April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Princess Chardonnay in Bomb Kingdom

by Ishisoft - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Howdy,

this is a short puzzle platformer. I applied the minimalism to the design (tried to make varied puzzles using just bombs as the puzzle elements) rather than the visuals.

Sorry there's no audio, I ran out of energy. And it's Windows only I'm afraid.

Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics4.77
#23Fun3.93
#41Overall3.96
#137Humor3.14
#158Mood3.47
#251Innovation3.52
#917Theme3.15
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

blufiro says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Amazing polish! And really hard but really interesting puzzles. Loved it and completed it. Did you draw everything just for this competition?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

Clearly based on the concept of Fat Princess... but definitely a different game. I like this.

L says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24am

God, level 2 is hard... you actually have to discover the mechanics instead of having them conveniently explained to you!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17am

This is great Craig :D

I love the mechanics, and the puzzles I've played so far are brutal but really clever. Shame about the lack of audio, would have really sold it :(

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:18pm

The types of things you can do with the bombs are really interesting in this game. As early as level 3 you have complicated, several-step solutions involving using bombs as platforms, knocking bombs into other bombs and so forth. Definitely a fun concept.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

Wow. That's really the most challenging entry I played so far. Amazing!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24am

The graphics are superb! The game is pretty challenging, the minimal design works really well. It really needs audio, but you already knew that :)

Sakuyan says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:09pm

This is by far the best graphics I've seen in 48 compo! Really awesome job! :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Tough puzzles... but it looks amazing!

enzo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:10am

Saw your game on the 10-second footage thing! Beautiful graphics, and tricky puzzles, really great! (I am stuck on level 10 though D:)

Test User says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:29am

Very nicely polished. EXTREMELY hard and intriguing puzzles. Great job! Out of curiosity, what tools did you use to make this?

alcazar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:10am

I like the visuals

Ishisoft says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Thanks for the comments everyone :)

@blufiro: Yep I made all the art during the weekend, thems the rules after all.

@Christopher Chamberlain: I didn't have Fat Princess in mind, I just happen to like princesses and cake. :)

@Test User: Paint Shop Pro for the pixel art, Pro Motion for the pixel animations, ArtRage for the title screen art, and Visual Studio 2008 for coding in C++. I use the pixie engine http://www.pixieuniversity.com/ - I like software rendering for low-res games, stops me getting distracted by possibilities of rotation and stuff!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Awesome!
Game mechanic looking incredibly cool and fresh!
It's pity that there isn't sound, but in other it's perfect.
Excellent work, man!

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:55pm

From my Jammate Brian: "Some of these levels are surprisingly tricky. A lot of fun to play, though I've always had a spot in my heart for blowing things to pieces."

pvwradtke says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:23am

Really liked this entry, the puzzle were very well thought. Pity there was no audio, but the graphics made up for that. However, I feel that it strayed away from the theme. Regardless of that, a solid game thart deserves a full version.

May 7, 2013 @ 9:07am

I really like this, it's a very cool short puzzle game. I love how the bombs' movement seems very analog yet is deterministic. I'd really love to see a post-compo version with sound, as that's all it needs to feel totally complete and polished.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Very interesting puzzles!! I really like this game.
Gorgeous graphics and bomb effects! :)
I've some issues to complete the 3rd level. There's a jump I can't do, cause there is a wall too close to the head, that avoids me to pass.

Ishisoft says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:08pm

@pvwradtke Yeah I did worry by the end about how much it stuck to the theme. It was a genuine effort though, based on what Wikipedia says - "Minimalism is any design or style in which the simplest and fewest elements are used to create the maximum effect." I tried to apply that to the design of the game, rather than going for visual minimalism which didn't inspire me.

@naufr4g0 Those jumps are actually possible, although only just (I didn't really intend them to be possible). But there's a solution to the level that avoids having to do them :)

Misael.K says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:43am

I agree with most of the comments. Art is beautiful, levels are (good and) hard, music is missing.
Great job!

Tifu says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Really tough puzzles, I feel really proud I beat them all :P Great job on making one puzzle tool so diverse and challenging.

Gungnir says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:50am

Slick presentation, and truly excellent puzzle/level design which teaches as it confounds. A little more nod to the theme would have been nice (since you did invest time in art) - but that doesn't detract from the quality :)

bluescrn says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Another fantastic LD48 entry - shame you couldn't get a bit of audio in, but the art, presentation, and puzzle design were really great for a 48hr game! Some nice little touches in there too, with the animation and the way the bombs move around

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]