April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Knightly Knight

by dsoft20 - Jam Entry

Knightly Knight is a simple arcade score game, you are the Knight (Blue square), and You must Find, Obey and protect the Princess (Pink Square).

The princess during the gameplay have some needs, like drink, eat or sleep, so, when You find Her you'll be ordered to take her to the right place to fulfill her request, while protecting her from the bad guys.

As for the theme of the LD, instead of going to a minimalistic graphic style, I've choose to rationalize the game design, creating a small ruleset for the entire game.

The game, indeed, consists in only 4 simple rules:
1- Find the Princess
2- Obey the Princess's orders
3- Fight the bad guys
4- Game Over take place only when Princess or Knight life is 0

## If you find that the game window is too small, you can right click on it and select FullScreen or adjust the zoom level in your browser. Windows, Linux and OSX version have a toggle fullscreen key (alt+enter)##

Controls (Windows, Linux, OSX)
Arrow Keys -> Move the Knight
Z -> Attack
X -> Call the Princess, only when she's close the Knight
ALT+ENTER -> Toggle Full Screen


Controls (Androdi)
DPAD -> Move the Knight
A -> Attack
B -> Call the Princess, only when she's close the Knight

Toolset used for the game
Engine: Unity3d
2D Graphics: mspaint, gimp 2.8
Sound: sfxr

The game is tested and guaranteed to run on Windows, altrought Linux & OSX versions are provided (but not tested).

Android version requires a smartphone mounting at least Android 2.0, an armv7 cpu and a decent Screen Resolution (like 800x480)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#161Humor(Jam)2.64
#310Graphics(Jam)3.02
#320Overall(Jam)2.98
#329Theme(Jam)3.14
#369Innovation(Jam)2.65
#386Fun(Jam)2.58
#405Audio(Jam)2.12
#428Mood(Jam)2.44

Comments

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Cute little game. Though the small window hurt my eyes a bit. :( I liked the gameplay and how I could send the enemies flying as I hit them! :D

zitheker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

That is a good little game. I like the knives, how he moves and the princess who is moving like a snail. The fight are good too. But the windows are very too small for my eyes. Though, i like it because we must be aleready careful of possible attacks. Good Game !!

Markavian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Controls are a bit slow, but the mechanics of fighting/hit back, and the princess following are good. Wasn't clear what range I had to be in to use the the call princess feature. Standard screen was really small.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:05pm

I like it. It feels a bit like a reverse Pikmin - you are helping the person following you, instead of the persons following you are helping you.
I think the game suffers a bit from the slow speed of the princess. If it's the point to be annoyed by her - well done :D But her speed just bore me.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Nice little game, however it feels too slow to me.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

I'm sorry for the small game window.
As a temporary work-around You can zoom the web-page, or right click on the game window and select full-screen.

Windows build have the toggle fullscreen options with pressing ALT+ENTER (Linux & Mac should have too, but I haven't tested them)

lapogo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

I love the way this game looks! Not a big fan of the controls.

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I enjoyed it but felt it was to slow.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

It's asking me to install Unity webplayer, but I already have it.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Good take on the theme: reducing the ruleset is a good idea.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

@xgeovanni
I don't know why it isn't working, even my previous entry for the LD25 had this issue for some users, and I don't know what caused it :/.
You could try to reload the page or maybe you can use another browser, or even download one of the standalone version (win, linux or mac)

Argembarger says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

I enjoy the idea of thoughtless royalty thinking only of themselves through hostility. It was amusing. Kinda slow-paced though, and it's hard to figure out where the princess is initially.

uprightpath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

I liked it! Most of my comments would follow the others. However, there're a few graphics issues I'd like to bring up: The princess's speech bubble can cover up the knight, making it difficult to tell which way he's facing; the ground seems to spasm when you're turning in a circle (Changes texture, sometimes a seam appears).

thequay says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Nice little game, bigger view would of been better. Was fun :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Nice take on the theme, but the princess is awfully slow. Sadly, it doesn't look very good in fullscreen, maybe because of the aspect ratio of 16:9 on my screen...

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:06pm

I wouldn't mind a slightly faster version, movement feels slow; probably my short attention span talking ;)

lasergans says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

I like the idea of your game a lot :) The slow movement bores a bit.
But overall: good job :)

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Ohhh yeah... nice... a little bit to small for my eyes... ouch...

TiDitto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08am

bushes for the edge of the level? good game, though my princess was always sleepy.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:40am

@TiDitto I haven't tought about the edge of the level, too little time, at least the player can't fall down from the edge ;P

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:11am

Thought the controls were good, and the fighting worked well. Ended up leading the Princess into a pack of thugs, and they finished er off :)

metalcan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Neat game. It took me a while to find the princes, and I might have killed her while trying to fight off a swarm of thugs. Pretty cool, but would be nice with some indication of where to go, and the walking feels too slow. Fun concept, and nice visuals.

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Cute! Maybe the player is a bit slow tho!

saggiosoft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:52am

Very nice!

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:50pm

A bit slow paced gameplay and small window, but very nice game! The fighting is fun.

gregdevice says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:46am

I like the simplicity of it all. Where do you bring her when she's sleepy?

dsoft20 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:49am

@gregdevice
South of the beginning point ;p

Hegemege says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:16am

Fun game, even though a bit slow paced. Fits the theme really well, good job :P

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:59am

Feels a bit slow, and I think the princess was bugged, she wouldn't come when I called (hehe)

dsoft20 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:34am

@sudorossy
The princess must be close to the knight ;P otherwhise she doesn't follow you :P

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:49am

The controls were sort of strange and I thought it started off slow since I couldn't find the princess at first. Great job!

Zhrack says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:24am

Nice game! only, the game window is very small!

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:43am

The graphic style works very well for this game! Great job overall!

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Great game, sup freakin fun and so MINIMAL! +1

zkenshin says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Nice little entry. :)

miotatsu says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:13pm

neat, although the control could use a bit of refinement

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]