April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Platformer: An Exploration of Minimalism

by Daisuke909 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Less an actual game than it is a surrealistic art project, Platformer digs deep to find the meaning of minimalism, using an interactive format.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#640Humor2.11
#912Innovation2.63
#969Audio1.90
#1045Mood2.35
#1080Theme2.92
#1205Graphics2.12
#1238Fun2.00
#1243Overall2.36
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38am

is good to try to simplify... but what you keep should magnify the experience by taking things away instead of adding features... the platformed genre has been overused :P

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

interesting concept but a bit too much on the lecturing side. You could turn those texts into a gameplay element or story and it would a lot more fun to watch and play :)

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45pm

It seems like the actual purpose of minimalism was missed here. Minimalism does not mean a lack of features.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

i expected it to go on quite long for some reason heh.. good stuff with the time we had tho man :)

Spelchan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22pm

To me minimalism is about getting to the essentials while getting rid of excess. For a game, one of the essentials has to be fun.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Nice game... a little bit to short... was that a potatoe :D

May 2, 2013 @ 7:58am

Too pretentious and too little of a game in my opinion.

mort96 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:59am

I love these kinds of "meta games". Nice job!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:13am

I liked the idea of exploring the concept of minimalism more directly, it was interesting, but the game itself wasn't particularly enjoyable apart from that.

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:01pm

It's certainly minimal, but minimalism..? Not so sure. A little on the short side too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]