April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Survivalism

by Waynetron - Jam Entry

Minimalist survival game by @bentrengrove and @waynepetzler.
You have no supplies. No clothes. One arm and one penis.

HOW TO PLAY:
--------------------------------

CONTROLS:

Walk around with the arrow keys

Press spacebar to interact with objects: Lifting, throwing, eating animal corpses and entering the shelter.

SURVIVAL:

Eat animal corpses when you get hungry

Drink water when you get thirsty (From the ocean, it's a magical freshwater ocean duh)

THE BEAR:

To win the game you must kill the bear. He will come after you at night time, and run away during the day. It may take several nights to take him down. Use the shelter to regain your health. If you can't find a shelter, then you'll probably die.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#38Humor(Jam)3.58
#60Graphics(Jam)4.11
#159Mood(Jam)3.33
#240Overall(Jam)3.23
#248Fun(Jam)2.97
#253Audio(Jam)2.97
#321Theme(Jam)3.15
#334Innovation(Jam)2.77

Comments

Xellinus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Adorable!

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23am

super cute presentation and idea

well done

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:31am

Haha.. love the graphics!

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38am

Cute visuals, the game reminds me of Don't Starve. I'm still not sure about how it fits the theme exactly, but being naked and catching fishes by throwing rocks and full size pines into the water ? Hell yes !

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45am

Great presentation, esp the cutscenes and the cute squirrels! I saw the bear escape into the ocean :) .

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47am

@Chman. Yeah, the theme is a bit of a stretch. The intention was for a cut-down survival game. One arm, no clothes, absolute bare minimum that you would need to survive. As we worked on it the day/night bear dynamic seemed more interesting and easier to achieve, so the focus moved towards that.

Leginar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

I loved the day/night cycle, and words can not express how refreshing it is to beat a bear with a tree. Good work.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:23am

I can throw trees in this game. 10/10

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17am

Great character design, and I am a fan of any game that lets me throw rocks at cats ;)

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:08am

Good job. It lags a lot...

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

Great, good design/overall feel.

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Enjoyed it, but I found the pace to be rather slow. It felt a little like I was running through water.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Awesome work. I like surviving games... the soundscape is really good, grafics is well minimalistic. This game feels like a prototype of "Don't Starve" :D

Super Hamster says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:58am

Very fun!

kibertoad says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Cool graphics, gameplay didn't feel balanced, though, bear is totally overpowered :).

Waynetron says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:00am

Wayne wanted to make the bear even harder! It should take a few nights to kill, there is a good strategy and once you work it out it becomes a bit easier.

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Bloody bear!!!!! Loved the walk animation and the audio. Good job!

Codexus says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:17pm

So I'm naked in the forest and a giant teddy bear is trying to kill me! I'm not going to have nightmares about that, lol! Nice game, good humor (that animation cycle!) but I gave up after I realized how little damage i did to the bear after 3 nights.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]