April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Requiem

by Nik Sudan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take control of a musician trapped in an unfamiliar place.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Graphics4.32
#22Audio4.02
#66Mood3.79
#223Overall3.53
#492Theme3.60
#640Innovation3.02
#759Fun2.76
#875Humor1.82
#1979Coolness10%

Comments

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Looks great, a bit disorienting though.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:26pm

I love the aesthetic of this game! You can see the Limbo inspiration, but it does its own thing with it. Very beautiful and certainly fitting of the "Minimalism" theme.

64Mega says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:17pm

That was an experience! I love the atmoshpere, and the progression of the music!
Well done.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

The limited field of vision, while looking nice, seems disorientating

64Mega says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02am

Rated it. I played it again and I feel as well that the wall jumping mechanic is a bit stiff and difficult to control, but otherwise: Still like it.

Sab says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Awesome work! Shows "Minimalism" very well!

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:26pm

great stuff, great animations and presentation. The music evolves nicely too. thumbs up.

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Waw, that's very different from what I used to play ( of your games i mean ). I cannot say i like it, but i really love the ambiance and the way you made the sound design, great job as usual :D

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08am

great stuff, great animations and presentation. The music evolves nicely too. thumbs up.

Nambew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

The visual and the music fit really well with the game. The light radius seem to be a bit too small, it's hard to find the way to go.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51am

Looking not bad, but walljumping is mad =(

devPhil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38am

Loved the atmosphere, but the wall jump really got me stuck and I just couldn't go any further

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:52am

Really nice and dark atmosphere. Visuals and music create an awesome mood. It was a bit confusing with the very limited vision though. Great job.

caporaltito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:56am

Very nice looking game, the music is nice. A very poetic game. But I couldn't find what I had to do. You deserve the max on graphics and audio.

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01pm

The game was pretty nice for a while, but then I fell down somewhere and couldn't walljump out... walljumping is super glitchy.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52pm

A bit murky looking, the song was nice. Platforming wasn't really fun and I sort of saw the twist coming, but still, a rather cool experience game.

Zccc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Really inspiring!

atraxgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Wonderful art and music.

Nik Sudan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:04am

Thanks all for the feedback so far! I enjoyed making the game, as it was something a lot different for me. I've always made music in this style and I thought it would be nice if I made something that went with it. I know the platforming isn't the nicest, heck sometimes I hate it. But I'm not a platformer guy, and I hate physics :P. Spent ages trying to fix collision bugs. For walljumps, just hold space instead of pushing em everytime you hit a wall - it comes out a lot easier.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:53am

Excellent sound mood and visuals, well stylized and unique. However for a platforming game (even a minimalist one) the 'camera' is a bit too up-close. Also the Wall-Jump is a bit buggy and inconsistent, every time I think I've gotten the hang of it, it stops working. Still looks and sounds nice though :)

lekochen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:29am

Whoa, that was stunning.

May 5, 2013 @ 2:38pm

I agree on what most people here say - great atmosphere, but the wall jumping is really tough. I didn't get very far.

TheR1otAct says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Was really great once I got the hang of wall jumping. For everyone having trouble: Try just holding space instead of hitting it every time you touch the wall. It gets a lot easier from there. Great game.

someone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:56am

It does run in Wine but without sound unfortunately.
Got stuck a few times but got to the end eventually.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:03am

Too hard to control :( As most comments say, a little disorienting, zoom out more. Nice atmosphere.

May 6, 2013 @ 3:05pm

To me, having the more serious nature of the game in mind, the jumping animation seemed a bit too frantic and -well- jumpy in my opinion, compared to the walking animation.

Also the walljumping frustrated me to the point where I couldn't endure the game any longer. Good job on the graphics and audio, the mechanics need a bit of work though.

pvwradtke says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:34am

I liked the visuals (no comment on the audio, didn't work under Wine), but the control is very difficult when you have to jump against walls.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:04am

Wall jump is absolutely obnoxious, I almost quit pretty early on because of how difficult it was to wall jump effectively. Other than that, it was a very good game.

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:34am

Nice effects and great art!

garygreen says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:20pm

I thought the silhouette graphic style was great, but I didn't manage to get very far in the game.

May 12, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Nice music and visuals, but nobody seems to enjoy the walljumping that much. I can see why... :)

michail says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:19pm

The walljumping is very frustrating, but I managed to get to the end of this game - I must say I'm impressed. The final music is really powerful, and the mood is perfect. Great game. I'm downloading the soundtrack!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:44am

Nice animation and art direction. The camera is a bit too close for the wall jump.

ahm99 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:56am

Really cool game. Good audio and and good mood. You did a great job :)

May 18, 2013 @ 6:53pm

I didn't finish the game, hate the walljumping system, sorry..

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]