April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rad vs Blae

by GetFun - 48 Hour Compo Entry


Rad vs Blae is a multiplayer (should support a lot of players =D ) game made in DART using websocket. This is my first attempt in HTML5 and multiplayer game.
It works on every OS that but only with Google Chrome.

The game is very easy.
Capture the flag!

You are a little square and you get in one team.
You have to take the enemy flag and go to your base. You can make point only if your flag is in your base too.

Controls:
WASD or ARROWS move
SPACEBAR or SHIFT shoot (you can just press down)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#117Fun3.60
#382Overall3.34
#611Theme3.48
#626Mood2.80
#648Humor2.10
#713Innovation2.93
#968Graphics2.51
#1019Audio1.65

Comments

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37am

This game is pretty RAD.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38am

Really buggy, I get shot but don't get killed but get killed by nothing other times :|

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38am

Nice simple multiplayer game !
a minimalist CTF, like it !
Have some lag during my test, but good entry

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

Great game. I suck at it, but I suck at most games. Really simple, so it fits the theme well.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

Good multi player..

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

This is really good fun. It's a bit laggy when there are lots of people, but that's only to be expected. I like it when people realise you can hold down space and it all goes a bit bullet spam :)

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43am

Fun game :D

blae > rad

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44am

I'm working on fix the lag guys, I think I got it =) hopefull!

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50am

I played it with other 6-7 players and it was awesome!

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

Nice simple multiplayer. Was only me and one other person online when I tried it out, but it was pretty fun nevertheless :)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38am

Nice game well Done!! :)

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:08pm

It's not too hard to play with a friend online, which is great! Could do with respawn delays to make it play better, I think.

heuermh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24am

Just says "Connecting to the server..." for me, Chrome Version 26.0.1410.65 on OSX 10.8.

davidB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12pm

"Connecting to the server..." and the following message in the devtools console (in French) :
"L’URL fournie n’est pas autorisée par la configuration de l’application.: Une ou plusieurs URL fournies ne sont pas autorisées par les paramètres de l’application. Elle(s) doi(ven)t correspondre à l’URL du site ou du Canevas, ou le domaine doit être un sous-domaine de l’un des domaines de l’application. "

GetFun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Server is down. it will be up in some hours

GetFun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Server is up

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Multiplayer is always nice! :-) A preventDefault on the space key would have been good, so that it doesn't scroll around for those of us who can't fit the whole game onto the screen (like me). But other than that I like it, actually - pretty much as minimalistic as you can get for a capture-the-flag type game.

GetFun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53pm

hey rwos. Thank you =)
The problem is that if I prevent the space button it prevents on the chat too...
You can shoot with SHIFT too =)
I have to work a lot on server stability :-(

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Nice! I'm always worried multiplayer games will not work for Ludum, since not everyone will be online at the same time. None of that here, I see 3 other people, nice going!

GreyShock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Great multiplayer action! Minimal capture the flag! It runs pretty smoothly, what's the technology behind this?

GetFun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Hi GreyShock =) thank you.
I used Dart(lang) for the server and client and websocket for send packets. It's a language made by google (still in early beta) and you can compile in javascript too. It works very well but yeah... I have found a bug in the compiler so it's not working with firefox and other browsers :-(
But they are working hard and I have open a bug report :-P hopefull they will fix it soon so I can update the game to work with firefox too =D

DARKCORTEX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58pm

nice multiplayer :)

TheBenjaneer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Fun game! Fantastic multiplayer for a browser game especially, nice graphics and a definite match for the theme.
Great Job!
I enjoyed our match :P

Shigor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:21am

no players:/

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:47am

Really good game. Some work on gfx and some sfx would really take it to the next level. The multiplayer works really well, although luckily I as on a team with 2 v 1 :)

l3dx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:19am

Nice work! I liked it! Big plus for multiplayer!

smealum says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:55am

neat little multiplayer game. it doesn't offer much but it works pretty well !

EggDestroyer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:10am

Simple, works well, fun. :)

Siewart says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:42am

Could use some additional work (Obstacles, especially when there are more players).

But good concept, I like it :)

-Siewart (Pizza)

Siewart says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:02pm

short update: It's my keyboard that doesn't support UP + LEFT + SPACE at the same time, not your code. But it's a common hardware limitation.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Thank you for the report Siewart. Maybe I have to change buttons next time =) Or alert people about it.
Thank you!

bushmango says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:41pm

I'm always impressed by multiplayer games in LD -- I could see how this would be fun with lots of friends/people, but that's always a challenge.

raoz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Fun, interensting

Fenmar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:16pm

It's a pity there is no Community category anymore, you really deserve special thanks for making sure the players can actually play this. Plus points for HTML5, especially WebSockets and the Chat.

I liked the easy to learn, hard to master gameplay (like where can I stay to be safe, how can I hit the enemies without getting hit, etc.)

I'm not so sure about the life points, however. It took me a while to notice, that only every second hit killed me. Maybe the remaining hitpoints should be more visible (bigger and in fixed position in the corner of the playfield).

Thinks you could add are: Computer controlled enemies (so you don't have to be there all the time) and some sound effects.

All in all it's one of the best games I played so far. Well done!

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:51pm

thank you everyone.
Thanks Fenmar, is great to to read this =)

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:38pm

The usual problem with multiplayer games is:
+ If noone plays it you cannot play --> include AI
+ Lag --> native application instead of web based
This one actually seems to be fun. :)

Thijsku says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Too bad there isn't any sound! The controls made it hard to aim too. But I quite enjoyed the game! Unfortunately I just had one opponent, but it was really fun! With more players it would be even more awesome!

Good job ^^

docix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:40pm

There is a TON of potential here, meaning that this game is a ton of fun, just needs some clean up. Overall, REALLY enjoyable! Awesome work!

loxo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:36am

Good game. I like the idea, but there are times when no one else is on the server, like now, so it's a little boring. It would be great to have some computer controlled players.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:23am

Awesome game! FUN-FUN to play. Easy to start and hard to master! Love it! <3

N427 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Pretty fun, really wish I could shoot independently of movement though.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Really cool game. Gets pretty intense with enough people. Simple mechanics yet enough to keep you interested. Good job!

noa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Very addictive game. Great job^^

timtipgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Absolutely awesome how condensed the ctf idea is presented in your game. Played that while watching jellycakes stream with 8 to 10 people and it was awesome! :)

May 2, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Amesome game !
I like a lot !

May 3, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Nice one! Too bad there are so few people to play with. Having a kind of arena (possibly randomly generated) would also make it more interesting I think.

avarisclari says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Fun, even if buggy :D I hope something more comes from this one.

GetFun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Is it buggy? O.O
Please report any bugs so I can fix it on the post compo version =)

tellacool444 says ...
Jun 27, 2013 @ 3:49pm

i like the looks of this but chrome wont load game :( so please make a stand alone version

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]