April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You are the Minimalist

by pighead10 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE::
Player size has been halved to allow for more precision. This makes the generation of the white path look a little glitchy but at least it's more playable now.

BUGS::
-Sometimes the red bullet will not rebound/kill something. Restart if this happens.
-Around 40% of the time, level 5 will bug in this way (it is far less frequent on other levels), along with a different bug. If you are sure you have the solution, check the playthrough to see if you are right.

YOU NEED TO KNOW::

SQUARES (all equal sides) and LINES (1 width or 1 height) are created into 1 chunk each. Therefore a long 1x1 line will be one chunk, but a long 2x1 line will be converted into lots of 2x2 square chunks!

DON'T RESIZE THE WINDOW, your aiming will be out.

===

In You are the Minimalist, you must complete the objective - walking to the green cube. However, you must do this in the most minimalistic way possible, as you generate squares behind you whenever you move and they are converted into 'chunks' - the more chunks, the less minimal.

5 levels only (but if you complete them all I will be impressed). If you complete the 5th one, the "next level" screen will hang.

Controls ingame. Escape to close.

==

@pighead10

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#45Innovation4.03
#121Theme4.06
#584Overall3.14
#690Audio2.47
#852Mood2.59
#898Fun2.61
#934Graphics2.56

Comments

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22pm

The link doesn't work, 404's for me :/

Arkazon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Very nice idea but it suffers from a couple of problems:
- Controls are very imprecise, I would prefer the blocks being dropped to be the same size as the player and for the player to be locked onto the grid - as it is it's very difficult to drop the exact size shape that you need to in order to proceed.
- Rules are a little unclear - why is a single width path counted as a single block but a double width path gets split into lots of squares and ends up counting as loads?

yellowlemming says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39pm

You should make the red x close the game

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42pm

@badlogic: you must have visited it during the 10 seconds I was reuploading. Try again!]

@Arkazon: sorry, I should make it more clear. Lines or even squares.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46pm

I updated the notes to better reflect the rules.

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Nice game. Never seen anything like this before. Can get quite difficult later on.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Pretty inventive use of the theme, the music did get a little bit repetitive but it's definitely better than some of the midi stuff around, good job :D

smealum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19pm

neat concept ! really fits the theme too. on a technical note though, it would be nice if the game didn't constantly use 100% cpu, pretty sure it doesn't need it :P

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Took quite a while to master the controls. Specially how to minimally place the cubes right on the second challenge.
That was a nice playthrough. Too bad I couldn't get past the fourth one.
It is indeed a nice game concept.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

smealum: eh, I don't know what the problem is for you - specs?

PhilZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

It's an okay game. Nothing wrong with it, but it's just not my type of game.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Controls are far too fiddly for this kind of game. Maybe movement locked to the game's grid would have worked better for this. Otherwise a neat concept, which feels a little let down by its execution's controls.

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Interesting but I have no idea what should be done on level 2.

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Very hard to aim correctly. However, it is great idea ! I liked it :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:19pm

The player controls are a little jumpy. The trail left by the player should match the size of the player, it's somewhat difficult to know what path you are leaving until you left, making you go back to try to minimize your mistakes, which is particularly punishing since lines with a width more than 1 become a load of cubes.
ESC shouldn't close the game when on the menu. Generally bad practice to have a key than can close the game.
The concept was neat however, and an interesting take on the theme. A post-compo version with better controls would be a pretty solid game.

fr_automatik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Nice idea!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Very interesting scoring mechanic!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Conceptually I really like this. I had to watch the video to understand what's going on though. I still don't really. I think that with a more slowly ramping set of tutorials this would be a fantastic puzzle game.

The effect when it reveals the results is really nice. It would be nice if it sped up when there were a lot of blocks though. I don't like basking in my own failure :(

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Great game overall, I like the idea behind it, although it was hard to pick-up! A more descriptive tutorial would be good! :)

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:38pm

This is a very interesting concept. I've seen games where you have to walk the minimum distance or something, but using "chunks" made of lines and squares is much more creative and makes me think a lot more. It could use some polish, but the concept is there, and it's good. I can imagine the algorithm to break up the level into squares and lines may have been time-consuming, as well.

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:15am

@Pitzik4: haha, you're right about that algorithm!

mchaza says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:28pm

nice idea, but its kinda hard to know what to sometimes.

Puccini says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:54pm

It's a good mechanic but is dificult and the controls isn't very polished.
I don't understand how to reduce squares in level 3.

Lidfrid says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:38pm

i really like the score mechanic. I think it's hard though to aim correctly in the first place!

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Couldn't get past the 5th level. Was quite fun. The numbers (I guess) at the top were just squares I guess I don't have the font you use for it. Innovative and kinda hard. Would have liked the player to be like the same size as the grid and probably locked to it too. Would make it much easier to generate the path you're actually trying to make.

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Very great concept! Seems to be difficult to judge the size of the cursor object and ends up creating more geometry than I want, but it works!

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Very amusing game, fits theme nicely!

Hume says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:20pm

I agree that with the comment that the trail should match the size of the player. Beyond that, great geometry game, well executed.

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:35pm

I thought I updated it so that they did match the size of the player. Hmm.

Thijsku says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I took a while before I knew exactly what to do, but it's a great concept! It's fitting like.. perfectly in the theme! Good job pighead. ;)

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Nice concept, but still needs work in execution.

Norgg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Cool concept and use of the theme, having to clear up the mess you make fighting enemies is nice. I got to level 5 but then hit a crash. In some levels there seemed to be solutions avoiding spawning enemies even though I felt like I was meant to.

wzl says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Interesting entry, the block-generation mechanics could be nicer and more predictable, and the controls need an overhaul. The concept has a compelling incentive though!

May 5, 2013 @ 5:41pm

i got to the end of lvl 5. http://screencast.com/t/2Jh5tg8UjVO nice job! :) i like the puzzley nature of the game. A little annoying with the movement being too smooth to where you over shoot a lot. Also the game running while the instruction screen before the round starts is funny. good work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]