April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minianimalism!

by lorancou - Jam Entry

"The Flood is over and Noah's Ark got stranded. Something's wrong with the animals though.

They lie in pieces all over the place, and the assembly manual got lost. Maybe using it as toilet paper wasn't such a good idea after all.

You'll have to reconstruct proper animals before The Almighty notices. Resources are sparse, so the fewer pieces per animal the better. Time for some minianimalism!

Try to pass the test runs to make sure your creations can live on their own. The spare pieces will be a good fit for tasty barbecues."

Instructions:
- Select a level and enter Noah's Workshop to build up your creature from different parts.
- You can drag and drop pieces of flesh, and then right click and drag to adjust the orientation.
- WARNING: removing the eyes blurs the screen! If this happens just put them back, they're in the top left corner.
- Use the left and right arrows if legs are installed. Legs oriented left go left, legs oriented right go right.
- Jump by the power of methane with the up arrow.
- Stick to the walls with your mouth using the down arrow.

When all parts are mastered... you now have to minimalize the number of pieces to increase your score.

Post your best creatures and scores in the comments section!

Credits:
- Huitre: art (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/huitre/)
- Hadesfury: code (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/hadesfury/)
- Lorancou: code (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/lorancou/)
- Paul: game design (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/badpaul34/)
- Leo: additional game design
- Bruno Jarles: audio
- Romain Coudert: audio

UPDATE: There are a few issues we've fixed since the end of the jam, use the post-jam link if you want to have a look.
UPDATE 2: Some more levels and some tweaks in the post-jam version!
UPDATE 3: More fixes to the editor in the post-jam version + added standalone versions (NB: Mac & Linux version not tested).
UPDATE 4: Fixed sound loop & better looking shader for misplaced pieces in the editor.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Innovation(Jam)4.09
#15Humor(Jam)3.87
#36Fun(Jam)3.70
#48Graphics(Jam)4.17
#68Overall(Jam)3.70
#163Mood(Jam)3.31
#206Audio(Jam)3.10
#411Theme(Jam)2.84

Comments

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05am

Really nice! Spore mixed with Incredipede. It might be nice if the game showed you the level on the creation screen, otherwise I find there can be a bit of trial/error getting it right. Really nice concept, very impressed you did it in the timeframe!

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24am

Oh.. My... God....

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38am

dat ass

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45am

Pretty innovative, liked it a lot!

miharbi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:13am

Really nice concept. Had fun playing with the different body parts.

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Pretty fun.

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:22pm

uhahah!! possibly the best entry and probably a winner!

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:08pm

So cool. Gotta spend some more time on this one. Though if I make a creature, then remove all the components the screen goes all blurry and never un-blurs.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Somehow everything got blurry, and I couldn't figure out how to correct that, but until then I was having a blast. Very funny concept and theme. Execution of the levels was simpler than I hoped, but I still had fun. Good entry!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Interesting concept, awesome graphics. Cool use of the theme. Great job!

fysx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Fun game and very interesting mechanics! Enjoyed playing it.

BadPaul34 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41pm

If it's getting blurry, put back the eyes (top left item) on the grid. Or not, and try to complete the level without eyes. Be minianimalist !

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Really fun concept. Although I could not get the ears to stick with the head. Loved the animations and sounds! Good job!

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09pm

The four assed beast enters the stage

TeamSleipnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Great idea, had some frustrating experiences with creating creatures though especially with rotating.

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Cool!

villhest says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Bwahaha cool!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Great game. The concept and graphics are awesome! :D

Too bad about the blur bug, I also experienced it and had to reload.

BortStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:34pm

This is the funniest game I have played in some time

lorancou says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:31am

Thanks for all the comments! That blur thing is not a bug, just a sloppy feature. This happens if you remove the eyes (obviously), just put them back as Paul said and you'll be good to go. I'll put a note about in the instructions.

The rotations are indeed a bit weird we might fix that in a post-compo version.

lorancou says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Fixed! Plus the shadows were missing for some reason, that's fixed as well. Use the post-compo link for the FULL SURROUND 3D PREMIUM EXPERIENCE :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:29pm

hilarious game! My ass never quite got me to the top. I love how if you remove the eyes, it becomes blurry

goerp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:47pm

haha, just like my game this could easily fit with Evolution as well. Really original and good looking game.
I also like Noah at the beginning, very funny.

It sometimes was a bit frustrating to get things right (also because rotating was a bit counterintuitive), but I am very impressed!
Also the score mechanic didn't work for me. I didn't care about highscores but just wanted to make a good looking creature and finish the level :)

Travis Irby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:21am

Awesome! This is a great concept and the graphics are great. impressive :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:36am

It's hard when we don't see anything ! Really good entry !

May 2, 2013 @ 1:45pm

I love the graphics and the game in general, so awesome!!! good job

May 2, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Amazing!! I laughed so much XD.. My minion have a butt on his head XD.. Very great concept!! Excellent work!!!

ddionisio says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:30am

Wow this is a great entry! I enjoyed just trying to fit as many limbs as I possibly could.

I have to agree that the creature creation needs some more work, but pretty damn impressive for 3 days worth of work!

