April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ludum Amare

by Jaime von Schwarzburg - Jam Entry

After playing Dark Souls, I was struck by two things: the importance of timing, and my own incompetence. LVDVM AMARE is my attempt to distill that core experience.

A, W, D, and SPACE all do something.

Pictures by Sophie Hollitt & Colin Capurso
Sounds by Joshua Douglass-Molloy (you can play his compo entry here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=7157)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#186Humor(Jam)2.50
#313Graphics(Jam)3.00
#386Mood(Jam)2.58
#412Audio(Jam)2.06
#422Innovation(Jam)2.45
#481Overall(Jam)2.55
#511Fun(Jam)2.10
#559Theme(Jam)1.95
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

Skulls says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14am

Took me a little while to get used to the controls. I don't want to spoil anything in case this confusion was intentional but after you get over the high learning curve it's a simple game about using his 'dodge'

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Interesting concept and graphics. I think the controls need some improvement to allow a better game experience.

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:10am

Cool idea. The controls were really difficult to use. I liked the animations and atmosphere in this game.

May 1, 2013 @ 9:46am

Thanks for the feedback. I am working on a post-jam version with improved controls

Adipson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:08pm

cool idea and very fun

May 2, 2013 @ 6:22am

Can't leave a rating on this one because I don't have a windows machine.

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:35am

Once I got a handle on the controls, the game became easier, but then I got stuck on the level with the bat. Nothing worked at that point.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:25am

I dont fun so much, crazy controls, like graphics.

Finn Stokes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:20am

Really nice use of a single simple mechanic to drive the whole game. As others have said, the controls were confusing. I think they could just have done with some explanation.

donan says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:21am

Hard controls :/ but the idea, graphics and sounds are really cool :)

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Nice game, i like the concept and the art! Well done :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:18pm

I showed you so much... tenderness.

kibertoad says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:37pm

weirdly good thing.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]