April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Contact: Lost

by William Bundy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a top-down adventure shooter. You need Love2d (http://love2d.org/) to play--OR choose the Windows or Linux binaries from the all downloads link. Mac users will have to figure it out themselves, my apologies.

The Original Entry download link is a buggy version of the game. Use the ones in "All Downloads," they get the bugfixes. The original entry is there for historical purposes.


Get updates here: https://github.com/WilliamBundy/contact-lost-ld26 (if I ever become a git wizard.)

How is it minimal? Minimal user interface, minimal sounds, simple graphics. There's barely over 1000 lines of game code in there too.

WASD to move, mouse to look, click to shoot.
Number keys to put items on the ground, to swap items in machines.
Shift+numbers to drop items.
Q to pick up machines.
Up, down arrow keys rotate inventory
Left, right arrow keys scroll through schematics.


At least read the in-game instructions, please?

MANUAL SUPPLIED WITH THE DEVICE:
The second screenshot is the correct teleporter configuration. If you ever get that far in the game (or if it's even possible to get that far in the game) you'll need to know that.

Edit: forgot to take out some debug "features".
Edit: Added bugfixed binary versions for windows and linux. I'm leaving the original (the one I posted before the submission deadline) up for reference.
Edit: added a long tutorial. Hopefully it explains the functioning of the game better than the in-game message. If you need further help, contact me.

Known bugs with original .love:
Can drop empty capsules. Picking them up may cause game crash. --fixed in latest git
Cannot put items in furnace (game-breaking). Comment out lines 287,290 of main.lua to fix --fixed in latest git
Fixed broken schema capsules. (off-by-one error) --fixed in latest git

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#867Innovation2.72
#931Audio2.00
#1008Humor1.56
#1161Overall2.52
#1182Mood2.06
#1189Graphics2.15
#1274Fun1.93
#1316Coolness47%
#1330Theme2.22

Comments

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Interesting idea, a little hard to figure out. Nice work :)

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:05am

cpu usage 100%, really hard to play, but i tried, overall - nice

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15am

Maybe a web page with a quick tutorial would help?

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:39am

Interesting idea, well done ;)

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46am

The enemies are really easy to kite. Maybe if you were developing the game further, you could put together an AI that dodges the bullets that the enemy fires.

cmjd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:48am

A fairly good idea, I kind of wish there was a way to find out what items were in the capsules before picking them up, as I don't know if I walked past anything important, but it was an interesting game regardless. Good job :D

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

Got quite confused on how to build the machine. Also found that I could just outrun the enemies which made the game a lot easier.

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Gameplay is a bit tedious and unnecessarily long. You spend most of your time fighting even though that doesn't seem like the primary point of the game. I thought the concept was definitely interesting. Could be cleaned up and turned into a very nifty game.

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:13am

Pretty interesting, was a bit confusing at first.

oldtopman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:22am

Very confusing, but it looks very complex. If only I knew what was going on here...

May 1, 2013 @ 12:26am

Cool graphics, movement controls feel good, has a lot of potential. It is kind of a lot of instructions to hit the player with right away. I'm not really sure what to do but it seems very complicated, maybe there's some way you could make it more... minimal? For example maybe combine collecting the things with killing enemies by making the enemies drop stuff when they die.

stqn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:27am

The very short sound loop combined with the low fps (maybe 10 fps) and the eye-hurting grid on the ground made this very hard to bear for me. Also the text at the beginning contains more information than I can assimilate at a time.
Love2D games are usually very smooth, I don't know what went wrong here.

leafo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:03am

Hmm, I think the crafting idea is a cool one. I would love to see this expanded.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:43am

The crafting system was a cool idea, but it needs some refinement. It felt way more clunky than it needed to.

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I ran until it was purple and then died and the only thing I crafted in my life was a potato /o\
The crafting system seems interesting but I had no idea how to use it or if I even should use it until the end. Maybe I could have built a better weapon to beat the green or purple triangles?

burtlo says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Had a hard time understanding how to craft items.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]