April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

flee the inevitable

by sythe - Jam Entry

Made in ~5 hours, but I didn't create the music.
MOBILE VERSION -- COMING SOON
Mobile Authcode: E4CA0299

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#274Theme(Jam)3.24
#347Audio(Jam)2.62
#368Humor(Jam)1.74
#378Mood(Jam)2.61
#431Fun(Jam)2.42
#443Overall(Jam)2.68
#522Graphics(Jam)2.11
#556Innovation(Jam)1.38

Comments

henrykun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

I lived 820 days :D. I love jumping and the game is really cool. Maybe some things you could add are obstacles or something like that. The theme is awesome, good choice!.

hnjslater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Good game but a little too simple perhaps.

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I liked it. A creative feedback though is that the music felt out of theme with the game play. The game is fast the music is slow... But over all nice game:)

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06pm

This is a cute little game, I especially liked the sad-sounding music. I could see leveling up being worked into this (with stuff like higher jumps). A little more variety would be cool (enemies? powerups?), but this is a great start, especially for 5 hours of work.

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06pm

@Norrit42 Thanks, I noticed that too...I didn't manage to find a fast song that was sufficiently sorrowful, though.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:18pm

lol, 78 days and then 105- i think it's finally about time i took a BREAK. ;-)

I see what you're saying! Similar backdrop and theme definitely; I wanted to include music but ran out of time and would have needed to be self-generated for the 48hr compo. Very soothing choice. Good stuff!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:19pm

It's a nice game, the music does not fit though.

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Mood is awesome <3

cominu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46pm

just 295 days...but I enjoyed this little game :)

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51pm

181! I liked the gameplay and message at the end.

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Great game. Love one button games.

aaron9000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:15am

Pleasant to play. Simple, but complete.

netpro2k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Nice little infinite runner. The collision detection feels a bit wonky at times

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:35pm

The collision detection seems to have some issues (you can jump if a line hits your head). Nice little game :)

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Even though the music is slow, it somehow fits manages to fit in. It is pleasing.

The collision detection is very forgiving and the character avatar is somewhat intriguing. I liked it.

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Another infinite runner.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:07am

A little unfinished as is but a solid entry for short dev time. Keep adding to it. There are a zillion runners out there. See if you can add one new thing to the genre.

pikmin4000 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:12pm

I lived 421! I think that's pretty good. Well anyways I do think you did a good job on the minimalism part, there's barely any elements/controls/story/graphics to the game. I like the player sprite and animation although I thought it was a bit too choppy. Also the graphics for the platforms were a bit too thin and hard to see against the contrast of the background. Other than that, keep up the good work, and with some extra touchings and additions this game could be real fun!

plash says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:27am

Notes:

- BIT.TRIP RUNNER: an influence? Never played it myself, but the character and setting seems very similar.
- Platforms are very skinny.
- What is going on with this run animation! This lad is spastic!
- If I fall next to a very nearby platform, the character just shifts up to it.
- Second game I've played with solo piano. MacLeod.. Ah, this is a Jam entry.
- I like the controls in this. It does exactly what I want it to.

- Minimum days lived: 7.
- Maximum days lived: 468.

Things I would change:

- Make the platforms thicker.
- Fix up that run animation. Character is on steroids or something.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:00pm

I really liked the music, it was calming and created a great atmosphere!

Lidfrid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:11pm

it's like bitrunner! It fits perfectly the theme

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:53am

Total Bit.Trip.Runner styling :P A bit simple, but fun.

f7f5 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Not the most original, some issues with the collision detection, but it kept me trying until I got to 680 days :-P
(and I liked the music, it helped to build the mood/message)

cardboard says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:41am

I played a few times and got up to 362. I don't think the music fit the game very well, and it was very quiet (at least for me). I really like games like this, so I enjoyed playing your game. The animations looked a bit wacky, but this made the game somewhat funny.

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Nice effort for just making this within 5 hours.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]