holding my thumbs for you to win! Loved the use of 3D and the innovative automatic growth! Couldn't figure out how to zoom out, scrolling didn't work for me?

jolle says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Sorry oskardevelopment, there's no zooming.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:50am

it would be better if you would force me to logon before playing -- nice job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]