April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Art Attack

by Morgawr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is an artsy point and click game.

It was developed during the 48 hours Ludum Dare using ClojureScript (Clojure compiled to javascript).

Best played with Firefox, some other browsers might freeze or not work altogether.

If the game is stuck loading, keep waiting. If it still doesn't load, give it a gentle refresh, go get some coffee and retry (Yes, browsers are evil).

Let me know if there are problems, enjoy the ride! :)


CONTROLS:
Examine button: Examine items and talk to people
Take button: pick up items
Use button: combine items or exit through doors

A tip: If you get stuck selecting one object with the "Use" button, just change to "Examine" or "Take" to remove the marker, it's a bug.


Update #1: Fixed a bug where exits took precedence over items
Update #2: Lowered the chances (hopefully) of loading bug to show, still trying to fix it.
Update #3: It should now work on less interesting browsers like Internet Explorer or Opera or even Safari. I don't really have the time to test so let me know. (Why hurt yourself? Just use either Firefox or Chrome :)
Update #4: Fixed spelling errors in a couple of dialogues.
Update #5: The loading bug now should be *almost totally* gone. I promise guys! ;_;


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#97Mood3.63
#119Audio3.53
#230Humor2.81
#381Graphics3.29
#446Theme3.64
#447Overall3.27
#643Fun2.89
#954Innovation2.56

Comments

JohnBroadley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33am

Hey, not a bad entry, just a few bugs, and the art style gets some getting used to. Otherwise it's a pretty good game, and the art style matches the theme brilliantly. Good storyline, and a nice amount of content for two days. Keep up the good work.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44am

The graphics are very stylish (http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/StylisticSuck).

I thought it was going to be quite bad seeing the screenshots, but after playing it, it was very,very fun.

Also the ending is awesome. well worth the trouble

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47am

What a great story. I couldn't find a use for quite some of the items, but it matters not. The audio was really calming and fit to the game. The graphics style is pretty cool, quite minimalistic I would say. Great job!

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51am

@martijn
curse you for linking tvtropes! :D

@Hegemege I found out after submitting that there was a silly bug where you could click on exits placed under items/entities (like the hidden cave or the throne room) and get through without solving the puzzles. I fixed it now, the only item that has no actual use is the note in the Library.

But yeah, thanks for the comments guys, I had a lot of fun making this! :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02am

Such a great & touching game.

Do not get discouraged by the art style, once you get used to it, it has its very own unique charm.

The music was also spot on.

Loved it, excellent job! ~

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12am

Very athmospheric, the music fits really well and I love that you took minimalism as the art style. I got the accidental ending by clicking through to the throne room and now I'm stuck trying to solve the puzzles. Do I give things to characters by clicking use, the item, and then the character? It doesn't seem to do anything (Firefox, Linux)

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15am

Yes, to give items to characters you need to select the item in the inventory and then click on the character. I apologize if it's not polished and is unclear, I really rushed the release to stay within the 48 hours period (one hour before the end I didn't even have an ending and I didn't get to playtest this much) :(

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

Finally got the game to work, using Firefox. I did not quite like this kind of games, and I do not really understand where I am supposed to go to or what am I supposed to do. But the art is AMAZING, minimalistic and everything.

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:36pm

That's one of hellishly trippy game :)

DangerBlack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Amazing ^^
I trouble a bit to reach the end but all the task are logical. (a bit)
xD No stupid tricks to make it longer. The only flaw is the dura.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I'm not sure how I feel about the disconnect between the game's content and it's ending, but I have to give you credit. You clearly put a lot of effort in and made something that you can be proud of.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

@nintendoeats I know it's a poor excuse but the disconnect between the two parts was intended. I wanted to make it longer but not enough time for more content (I had a lot of trouble fitting everything within the 48 hours as is). For people who played my previous LD game last April (another point and click game), the mood and feel is mostly the same (although puzzles have improved), basically a 180 degrees turn at the end.

I should plan things more thoroughly... I'll keep a note for the next time :)

fishbrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Diggin' the art and the audio!

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Works well and I really like the artistic style.

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Thoroughly enjoyed this, always been a fan of point and click. Graphics were cool, and the story at the end was something i wasn't expecting but was really good. Good work :)

phpboxxx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

This was mindblowing!

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55pm

This has got to be the best graphics I've seen so far. Great job! :)

Yarek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Nice job here :) At first the graphics look a bit weird but you get used to them and then the story starts to shine :)

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Always stuck at 94% in chrome. On firefox, I didn't have anything, but it may be because I use an old version.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15pm

@Masadow try refreshing, eventually it will work. I promise!
I really hate this bug, I don't understand why it happens, it's so annoying and I am still trying to fix it.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I thought this was going to be a tribute to Neil Buchanan.

Played through, really liked the theme and the story - it went from comical to intriguing into a rather dark and sombre finish.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

A very complex entry for just 48 hours. Great work, liked the audio the best.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Lots of updates and bugfixes (see edited main post). For people who couldn't play it before because of loading issues... well I hope they're gone now. If they aren't then re-try and keep refreshing (give it some time though).

For Opera/Safari/IE users (I feel sorry for you), the game *should* work but I haven't had the time to test it. Let me know.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41pm

I had fun, good game.

zatyka says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:03pm

I love point and click games. It's quite ambitious to create on in 48 hours, so nice job. The graphics went well with the theme, but I personally found them too distracting. Overall, nicely done!

berareu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:28pm

I really liked it, especially the presentation, the music... And I totally didn't expect that ending! Awesome work!

May 2, 2013 @ 5:45pm

People once used to make games that could run on any browser, instead of telling other people what browser to use... Oo! The game is cool, however! :)

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Sorry couldn't rate as it always gets stuck on 94% no matter how many times I refreshed.

Morgawr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:51pm

@Martin_Monosys and once browsers used to be only for web pages and not videogames :)

No, I'm sorry, really, I'd love to make it work properly on every browser but in 48hours I couldn't really do more than this. On Firefox it works, on Chrome/ium it works too. With IE, Opera or Safari it gets a bit trickier because of .mp3 and .ogg sounds, I added .mp3 music and made the proper checks to get them to work on the right browsers but I have no mean (or will) to test them. Sorry. ^^
But, hey, firefox and chrome are free!

Morgawr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:52pm

@imagnity try waiting a bit, the loading bug should technically be gone. It might take a while to load the music. If it really is stuck loading then refresh and retry. I'm sorry it is a problem :(

May 2, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Strong entry. Moody and original. I also like the art style.

queader says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:33pm

I love the style of this game!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Will you mak a walktrhough ? I'm completely lost.

Kvisle says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:37am

I beat it! I think you've done quite a good job with this. I think the graphics are quite stylish, but I had some trouble seeing the cave entrance - I think maybe some places could emphasize what kind of items are interactable.

It's good adventure gaming fun, and we like that.

You're off to a good start.

Andy Go says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:37am

Nice style!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]