Beerman says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Amazing - the world needs more games where you can build creatures out of butts :D

cwilloughby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:20am

Cool mechanic! Liked the ass! Wish the linking was a bit more free form - had troubles sometimes knowing if something would stick.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:09am

Hilarious! I like getting stuck and having to fart or slurp my way to victory

May 4, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Coo best rating i've given played the Ludum one and i expect the post fixes all the weird bugs

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:11pm

This looks awesome, but I'm on Linux so I cant play the web version.

klianc09 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Really awesome game, I could play endless with this build your own creature kit. The blurring of the missing eyes was kind of annoying, especially in the editor screen. Having a creature with a lot of mouths is really fun.

Split82 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Very nice and interesting.

mostley says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:59pm

o_O

GaTechGrad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:49am

Neat concept. Reminds me of the creature creator in Spore. Interesting use of the body parts to remove various senses.

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:25am

Awesome work! :)

lorancou says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:26pm

There you go, a standalone version (including Linux). Also in teh editor, parts will be grayed out until properly snapped, this should be a bit more intuitive.

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:55pm

This is really great idea and a funny game. It's great to build a creature and test it out. A look at the level before the construction phase would be great, I think.

patrickward says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:20pm

This game is hilarious. I laughed out loud the first time I hit the up arrow. I didn't get very far (couldn't get past the 3rd level), but wonderful graphics and gaseous fume effects. Great job!

kyyninen says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:42pm

How can you make these animations in such a timeframe?? Brilliant game!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:13pm

My ass was not very functional :D
Love this game ;P

larb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Great idea. Brilliant. I hope you keep working on it.

TenTonToon says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:36am

A nice concept and very strong execution, with a top-notch presentation that would be at home in any AAA game. That makes the plainness of the menus all the more surprising.

Just not very fun for me, nor too funny, with the exception of the introductory text - I must be getting old, but I don't really care about fart jokes. Especially as a game mechanic.
The theme's nowhere to be seen, either.

I'd have liked to be able to visit the levels prior to putting together the creature, and not the other way around. Turning the game into a proper puzzle, rather than an exercise in trial and error.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Funny game. Great avatar editor, creating funny possibilities! Congrats!

joe40001 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:26am

Jam build is a bit buggy, unpolished menus but I'll forgive you because the gameplay is quite clever/nice.

Now I'm going to play the post jam build.

joe40001 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:33am

Even post game build, mouth is very buggy. Do you have mesh colliders on? If you do you might be better off with sphere or capsule colliders, the animation is going to change the geometry and thus colliders otherwise.

Catman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:50am

Really fun and the animations were really good! Too bad for the many placeholder graphics that accompanied them, tho!

tcstyle says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:47am

Great game. A lot of trial and error but also a lot of fun to play.

Madball says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:30pm

LOL. Funny game, though some parts are useless. I passed most of the game by using nothing but an ass.
Also, what`s up with C1L3?

SamoojaMies says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Great game!

Ernyz says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:53pm

That was so much fun :D definately come back to play again :)

May 12, 2013 @ 4:43am

Solid graphics and it is a pretty neat idea to implement in a game jam. Reminds me of a couple of games but only in a positive manner. :)

My Milked Eek says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Awesome concept. Loved making a thing with 4 asses and luck my way to victory

JohnnySix says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Took a while to figure how to mash parts together, love the way the different body parts work, and particularly the way they're stitched together. :D

5 stars for humour. :D

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:47pm

The idea look like Incredipede in more vulgare...but it is not minimalist...

voidstar69 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Brilliant concept - Spore in 72 hours, with working mechanics! Also very funny. :-)

WiseGAMER says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:01pm

New idea but needs development.

rogueNoodle says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Pretty funny game - I liked the idea of blurring the screen when the eyes were removed, but it probably shouldn't happen during the making of the creature. I found it hard to find the eyes again in the editor :P Great job though :)

mortus says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:47am

Great game and pretty fun too! Most of the parts are useless though (except for the hilarious effects), I've completed all levels except one with the one single configuration, which I never edited (only added eyes once for each level to read and then removed again) - just ass and legs, and I even forgot that you can rotate parts, so maybe I could have completed that one level without mouth if I rotated the ass.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:58am

not sure how this fit the theme -- fun -- nice butts

Codexus says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:07am

Brilliant game! Great graphics, very cool gameplay. Most likely it was hard to tweak but you managed to make interesting levels.

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:13pm

@Codexus: Our designers went through a solid depression when we decided to go for this concept ;) They had to rush during the last hours to create playable levels, the task wasn't easy but they made it!

Also, yeah @TenTonToon, if you read this: sorry for the fart jokes. This isn't very mature. We know about that. For some reason we were in the mood of "yeah let's do it whatever it's just a jam". Next time we'll do a game with the finest humour, puns, and a deep refection on the things of life. Promised!

May 19, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Cool game, but would really have been even cooler if you knew beforehand what the requirements for each level are, maybe even only as some cryptic riddle or something like that...

May 20, 2013 @ 2:34am

Had a lot of fun with this. Though maybe a bit too reliant on butts, the mouth was cool to mess with, and the whole idea was quite refreshing. Would be cool to see something like this expanded.

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Very cool idea! The graphics look really nice and its fun to play. Very innovative mechanics. Nice game!

Fnkee says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Wow, amazing! Fun and humorous! Sure took it's time. Still, I enjoyed every minute!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]