About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 23 hours, 13 minutes, 8 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 23 hours, 25 minutes, 8 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 0 hours, 13 minutes, 8 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Road - GeorgeBroussard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    As you age you get larger making it harder to avoid the obstacles of life. How far down the road can you get?

    I CHALLENGE YOU TO BEAT 20! POST YOUR SCORES BELOW.

    p.s. Thanks for looking and playing. Would appreciate any tweets pointing to the game.

    View GeorgeBroussard's journal. | View all entries by GeorgeBroussard

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #11Humor4.07
    #85Fun3.67
    #171Overall3.63
    #224Theme3.90
    #227Audio3.25
    #252Mood3.27
    #530Graphics3.06
    #758Innovation2.87

    Comments

    xstargirl says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50am

    ahh it's kinda hard but very interesting. I enjoyed the music and the causes of death :]

    DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

    Cute! This game is really all about reading the death messages. Did you really need to use Unity for this? xD You could have made the difficulty ramp up a little more slowly, but it's fine.

    deathray says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

    I died from an alien invasion of Earth before I turned 1. :)
    I like your music and your block animation. I think the art style fits perfectly with the theme. The concept of life choices is a good one - reminds me a little of my own mini-LD entry from a few months back - but way more fun.

    FuzzyWuzzie says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

    Really fun! Music fits nicely, and deaths are hilarious! (Maybe too much so as I found myself trying to die just to see "how" it happened!)

    flarb says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

    HARD! But hilarious death messages.

    Loren says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51am

    Awesome job George! Loved the challenge, design, music and writing :)

    karsyf says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

    Was very funny =D So far best is 15

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:38am

    Got up to 35 and then my height made me fall off a ladder while cleaning gutters. Music is great!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43am

    Ok, 35 is the current Internet record. Great score! Thanks for the comments and rating.

    Benjamin says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11am

    The screen is to big for my netbook, and the game is also a bit laggy which make the control difficult. It's a pity because those death sentences seems hilarious I think I took time to check a lot of them but can't go through... well 1 yr. Maybe a smaller screensize would make the game faster ?

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14am

    Benjamin, I never though about screen size. I just did it at 1138x640 which is iphone 5 rez. My bad. I suppose max size should be 800 or something for web games? re: lag, no idea there. The game should be 60fps pretty much on anything. It's not drawing anything, or running a lot of code. Thanks for looking at it.

    Sos says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:23pm

    Haha, this is great :) I love how the silly sum-ups help you not get frustrated when running into spikes! I got to 9!

    mnb11 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

    I died at age 41 from a heart attack :D Great game, made me smile! :D

    Split82 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44pm

    Nice one, really like the controls and overal feel. And another square main character as in my game :)

    dray says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50pm

    nice little game, very simple, but with a tight gameplay, good difficulty and nice aesthetic.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59pm

    Ha, this is great. The text makes it. Physics are also quite punchy.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

    Nice game! Good pacing, controls and audio! Congrats!

    deepnight says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18pm

    I couldn't go past 3 years old, I've always sucked at this kind of game. Anyway the random death reasons made me laugh and I ended up running into obstacles just to read them :)

    Do they vary according to the age?

    mnb11 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23pm

    I've got it to 49 now ^^

    FredericRP says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

    quite hard, the death thing is fun

    Husky says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:23am

    So many deaths lol.
    Simple yet brilliant!
    Goo job :)

    Spierek says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42am

    29 here: http://i.imgur.com/TiDIVYi.png

    oatsbarley says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:48am

    "You died of waiting for Firefly to come back to TV." ...too real, man. Too real. This is great, but I'm terrible at it. The music is really good too. It's obviously literally repetitive but it doesn't feel that way, it just sort of fits in the background. Nice job!

    Ithildin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40pm

    9 years...I may have died young, but it was cool B-)

    Nice job! :D

    tonic says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21pm

    Nice ideas there, but hey, it is quite challengine!

    Masadow says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14pm

    Very challenging game. I loved the way you animated this little square. It brings a kind of life to it. Well done !

    PsenFilip says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27pm

    Very hard game. But wait... Life is no easy task, right.
    I can certainly live longer if I play slow, but it ain't no fun right? I need the speed! So I just keep my right arrow key button down and try my best. Too bad I died when I was 10 by laughing too hard watching Louis CK.

