April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Another Day In The Life

by QXD-me - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD + Mouse

For this Ludum Dare I wished to make a minimalist game about a day in the life of someone living in minimalism. Minimalism is not abstraction, it does not mean that everything should be represented by squares and cubes, it means that you should use the bare minimum necessary to achieve what you are doing.

People exist in a "space", a world, and generally that space is not made of cubes and spheres, thus to be represented in my game it needed modelling. People do things in their lives, even if they are small things like getting up, sitting down to watch TV or cooking, thus these interactions needed to be made. People hear things in their day-to-day lives: background noise and little noises made by themselves as they live. These needed to be included.

People do not have arbitrary enemies that they fight to the death, people do not have weird "laundry lists" of objectives that must be completed before sundown else they fail life, people do not have to solve complex puzzles while going about the minutia of their routine and they do not have background music or theme songs. Thus non of these things were, or will be, included.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#291Graphics3.44
#455Mood3.00
#544Audio2.72
#690Humor2.05
#803Theme3.29
#937Innovation2.60
#1037Overall2.69
#1287Fun1.87

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Nice work with the automatic interactions, it works quite well.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

This is a great little universe... Reminds me a little bit for LittleComputerPeople... I like it.

Robert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37pm

This would help tremendously with the controls:

void Update()
{
if (true == Input.GetKeyUp(KeyCode.Mouse0)) {
Screen.lockCursor = true;
}
if (true == Input.GetKeyUp(KeyCode.Escape)) {
Screen.lockCursor = false;
Screen.showCursor = true;
}
}

Nice modeling!

protensity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Great little demo - not much to do inside though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Cool graphics and interactions, although I wish there was a little more for me to do! lol

bleating says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

I love the context sensitive actions. Crawling into the big red chair was oddly satisfying?

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

this was really cool. i like how you interact with everything without pressing anything. it felt very natural to auto duck to look into things and sitting on the chairs and couch. really cool idea. if there was some sort of objective, this game would be really fun. even if the objective was to just do normal everyday things. great start to a game. I really liked it :)

Baknik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Very atmospheric little exploration game.

QXD-me says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Thank you Robert, I've added that in since as I see it that's a change to the interfacing with the game rather than a change to the game itself (I really need to create a LD template project that has all these little things in it).

And thank you all for taking the time to play and comment :)

ronsho says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I enjoy the way I interacted with the objects and the feeling of going stir-crazy. Seems like it was missing something, even if it was about that feeling. In a way, that's what I feel already in a lot of puzzle games where you're trapped somewhere before you can move on. Maybe if the room were set up less generically, with some hints of the person the player is and how they occupy their day?

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40am

I love sitting in the chair. It feels so natural! You really accomplished a lot in 48 hours and you made something that's very strangely ... what's the word ... I don't know. It's just so oddly intriguing. The auto-interaction works really well to immerse you into the world.

Shugor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:26am

This is an interesting game, a lot different than the other ones I've played. The interaction with everything is really good, and it's fun just looking around at everything in the room. It would be better if there was some sort of objective; in fact, it would be fun to see where this game would go if you built something up from it. You did a good job overall~

bentog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Nice little experience. The MouseLook script is bad, though.

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:00pm

That was a nice little experience. The interactions feel great.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:36pm

A nice little room to fiddle with things in. Nice range of behaviours for the objects. Could be made into a great puzzle - maybe it is already and I missed something.

QXD-me says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:59am

I've finally added a "proper" description, though I'm not sure I could have written it without the feedback - the game seemed pretty self-explanatory to me.

I'll be adding a post-compo "director's cut" version, hopefully, later today.

Thank you for playing.

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:16am

this would've been a lot more fun with some kind of objective or other thing to do / interact with. All you do is walk in a circle and triggering stuff that has no effect. Nice modeling work tough.

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Not much of a game. Nice effort.

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Good one, I really enjoyed experience, of being me :) Thanks for that, very original, would like to see the whole version of it.

someone says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:55pm

That was great. The only thing missing was tea. I looked in all the cupboards but I seemed to be fresh out.

QXD-me says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:44am

@someone
Mugs of tea were in my initial idea but I ran out of time. But since there is clearly a demand I have added them to the post-compo build.

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:43am

Great little exploration game. :) The mouse controls gave me a bit of a headache from being so fast and sensitive, but I had fun poking around the room.

May 9, 2013 @ 6:19am

Man, someone needs to go to the grocery store. :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:37pm

I like the art and mechanics of the game!

foyosoft says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Nice experience.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]