April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Colosseum

by Doublecaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Colosseum is simple 2D game. Your target is to defeat all the enemies and get enough credits to unlock new gladiators. Every so often your movement and weapon skill will be randomized.

Controls: WASD to move and Arrow keys to use weapon. Select with space and pause/back is esc.

If the game doesn't work try updating your Java to Java 7.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#383Fun3.17
#580Humor2.19
#630Innovation3.03
#713Theme3.38
#721Overall3.00
#906Audio2.09
#972Mood2.44
#1080Graphics2.32

Comments

henrykun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Nice game!, cool idea, it get harder with the time :) but that's good.

Neten says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:43am

I like the randomization and upgrade systems.

Super Hamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:44am

It gives an error saying unsupportedclassexception. But I code in Java as well so high-five!

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Hardcore and awesome. I like the randomness of the game and I like.... I like the whole game guy, nice work.

Super Hamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Yeah, I think I have Java 6 so I'll update it this weekend and play it.

henrykun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Sorry for the resolution thing, could you please take a look at this version: http://107.22.216.21/zin/index2.html

henrykun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:55pm

And sorry for using your comments for that

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:31pm

i did't understand much(

shohs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Pretty cool game! I liked the randomization, it kept things different (and difficult). It would have been cool if there were more weapons and a sound when you got hit, but besides that, good job.

Prudiiarca says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:06pm

You did well! Your idea of random movement and weapons is really cool. As far as i played everything went smooth (after downloading java 7).

PS: would you (or someone else) be so kind to explain, how i can link a html file placed in dropbox to get direct access (dl.dropboxuserconent) instead of creating a download link?

Aceria says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:00am

Aargh... Flipped controls melt my brain!

That was fun! Good job :)

Blinked says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:23am

Very nice. Pretty hard game, but good :)

Covenant says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:13am

Very cool idea! Good job!

Yakka says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:25am

Many good ideas, especially the randomization of the deplacement mode. Not enough feedbacks when loosing HP.

HelkeGames says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:39am

Nice game, well done!

delfino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:07pm

This was awesome! Had a lot of fun, still need to get 500 credits to get the last guy, can't wait to see who it is. (I really want to be a purple circles, *fingers crossed*)

WiseGAMER says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Nice game! I really loved how simple and fun it is.

Ernyz says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:12pm

"Blue is a legendary gladiator. He has never fought a match." that made me laugh :D idea is great, i like games with rpg elements and when things are random :)

May 8, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Ehhhh... what did I just play...?!? :)

Kvisle says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:19pm

This is incredibly hard.

May 12, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Interesting randomization system, it was fun to play :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]