April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Your Efforts are in Vain

by BarrensZeppelin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: WASD
** If you're having difficulties seeing the player on the screen, try increasing Brightness/Contrast on your monitor. **

This is the second time I enter the Ludum Dare Compo, and I present you with an Endless Fall game: "Your Efforts are in Vain"!

The game is about a downhearted personality - in the shape of a box -, which in the heat of the moment discovers a bitter realization about life.

I usually don't make 'serious' games, and the game turned out in quite a pretentious fashion, that's why I have added a score-attack mode with less BS and online leaderboards for good measure, so you can compete with strangers online!

I put a lot of effort into making sure the game had a -clean- finish, but as the compo came to an end and I rushed the Score Attack-specific features, I had to throw some perfection out of the window, and thus some text elements remain quite awful.

Alright, that sums up the game, I hope you enjoy playing it!
~BarrensZeppelin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#264Audio3.19
#584Mood2.84
#655Humor2.09
#840Graphics2.67
#844Innovation2.75
#897Overall2.85
#922Fun2.59
#1022Theme3.00

Comments

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:38am

Great soundtrack and fun gameplay. The only gripe I had were the graphics; the background really makes the game less legible.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14am

After getting a handle on the controls it got pretty fun, but my eyes hurt trying to see a black square on a mostly black background. Really cool and weird idea for a game, I've never played anything like it!

TheFuntastic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

I actually enjoyed the setup, but i'll be honest I had a bit of difficulty figuring out the game. Once there were lots of triangles it all felt a bit random. Not sure what caused me to lose health either...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Haha, I always seem to forget, that the people that play the game aren't the ones who designed it. (;

The game is meant to be unfair. At first it seems like you are in control of how well you do, you can dodge the first couple of squares quite easily, but as the game progresses and it gets more and more hectic, and no matter how hard you try, you will always lose. Thus, your efforts are in vain.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Can't play, don't have windows :(

bernhard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25am

Really liked the audio-visual presentation. Story, online score tracking and everything, unbelievable for 48 hours, well done!
Also bonus for real game development with C++ :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:35am

The art is really nice and the setup was pretty cool. I think that the setup might have been a bit stronger if the word count was cut down. It would have kept a bit more with the theme and allowed for the player to have more of a definition of the character.

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:11am

i like endless fall games and this is a good one. loved the visual effect of the dozens of obstacle trackers and how they sent you flying when you hit them. good job

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:49am

Good gameplay and audio, although i found the color scheme alittle hard to see.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:28am

Really, really difficult. But really fun haha. As soon as the incoming squares started piling up it turned into utter chaos really fast. Which isn't a bad thing!

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39am

great job, but had problems with controls

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45am

It was a bit tricky to see my character. I didn't feel I was being skillful as much as lucky most of the time!

The music could have progressed a bit further but the woosh by sound effects were good!

Otherwise it was all well put together :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Some nice graphics and audio, though a bit frustrating, it can be fun to see how much you survive and the title isn't misleading. Wasn't too pretentious either, so no need to worry about it too much.

YsenGrimm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37pm

I really love the soundtrack :D

May 1, 2013 @ 8:18am

I like the honesty in presentation.

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:46am

cute=)

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Graphically and acoustically beautiful! One of the best entries I've played so far. My only complaint is that the controls are a bit unresponsive.

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Argh, that comment was for another game, sorry :(
The sheer amount of games is a bit overwhelming for me :P

May 2, 2013 @ 7:10am

No hard feelings (;

Jod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:01am

Cool idea, awesome music! The black square on the black background kinda doesn't work for me though.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:35pm

I love the game! Good soundtrack, good gameplay, i like it!

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Hmmm. I liked the presentation, but I think having it be competitive conflicts with the randomness of how well you do. :) Not sure how that could be adjusted though.

Anyway, nicely done!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Pretty fun

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Yey! I ranked #4 :) This is a very nice game, requires a bit too much luck in this state, but maybe a kind of minimap or slow-mo when red squares get close would help in fixing that. And no this story is not *that* pretentious, I've seen worse. Very nice audio!

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Ha ha! Great action! it's tough to stay alive falling to your death...

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Nicely presented, but I would have liked the main character to be a tad more visible.

AlexFili says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Great soundtrack and great game. The story doesn't really match the game though in my opinion, but very addictive gameplay!

May 15, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Excellent concept with a philosophical edge to it and the game is damn fun to play once you figure it out.

gerritg says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:34pm

You can almost feel the falling speed. Nice one. Quite addictive!

May 20, 2013 @ 5:58pm

I felt that this game would've been much stronger without the story element, as a simple arcade experience.

That being said, I found the game way too difficult. It felt like whether you survived or not was all based on chance really... Nice little background tune though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]