    I like it the way you kind of animated the character walking and jumping. Adds up to the cool and fun factor.

    Pretty humorous game as well

    Conve says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01pm

    the idea is not new, but i like this game and the death messages.

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:53pm

    Good use of theme. Music and visuals were awesome. what do you use to make your music? Loved the death messages :)

    May 1, 2013 @ 12:14am

    I really enjoyed this! I made it to 30, but my favorite death was at the age of 1, when I died laughing too hard at Louis C.K.

    That's how I'd wanna go. At least I'd have diapers to contain everything... *cough*

    jhrrsn says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:34am

    The death messages are fantastic. The game is very hard but worth the dying purely for the comedy.

    Entity2D says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:43am

    Very hard game, but very cool. The death messages are hilarious!

    robotality says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:44pm

    my personal best was 9 after like 50 tries! very funny death messages kept me going and running into spikes XD

    Dohan says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:45pm

    After a lot of gruesome deaths I've finally reached the old age of... 17 :( Awesome simple game!

    d_durham says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:49pm

    Good fun! Simple game mechanic and nice ambient music.

    xdegtyarev says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:00pm

    Fun and hilarious! Like it.

    Zener says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:25pm

    Simple and fun. The music is quite good and the death sentences are very original

    allinlabs says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:26pm

    "You died from playing with your dad's gun" oh my god George xD
    Liked the age concept (dying was both horrible and pretty funny) and the music too. Congrats !

    Diventurer says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:53pm

    Lol, nice. 6 on my best try ._.

    Dragi says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:23pm

    26 so far... so minimalistic and so funny - great job :)

    errorage says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:27pm

    I like it! A creative concept. I like games which are not 'winnable', where you can't undo mistakes. And this is definitely one of them.

    Clavus says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:51pm

    Pretty hard, but the death messages were fun.

    kill0u says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:09pm

    Comment by Gnux:
    Nice concept. Simple and effective.

    Dir3kt says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:09pm

    Nice take on the endless runner. "you died from the spanking you got for spending 1000$ of free to play games" so so true :)

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:53pm

    Very nice. I've been playing for 20 minutes, and I only got to 16 so far. Criticisms:
    -I like all the death messages, but they're a little bit all over the place. The pure comedy ones take away from the part of the game about realizing how many people die at young ages and how ripped off they are. Then again, without them, the game isn't funny. My point is, you may want to pick one or the other.
    -I don't really like having to wait a few seconds to watch the instructions every new round.

    May 1, 2013 @ 9:59pm

    @Puzzlem00n - yeah valid point on the messages, but i wanted to have a balance and not be depressing. Also a few messages are age inappropriate and in the wrong age range array. I may update that soon. Perhaps on a retry/restart I could just start you off a few feet before year 1. Good idea. Thanks for playing!

    marnaouf says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:03pm

    Really fun and hilarious game.

    Tsuki_Usagi says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:14am

    the game is hard but wow, I really enjoyed playing, good job! *keeps playing*

    tacograveyard says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:15am

    Genius! You almost want to die to see all the causes.

    patrickward says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:25am

    Fun and enjoyable game. The humorous messages make dying a little sweeter; makes you want to keep trying.

    whilefun says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:36am

    I couldn't make it past age 5. Good use of humor, and theme! :) I died a lot, but each time was fun and usually good for a chuckle when I died of [something]. Music was nice too. Good job!

    ddionisio says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:04am

    "You died from the hands of a priest"...I don't know what to say.

    Good use of animations on the box, it really felt like I truly died from the hands of a priest.

    cwilloughby says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:43am

    Hard, but interesting. Very cool. Liked the style and subtle animations on the box. Loved the feel of death. Music and audio great. Good work!

    By the way, you landed on a similar theme to me! Check my game out to compare notes! :)

    Misael.K says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 6:55am

    I died at 32 from HIV/AIDS. Tough. Would've preferred to die from a bad case of the 80s.
    Great job!

    finefin says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 7:16am

    I died from a natural desaster. At least it wasn't my fault :P
    awesome game!

    Tiago says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:27am

    Awesome game! Really enjoyed the challenge and the humor, it created a great mood! To me you nailed the graphics and theme! nice job!

    MaxSzlagor says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:16pm

    Nice death messages and fitting music. Thanks for sharing!

