April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniMario

by dem0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my entry for LD26, MiniMario :P
As is pretty clear, it's a Mario-like platformer, simplistic of it's graphics and gameplay.

Your character moves constantly, you can only change it's speed and jump.

The game includes several kind of enemies and items, different themed levels and a soundtrack played by acoustic guitar (as usual in my entries :P). There are 12 levels in total.

************************************

Controls:
Z - Slow down
X - Jump (the length of the press affects the height)
C - Run
R - Suicide

Protip: Use F12 to skip a level, you are going to need it for the sake of your nerves.

************************************

NOTE! If the game says "Unable to set graphics mode" open screen.txt and change the value 0 to 1. That makes the game run in window.

************************************

UPDATE 2.5.2013
Post-Compo version is out!

Changelog:

Added - You can now control the character while in air, making the gameplay much more covenient

Added - Backgrounds! Just a little visual improvement

Added - A couple of minor changes in tileset, gfx, sfx and levels

Added - A completely new level! Now there are 13. Also changed the order of a few levels.

Added - The coin and mushroom blocks now work only once per run and change their form after hit

Fixed - You can now run into the direction changer block without your character flying into oblivion

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#183Audio3.34
#342Mood3.16
#374Graphics3.30
#408Fun3.15
#434Humor2.41
#532Overall3.19
#737Theme3.35
#1006Innovation2.46

Comments

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

A really well made mario clone that fits the theme nicely. Really enjoyable to play, nice job.

bentog says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Interesting run on a classic, well done!

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Relaxing game, I got to level 5 I think, but I couldnt jump the gap first time so I came back to RTFM :P

Nice mario clone, everything seems to be working smoothly.

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:37am

One of the better games I've played so far. Quickly got a bit too challenging for me - but it's a nice long game with a nice relaxing music track.

KHANanaphone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39am

The controls are quite bad, made it hard to get anywhere.

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35am

i like mario, and the mini version of him looks nice too =). why does mario move on his though? i'd prefer a straight up mario clone.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Very good job, it's beautiful !

namuol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:32pm

This looks adorable, but I can't play it in Linux :[

bushmango says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:48pm

This game is a good start. It would be a lot better if you had some "air control" so you could speed up/slow down mid jump. As it stands right now I spent most of the game fighting the controls.

dem0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:15pm

ella guro: The controls are part of the theme :) I tried to create a minimalistic gameplay

namuol: What I have heard is that the game should run perfectly on Wine, though I haven't tried it myself

bushmango: I'm have added air control and it will be in the post-compo version. A few other things have changed also :P It should be a little easier now.

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Awesome clone!! Good work! I like controls :)

dem0 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Post-Compo version is now downloadable! :) The ratings should still be done on the basis of the compo version

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Nice game, well done!

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Great idea, Mario as an endless runner. Really well implemented, Well Done =]

mattperrin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:48am

Very well done game. I kept getting stuck on the 3 block water jump sequence but all in all, nice work! Also, dug the music's as a chance of pace.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:52am

Awesome. One of the best games that I've played so far.

May 5, 2013 @ 7:19pm

setting aside that it's mario-like, i loved your music. was a treat to listen to. not sure why the movement was forced to be like a "run!" game as i wanted to enjoy your levels with free movement. That's just me i guess, but that's me. :) cute pixel graphics and nice imitation and feel for a mario game.

Mesene says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Nice entry! I saw it on the 10s compillation video and made me search it!

Ernyz says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:04am

Nice game, fits the theme well and graphics and music are good, but learning to control the mario was very hard :)

8BitPimp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Very well done. As a massive Mario fan, I salute you.

May 7, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Oh wow, would you believe I had this EXACT same idea? I didn't end up following through on it because I didn't think I'd have time to do proper level design, but still very cool to see what my finished idea might've looked like.

Well done!

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Love the lil graphics and the different game play! FUN

atraxgames says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:01pm

You made me nostalgic, great job!

Tifu says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Good job, it's pretty tough though, I didn't get super far :D

paulopn says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Great game! Nice music, too!

klianc09 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I didn't read the instructions at first. So I wanted to go complain how frickin hard this game sometimes is, but then I saw that you can slow down, but that was after I basically played through your game without using slowing down... However, I only was able to complete the game because you can farm infinite lives at level 7, there I farmed until the lives reached outside the right side of the screen. Nevertheless when I was close to the end, I nearly had no lives left, because the last levels are just really frickin hard.
The fact that you can't change speed while jumping, made it more into some sort of puzzle game, that was somehow interesting.
Overall: really cool rage inducing game, the post-compo version seems to fix most of the issues, that's really nice. (Although you should still be able to farm lives because you get a mushroom and some coins, but it will take much more time and is much more difficult...)

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:49am

The audio didn't really fit, and the controls were a bit fiddly, but it was still a fun game overall.

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:04am

Fun but a little frustrating. It feels weird to have this type of controls on a mario game.

OU GDA says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:54am

Deceptively difficult (Which is good). Really liked the style all around. Makes you miss the dpad a bit.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]