April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pipe Dreams

by JAH2488 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pipe Dream is a horrible name for a minimalistic (and extremely unforgiving) retro platformer with a constrained color palate.

Controls are simple and arrow based. Jumping is controlled by the spacebar and up arrow key.

Avoid the spikes and search for color powers to help you beat each level.

Sometimes you won't be able to cross a jump and may need to latch on to the platform above you to get across.

There are five levels in total, there would be more, but that 48 hour deadline catches up on you.

*** YOU CAN STICK TO THE CEILING, THAT WAS INTENTIONAL ^__^ *****

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#204Audio3.30
#344Overall3.39
#438Fun3.11
#444Humor2.40
#518Mood2.93
#652Graphics2.91
#657Theme3.44
#679Innovation2.97

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Couldn't get over the first wall.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Was fun, loved the music!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Nice, Cool character

Baknik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Some of the platforming is a bit buggy as far as collision detection goes. Interesting how you can stick to the ceiling while jumping though. Not sure if this was intended.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Took me a while to figure out how exactly the red one worked. Nice game!

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

@Dark Ace Jack : Sorry to hear about that :(
Trying to show the inertia needed in jumping over obstacles, possibly too hard.

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback

Daisuke909 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Very interesting game. My only problem was that it was kind of awkward having a new mechanic introduced every level. And I went for a pretty long time assuming that the red thing killed me.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

That was fun. Did you mean to make it so you can stick to the ceilings? I enjoyed it. Maybe make the yellow cube more apparent.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Unforgiving indeed! SAVE ME YELLOW CUBE

Also, the spikes look like Hershey Kisses, which makes me happy. B-)

Celticraft49 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

I didn't know if sticking to the ceiling was meant to be, but it added an interesting twist to the game

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18am

the stick to ceilings mechanic made this a lot less frustrating in places, though i think you should make it more apparent that is an intentional thing you can do. i stopped right at the end of the 4th stage (i think?) when navigating the spikes got super hairy, but it was pretty enjoyable overall

Tanius says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:22am

Nice character, a good game, i like it.

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24am

@ella - Thats a good point. I added the sound effect when you "click" onto the ceiling, but wasn't able to devote more time to making it more pronounced.

I'm thinking that some sort of visual cue would probably due the trick.

I made the second level kind of as a tutorial for that mechanic, but less subtly would have been good.

Tanius says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39am

ok, i played it deeper: there are a lot of nice ideas in this game. I really like it

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:07am

@Tanius - Thanks!

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:34am

Hey, clearly sticking to the ceiling was intentional and the fact that you have to build velocity in order to jump higher also contributes to calling this one of the best platform games I've played in this compo! Congrats on the level design!

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:35am

Tricky but good fun. Nice simple artwork too, well done! :)

runonthespot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Tidy. Agree with comment re first wall- sicne inertia also means easier death immediately after. Tricky doing a platform as so many platform games have set the expectation of controls uber-high but nice- like it!

Folis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Great game! It kinda reminded me of "I wanna be the guy", except that I didn't swear at your game. Music was also enjoyable!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Very clever gameplay! I loved it (but it gets real hard after the red power up)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Nice puzzler! Like the "level-select"-idea.

Jumping-physics are somewhat off. you can reach max height only when already in motion, so you often don't seem to get over simply obstacles.

EggDestroyer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24pm

I like the satisfying jump feeling and the power up cubes are rather interesting, but the lack of checkpoints makes the game kinda frustrating IMO.
For exemple, the first red block : I discovered it after a long, not so easy sequence, and as I didn't learn how to use it, I died almost right after, respawned at the beginning and then rage-quit the game :-p
It would be better to put it at the beginning of a sequence so you can learn how to use it, even if you die a few times right after it's no big deal, and won't prevent your game to be devilishly hard... just less frustrating :-)

But anyway I enjoyed my play, t'was fun :)

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:45pm

hard hard hard hard hard ... but funny :D

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:49am

The color powers are a nice addition to the standard mechanic. I really liked the yellow one. It is cool to rush the level falling and jumping.
Talking about the jump, the controls are spot on. Well done.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:24am

Slick controls and perfect collissions make this a winner for me. Pure platforming goodness :)

Gama11 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Reall liked it. However, I wasn't able to figure out how to do the second level that cointained a yellow powerup. In fact, wouldn't even have been able to figure out what the yellow powerup even does without reading through the comments. You need better tutorialization. :)

pentaphobe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:39pm

That was just awesome. First game I've wanted to obsessively replay for speedruns.

In fact I may do just that in a minute. So rad.

=== Anyone Who's Talking About "glitchy" Handling ===
This platformer is way smarter that it initially seems. I was about to dismiss it and then was rewarded (repeatedly) for perseverance. One of my favourite platformers in ages.

I would gladly play more of this, and wouldn't bat an eyelash at paying for the privilege if it had a highscore/replay system.

Also: I loved how many different approaches you allowed for, reminds me of the advanced pathways in Mario games

Seriously good work!

Sebastian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:03am

Pretty cool. I liked the different mechanics, especially the red one - that one was fun. I kinda wish there was a little more strategy to which ones to use though. Overall a nice game :)

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Hahaha yes it was all intentional ^_^

About yours now, it's an interesting platformer.

I think you should make like, 2 or 3 stages forcing the player to understand one aspect of the game mechanics one at a time. Tutorial levels yeah? But minnimal, no textwalls. Mainly cuz, "ain't nobody got time for that" :3

May 5, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Patience testing gameplay )

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]