    Rafael Sales says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:23pm

    Cool game. The concept is very deep. It's very hard too.

    tankete says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 6:13pm

    Glad I never had a stepfather. Apparently he really wanted me dead (x5). Nice simple game. Gets hard fast. Fun!

    madballneek says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:35pm

    I really love your entry, extremely smart and great use of the theme. And hilarious! It's one of the few Ludum Dare games I'm actually coming back to play more of.

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:33am

    So good. Like a comedy game. How come there aren't more of those? Bulletstorm does NOT count.

    saguaro says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:45am

    "You died from laughing too hard watching Louis C.K."

    I consider it a victory.

    KevinZuhn says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 2:27am

    Only have 20 so far!
    It's got an addictive arcade quality. Death messages were really humorous!

    kyyninen says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:59am

    Damn! Try as I might, never seem to be able to get past 20. (And in the game.)

    DarkX2 says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 7:43pm

    Wow, pretty hard. Nice comments on death.

    Jerm says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 5:44am

    Hard game and very addictive, although maybe slightly too punishing sometimes. Very well executed and polished. The best I could get was 18.

    TenTonToon says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:17am

    The game is fun on its own, challenging yet accessible, and an awesome use of the theme. The controls are spot on and it manages to never seem unfair. But, above all, what I like about this game is how it manages to actually send across a couple messages about life.
    For one, you have to be patient in this game. You must learn when to move forward, when to wait, and when to take a step back.
    Getting bigger as time goes by, making obstacles more difficult to avoid is also a great design decision, both as a gameplay mechanic and as a comment on life.

    Some of the death messages are a bit heavyhanded, like "You were beaten to death by your stepfather". Others seemed a little out of place, like "You died from trying to return the One Ring" - but still are funny as hell XD You must have had a blast coming up with all those texts!

    All in all, it's impressively profound for a minimalistic game about a square jumping over triangles :)

    Best score: 30 :(

    Congratulations! :D

    Lidfrid says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 8:51am

    5 stars for me! Great entry, loved the death message: "I died from a momentary lack of reason" I want to know them all!! Well done

    netguy204 says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 2:09pm

    Loved it and kept playing and playing. 15 is my best so far.

    Lots of great little details in the minimalist graphics that make this work. And the cause-of-death adds a feeling of connection to my abstract character. Fantastic.

    KEFIR says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 7:38pm

    Nice! I see you like pixel splatter too :)

    euwaku says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 5:28am

    Classic! I felt like I was controlling meat boy :D

    Ooya says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 8:00am

    Nice runner !

    wademcgillis says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 7:18pm

    Silly and difficult. The oldest I got was seven years.

    May 11, 2013 @ 9:50pm

    Great overall game, some of my funniest reasons for death was spending thousands of pounds on free to play games and dieing from playing this god damn game too long

    alwaysinbeta says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 4:50pm

    Fun game. The causes of death really make it.

    Ryusui says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 9:53pm

    22's my highest (gunshot in war). My ONLY issue is that I think the game would've been funnier if it stuck with "silly" ways to die instead of tragic ones.

    Sebastian says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 5:24pm

    At this point it feels like the only thing I haven't died from is old age XD
    Very addictive and funny (in parts) game. Nice job!

    psc1997 says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 8:59pm

    Excellent game!
    Very Good Job ;-)

    Alphonsus says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 7:05pm

    Pretty cool game! Had fun with this. Keep it up!

    CrazyGage says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 7:45pm

    Great little game! I quite enjoyed it, couldn't get past age 7 though...

    May 20, 2013 @ 7:50pm

    Last minute raters! Thanks for checking the game out. I'm busy rating your games, too :)

    Xanjos says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 8:51pm

    Fun and simple concept that's harder than you think yet compellingly addictive as well. Liked the jumping animation of the square and I loved how the square grows as it ages plus some of the causes of death were quite humorous.

    foul says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 9:35pm

    Very addicting game! Though ate too much glass :p at least i found my propper ending - the alien invasion. The game is perfectly balanced and the theme is summeried well.

    N427 says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 12:28am

    Very fun, loved all the death messages. "You died from choking on an action figure"

    naufr4g0 says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 12:52am

    I've a lot of fun discovering the causes of death. =)

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]