April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

D.RE.U

by Pitzik4 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A platformer all taking place in one screen's worth of space with portals and level modification. Hence, a lot made from a little, which is the idea of minimalism.

It reminds me a bit of a poor-graphics version of Nitrome's Test Subject Blue and sort of a storyline like Portal's.

It has a level editor, the button to go there is at the bottom-left of the title screen.

I may expand this description, later, but right now there's no time. I spent most of submission hour on bugfixes. (That is allowed, by the way.)

Oh, yeah, maybe I should mention that I used FlashDevelop, Flixel, GIMP, SFXR, Autotracker-bu, Audacity, and DAME. I hope I didn't forget anything.

Important thing to know: The tutorial guy lies a lot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#100Humor3.40
#288Fun3.29
#336Innovation3.41
#457Overall3.26
#559Theme3.53
#580Audio2.67
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

Baknik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Good humor and well designed levels. The level editor is a nice touch too.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11am

Cool, but confusing, but i think that was the idea :D

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:17am

Excellent. This was a brilliant way to deal with the minimalist concept. One level that shifts whenever you go through the 'portals' was just a superb idea - was a pleasure to see this one.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19am

Very Nice game. Potato Cake... Hehe :P

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:24am

I played this for quite awhile. Good game!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:31am

Very nice, I definitely had a couple of those "Aha" moments when I discovered things about the puzzle mechanics.

sleepyhammer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52am

Minimalism makes for maximal fun. Playing this game reminded me of some stuff we played back in the 80s. But the sound is much better than ^G terminal beeps.

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Really rad concept! I loved the portal-style puzzles, the shifting levels, going back to the start and continuing left, great job!

Alink says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Very funny with some good puzzles. Valve should hire you for Portal 3 ;)

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Nice game, i like the concept!

Spiridios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:24am

Nice mechanic, good dialog, fun to play. The "ending" seemed a bit anticlimactic, but mainly because being taunted throughout the game, I don't trust that what I found really was the ending. :P

Pitzik4 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Spiridios: That was the ending, and yes, it is very anticlimactic. I was just getting really tired of making levels at that point. I wish I was better at level designing, then I probably could have made an actual false ending, which would have been cool.

Pitzik4 says ...
May 28, 2013 @ 7:42am

I forgot to rate games again! I always do that! Gah.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]