April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Slime Factory

by Evil Cult - Jam Entry

Slime Factory is a 'Reverse Tower Defense' game where you try to protect slimes as they traverse deadly levels full of turrets and traps. To aid you in this you have a small array of tools at your disposal which help you manipulate levels in a variety of ways.

Slimes will die. You cannot save them all, but you can minimize casualties.

Tips:

Tools
Hammer: Destroys destructible blocks.
Wrench: Rotates certain objects and opens doors.
Bomb: Destroys objects in a small area.
Block: Places a block that can affect pathing and block lasers.

Use W, S and Space to navigate the menu.

Use the left mouse button to interact with things in-game, right mouse button to cancel a tool.

To run the game, extract the zip file to a folder somewhere and launch the slimefactory.jar (or slimefactory-small.jar) file.

The first few levels introduce the tools and game mechanics. Later levels combine several tools and mechanics and force you to think about how to best use each of them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#16Fun(Jam)3.94
#16Overall(Jam)4.03
#26Audio(Jam)3.97
#61Innovation(Jam)3.71
#78Mood(Jam)3.64
#98Graphics(Jam)3.87
#206Humor(Jam)2.40
#316Theme(Jam)3.16

Comments

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:56am

Amazing game! I got a lot of level in and it never stopped. Great entry, loved the gameplay and the music and the art was nice too!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Very polished, good job!

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Really enjoyed your game. I wish there would be more choices to figure out each level. go and make more! :D

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45pm

That's a pretty cool game! I love the graphisms and the game mechanics are original.

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Really nice game man! Liked the concept, it was really original.

Awesome work :)

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Really nice, plays well. Solid gameplay, I haven't seen a reverse tower defense before. Nicely done!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Great game! I really enjoyed the mix between lemmings and a tower defense.

DustyStylus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:35am

What a lovely little game! Almost has a bit of a Lemmmings vibe. Nice graphics and sound.

Sestren says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Lots of fun to play. I didn't want the game to end. If you decide to make a post-compo version, I'd love to see a level editor added in.

Argembarger says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:27pm

This is really great. The game balance is just right to keep you on your toes, and the music is catchy. Excellent work.

Ernyz says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:37am

Really liked it! The music, graphics and puzzles were awesome :)

Markavian says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:09am

Fantastic game, played it through the end. When I saw the opening title I knew it was going to be good. Found the last level very challenging, but completed it through trial and error.

Few UI points:
- Why have a keyboard controlled main menu when the game requires a mouse?
- The buttons for speed and restart work really well
- The tool icons aren't as clear, they could do with being bigger

Good work guys!

May 5, 2013 @ 7:21pm

It was just funy and i like the graphics... that seems like ds games .... so fun and nice work

moomoo112 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:03am

interesting take on the tower defense, I liked the soundtrack

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:42am

Great game balance, simple mechanics, enough levels. Wish I had a pause button or hotkeys to select actions, especially on the last level.

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Great game ... all levels done ... waiting for more !

Evil Cult says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:40am

Thanks for all the awesome comments. We are working on a post-compo version that should hopefully be done sometime before judging is over.

StMatn says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:12am

Great game! It kind of reminds me of lemmings ^^ Gameplay, sfx and music are great. Awesome work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]