April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Everybody Hates the Potatoes in the Magic Kingdom

by kulhajs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I've been working on this game for approximately 10 hours during the weekend, 80% of the game was finished after first day (roughly 7 hours of coding). Second day I made just sound effects and some polishing. I planned to make web and Linux version as well but had no luck with tools second day when nothing worked. I also created time lapses of both days.

I was also streaming all 7 hours of first day and few hours second day, videos are available on my twitch.tv/kulhajs.

If game doesn't run on your PC, please let me know on my email which is kulhajss@gmail.com

Read readme.txt first!

Software used:
Visual Studio 2012
Pain.NET
BFXR
Notepad++
Open Broadcaster
Chronolapse
Virtual Dub
videogamena.me

Controls:
Arrow keys to move - simple as that!
Enter and Backspace for menu navigating

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#802Humor1.90
#817Fun2.70
#822Audio2.24
#994Theme3.05
#1044Innovation2.40
#1047Graphics2.37
#1074Overall2.65
#1140Mood2.18

Comments

puttputt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Neat game. Quite challenging in the later levels!

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26pm

This is an interesting idea, but I ended up trying to lure the shots on some of the levels without much success. Not being able to move diagonally is a real problem, where the problem is the lack of precision you need to get the shots to hit the enemies. Or did I miss some other control besides moving?

Maybe if the enemy shots were bigger, or a powerup to allow you to fire back or something. I just ended up walking back and forth to no avail.

PapaGrimbles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Cool game. It was a little difficult to see the pickups that spawn on top of the enemies.

kulhajs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Zairon - speaking of movement, I was thinking about 360° movement, but decided to let it be like this, I agree it's pretty difficult and that difficulty is 'escalating quickly' but that's how I like it!
Oh and no, you didn't miss anything, movement is the only action the player can perform in this game :)

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

A fun little bullet-hell-ish game. Moving diagonally might've been valuable to the overall feel of the game. Was there any way to fight back?

kulhajs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

@Meep, nope, no way to fight back! the only thing you can do is to find some safe place and wait till all the potatoes disappear! As I mentioned above, I was thinking about the movement, but this was my first idea and eventually I decided to keep it like that :)

Glad you liked it! ;)

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Diagonal movement would have been useful. The difficulty curve also seemed pretty steep, but that's not always a bad thing. Oh, and some instructions telling you to grab items from the enemies would have been useful - I spent a little while just circling one enemy, wondering if something was going to happen. But yeah, good game!

Hertzila says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

A pretty basic game, but kinda fun.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Can't play, don't have windows :(

eShredder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Oh lordy lord, this was a hard game.
The game stays true to the theme minimalism, and so does the graphics.

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:03pm

I also had only 10 hours to work on mine. It's a really fun game i thought.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:25am

Not bad. The gameplay (despite the lack of diagonal movement, which I think would make it even better) is nice and fluent. Dodging those bullets is quite rewarding.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:55pm

A little odd, but definitely on theme.

infernet89 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Simple but well executed game. Totally need diagonal movement and a control on where pickups spawn, because it's often happens that they spawn under enemies (or is it intended?)

kulhajs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:09pm

@infernet89 well, how do describe it? bug turned to feature probably, I just decided to keep it like that, not probably the best idea after all, and speaking of movement I'm actually the only one who played it with diagonal movement and personally I prefer this 4-way only in this case. It is little harder than it is with diagonal movement, but we ain't making call of duty are we? Anyway, thanks a lot for your comment ;)

Robrock55 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:48am

The difficulty is good, it's just a little bit frustrating for the diagonals, but I had fun playing this game !

AlexFili says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:02pm

It was pretty fun but it wasn't clear enough which things you're meant to pick up and what you're meant to run away from

lorancou says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:52am

I don't really get it, I don't know what I'm supposed to do. I also miss the ability to move diagonally.

cakemonitor says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:31pm

very confusing game, but good job putting an entry together in such a short time

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]