April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

FLIP

by howieV (binarygirl) - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[EDIT] ive added an applet DOWNLOAD for those who cant seem
to run it online.. it mite work offline for you.. just double click the html file :)

hey ho again :)

didn't have much time (most of 1 day)
but managed to bang something out :)

IT GETS QUITE HARD FAST, A FEW LEVELS IN


objective :

turn all the grey blocks red (simples).
you die from colliding with a red block.

controls : arrows / wasd

cheers ..hope to play loads of your games
binary_girl (howiev)
:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#129Fun3.58
#207Theme3.93
#334Overall3.40
#494Innovation3.19
#557Humor2.22
#584Mood2.84
#641Audio2.55
#1028Graphics2.40

Comments

ilo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55am

Simple but clever design.

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:26pm

I love the level transition effect!

Fun game that definitely fits the theme!

triforcespark says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Nice combination of gameplay, effects, music, and theme.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

I really like how the green blocks turn red, it adds a bit of strategy into the mix. Great!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Clever game mechanic. I like the way it gets harder as you get nearer completion.

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Fits the theme, pretty interesting for a quick game

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44pm

cheers guys.. i really didn't expect anyone to like it heh :)

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Cool game, gets complex after a while

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Really fitting, simple and elegant. Good job and good luck!

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

A good bit of strategy here for such a minimalistic game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10am

The audio and 'feel' of the game made it awesome :D

wolfadex says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

I was unable to download or play the web version, hopefully you can get it fixed so more people can play it.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:15am

really ? all links just point to the same java applet.. this should work on all platforms with java installed i hope.. what are you running OS wise ?

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

Is there an end or they keep coming each time with more friends?

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41am

I like this game. It really fits the theme well. One suggestion I would offer is that you give a grace period after taking damage, or have knockback effect to get you out of the red square. Once it gets crazy, it was hard to see which red square I was in.

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:43am

Excellent game. Fits the theme of the compo perfectly in my opinion. Actually challenging, the difficulty ramped up nicely, easy to learn without instruction. Good job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47am

@dax.. it should go on forever (or till highest int value heh..or the computer blows up from the amount of squares on the screen ;p)

@jim ..thats a good idea actually :) also the idea is NOT to be in a red square ;p

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

A perfect game. Excellent work.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

This is one of the few games so far that has gotten a "Mood" rating from me. The sudden change in colour and particle effect that starts when you hit a red square is golden.

The game itself is fast paced and fun.

tankete says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45am

Similar to @wolfadex, I can't connect to the game. I get a not found error. Weird. :(

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:28am

ive added an applet download link now for those few that cant seem to run it online.. try this offline version.. just double click the html file to run..cheers :)

free_napalm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Fits the theme perfectly.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Very good! Simple, clever and fun! :)

Switchbreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Really fun, really simple, the good kind of minimalism. Not as difficult as you warn, I'm really glad you put a health bar in instead of making it instant death. Maybe could be cooler with a score or a more prominent level counter to compare with other people.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:54pm

@switchbreak.. i did toy with idea of score and a bigger level counter.. i kept trying to stop myself putting more things in.. i wanted to leave the level counter out all together at one point but thought if i did people would have wanted it hehe to i just made it not too prominent .. maybe i should add the score and make it more obvious what level you are on for a post version :)

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Nice game, very minimalist :)

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Is this java? Can you make a .jar?

playvue says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:47pm

FYI, the web link is broken. =(

Thijsku says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Nice little game. It's kinda hard later on, but still is a fun game!

May 3, 2013 @ 3:09pm

@stqn ..ya its java.. cant u just play via the web link ? (why do you need me to make a jar ?)

@playvue i just tried the link ..it seems fine.. it stays white for about 7seconds as i didnt have time to make a 'loading' screen ..but it should come up after that

Yakka says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:39am

Simple game but it works very well :)

filtoid says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:43pm

This fits the theme perfectly - and a great game :) very fun and good difficulty curve

Zccc says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Very solid game and very fun :)

Hatscat says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:08pm

The perfect game for this theme! Very fun and well balanced, it only lack of a score.
Well done

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Good idea, it's fun. Maybe it will be better with more square behavior.

garygreen says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Really liked the simplicity of this. It was fun too. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]