April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Isocolor

by Christopher Chamberlain - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An isometric puzzle style game. Switch your color and change how you interact with the world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#520Overall3.20
#521Graphics3.07
#610Fun2.93
#624Theme3.47
#650Innovation3.00
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Very nice style! :-)

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Interesting concept, I could see this turning into a nice little puzzler. I thought the audio was particularly effective for the mood. Had a little bit of difficulty telling what level tiles are at, but that's always an issue with isometric games. Maybe add a way to rotate the level? Good job in any case!

phi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Very nice graphics, but unperfect isometric tile effect. Not sure if I like the flickery style, but the mood created by the colors and lights and sounds is amazing! I like it very much! Too bad you didn't have time to add more levels. :)

May 1, 2013 @ 8:50am

In a longer term version of the game I'd make it 3D, I just didn't want to write a 3D thing in 48 hours. I have a base code / library that I've spent the last year on that I'd use for a full version of the game. So ignoring the isometric tile depth, you folks like it? :D

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:19am

wont run for me: could not find the main class: ludamdare26.ludamdare26. :(

Covenant says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:21am

Too bad there wasn't more levels, it seemed interesting!
The graphical glitches made it hard to have a good perception of the level...

May 6, 2013 @ 5:44am

Naughty, thats odd that it won't run... I haven't seen that behaviour before. Do you have the newest java?

TehSkull says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:00am

The game could've overall been brighter, and I had trouble telling what layer I was on in 3D space.

JayPC000 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:17am

I liked the game, a LOT! would have liked to see the cubes have better Z-Indexes though, unless the overlapping cubes as I walked over them was intentional. It made knowing where I was standing hard.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:30am

The overlapping-ness is caused by using 2D iso graphics. I'm working on remaking the game with OpenGL 3D.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:35am

This is a promising beginning.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:36am

Thanks.

Ishisoft says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:52am

Apart from the graphical glitches others have mentioned this was nice. Reminded me a bit of Edge. The colour swapping stuff could make for some really tricky puzzles, hope you continue with the improved version!

May 6, 2013 @ 7:56am

I most definitely will continue with a new version if I keep getting support to do so! Y'all follow me Twitter( @CanadaCodeGuy ) if you want to keep updated or wish help with the game. I could use assistance with puzzle making.

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:43am

Nice game! It's a little bit hard to control the cube.

KEFIR says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Beautiful! Just beautiful! A little glitchy and disorientating, but still very very nice! I love it!

MinionStudios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Fun and well thought out! The tiles act strangely...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]